Converting GP680 to GP380

The place to discuss Commercial & Private licensed hand held & mobile transceivers, as well as imported hand held and mobile transceivers.
Post Reply
Nelixuk2003
Regular
Regular
Posts: 9
Joined: 26 Sep 2018, 17:11

Converting GP680 to GP380

Post by Nelixuk2003 »

As the title suggests, I'm looking to downgrade my newly aquired GP680's to GP380's, mainly as I don't need the trunking capabilitys and would prefer more than the 16 channels that are available on the 680's when using them in conventional mode.

First off, I have a programming cable on the way, it's not a RIB but I have programmed the GP series of radio's in the past and had great success with the RS232 serial cable. What I hope to do is update them to the same, most recent firmware (I know I need a RIB for this bit).

Has anyone ever done this before? I will probably need a 380 codeplug and the correct version of the CPS software, I'll have to check which version I already have from when I previously owned some of these. The only information I have relating to the radios at the moment is as follows:

I have 6 of these

Tanapa - 5 x Radios are PMUE1437D. 1 X Radio is PMUE1437C
Model - 5 x Radios are MDH25RDH9CK6AE. 1 X Radio is PMUE1437CAE
Version - R02.06.04 (x1). R02.09.01 (x3), R02.07.05 (x2)

Any advice or pointers would be greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards

Nelixuk2003
User avatar
radiogaga
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1477
Joined: 04 Sep 2010, 20:37
Call Sign: 26TM399

Re: Converting GP680 to GP380

Post by radiogaga »

You will need the 232 cable and genuine Motorola Flash Adapter.. (Can be hard to find)

I think from memory it can only be done at a certain firmware state, what that is I don't remember - sorry. I'll see if I can dig out some old notes.

You may be wasting time and money on this one.....
26TM399 Hampshire and Isle of Wight
30TM399 Northern Costa Blanca
Nelixuk2003
Regular
Regular
Posts: 9
Joined: 26 Sep 2018, 17:11

Re: Converting GP680 to GP380

Post by Nelixuk2003 »

I know it can be done as I have read of others being successful in doing this. I just need to know what I need In Place before I start tinkering.

If you could did out those notes you mentioned that would be greatly appreciated.

Regards

Nelixuk2003
User avatar
radiogaga
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1477
Joined: 04 Sep 2010, 20:37
Call Sign: 26TM399

Re: Converting GP680 to GP380

Post by radiogaga »

I will but as I say you will definitely need a genuine flash adapter and RS232 cable, do you have those?
Fake RIBs won’t do it.
26TM399 Hampshire and Isle of Wight
30TM399 Northern Costa Blanca
Nelixuk2003
Regular
Regular
Posts: 9
Joined: 26 Sep 2018, 17:11

Re: Converting GP680 to GP380

Post by Nelixuk2003 »

I don’t own one but one of the guys at the local radio club has one, I checked and it is a genuine one.
Stmc84
Regular
Regular
Posts: 24
Joined: 22 Jul 2020, 18:22
Call Sign: M7STM

Re: Converting GP680 to GP380

Post by Stmc84 »

I know it's quite a old post but did you ever manage to convert a gp680 to a 380 ?
Nelixuk2003
Regular
Regular
Posts: 9
Joined: 26 Sep 2018, 17:11

Re: Converting GP680 to GP380

Post by Nelixuk2003 »

I did yes, I sent them to a guy who programmed them for me for a really reasonable fee. I believe he is a member here, I might have that wrong as I posted on a few forums. I’ve been using them several years now without issue.

I’ll try and find the details of who it was.
Stmc84
Regular
Regular
Posts: 24
Joined: 22 Jul 2020, 18:22
Call Sign: M7STM

Re: Converting GP680 to GP380

Post by Stmc84 »

Thanks for replying I've just got 2 off eBay and the MDT programming is very limited when it comes to conventional channels
Stmc84
Regular
Regular
Posts: 24
Joined: 22 Jul 2020, 18:22
Call Sign: M7STM

Re: Converting GP680 to GP380

Post by Stmc84 »

MPT even lol
Nelixuk2003
Regular
Regular
Posts: 9
Joined: 26 Sep 2018, 17:11

Re: Converting GP680 to GP380

Post by Nelixuk2003 »

The guy was called Steve Eames and his website was www.pro2way.co.uk but that does not appear to be around anymore, sorry that's the only info I have.
Stmc84
Regular
Regular
Posts: 24
Joined: 22 Jul 2020, 18:22
Call Sign: M7STM

Re: Converting GP680 to GP380

Post by Stmc84 »

Thanks for trying though appreciate it
Post Reply