Tecsun PL 600

A place to discuss airband listening, frequencies and anything related to this area of the hobby.
marcdjay
Regular
Regular
Posts: 90
Joined: 04 Nov 2012, 20:41
Call Sign: 26TM496
Location: Redcar / East Cleveland

Tecsun PL 600

Post by marcdjay » 28 May 2013, 19:33

Does anybody own one of these? Just ordered one from ebay and after doing some digging there seems to be mixed opinions on whether the airband actually works or not.

Can anybody with the radio confirm whether or not they can hear airband on the PL 600?

Cheers.

gosman767
Regular
Regular
Posts: 80
Joined: 04 Feb 2012, 23:01
Call Sign: 26TM577
Location: Near EGNX

Re: Tecsun PL 600

Post by gosman767 » 28 May 2013, 21:17

Airband certainly works on the PL660, but it doesn't scan, you need to know the freq to tune or program. HTH
UBC 3500xlt Pro 2006 GRE PSR 295 AR8000
Yaesu FRG7 Tecsun PL660 AKD HF3E Zastone ZT-2R
Superstar 360

marcdjay
Regular
Regular
Posts: 90
Joined: 04 Nov 2012, 20:41
Call Sign: 26TM496
Location: Redcar / East Cleveland

Re: Tecsun PL 600

Post by marcdjay » 29 May 2013, 09:50

Cheers gosman, I guess I'll just have to suck it and see when the radio turns up.

JGR
Registered New User
Registered New User
Posts: 985
Joined: 19 Mar 2013, 15:20

Re: Tecsun PL 600

Post by JGR » 29 May 2013, 09:54

I owned the 660 and the air band worked surprisingly well, even more so when you add an external wire to it. You obviously have to manually tune as was stated above but it is still a pleasant extra on what could be classed as a budget radio.
Do not believe everything that is in black and white.
Oh and prestigious Winner of "In Before The Lock June 2014"
Flex 5000A, Trio TS-830S, Icom IC-E2820, IC-E92D and a DVB-T SDR Dongle

scanhermit
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 458
Joined: 11 Jan 2014, 09:45

Re: Tecsun PL 600

Post by scanhermit » 19 Feb 2014, 17:06

I've got a 660. The airband comes through better than my Grecom PSR295 but as the others say. there's no scan facility.

There is a scan facility on HF but you can't enter limits as with the PSR295.

User avatar
thedeerhunter270
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1197
Joined: 13 Nov 2009, 18:47
Location: Nr Consett County Durham

Re: Tecsun PL 600

Post by thedeerhunter270 » 19 Feb 2014, 17:55

The 600 doesn't have airband, the 660 does.

I have a PL-600 and for the price it isn't bad. Having said that, I wishes I'd have paid more and got the 660, and now the 880.
Operating in South Northumberland and Weardale.

User avatar
stu
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 232
Joined: 03 Mar 2010, 20:55
Call Sign: MM6HZA
Location: East Lothian

Re: Tecsun PL 600

Post by stu » 19 Feb 2014, 20:13

Well the PL 660 certainly seems to get some great reviews !! http://www.eham.net/reviews/detail/9935
DX:Tecsun S2000,Tecsun PL660,Tecsun PL310-ET,Sony SRF-59, Degen DE1103,Wellbrook ALA1530LN
Scan:Uniden UBC3500XLT, Yaesu VR120D, TSC-100R
Ham:Baofeng UV-5RE, Baofeng GT-3TP

User avatar
Farty
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 3651
Joined: 20 Oct 2008, 14:40
Location: IO92ND

Re: Tecsun PL 600

Post by Farty » 15 Dec 2018, 09:09

thedeerhunter270 wrote:
19 Feb 2014, 17:55
The 600 doesn't have airband, the 660 does.
The 600 doesnt officially have air and, but theres a hidden menu and it can be activated.

BTW, im aware this is thread necrophilia, but I was searching g for something and found it.
In Before The Lock Champion of Total Magnificenceness May 2016

User avatar
thedeerhunter270
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1197
Joined: 13 Nov 2009, 18:47
Location: Nr Consett County Durham

Re: Tecsun PL 600

Post by thedeerhunter270 » 16 Dec 2018, 12:41

Farty wrote:
15 Dec 2018, 09:09
The 600 doesnt officially have air and, but theres a hidden menu and it can be activated.
But I don't think the required circuitry is there though.
Operating in South Northumberland and Weardale.

User avatar
Farty
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 3651
Joined: 20 Oct 2008, 14:40
Location: IO92ND

Re: Tecsun PL 600

Post by Farty » 16 Dec 2018, 19:59

Well, it most certainly works, so i would suggest the circuitry is there.
In Before The Lock Champion of Total Magnificenceness May 2016

User avatar
thedeerhunter270
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1197
Joined: 13 Nov 2009, 18:47
Location: Nr Consett County Durham

Re: Tecsun PL 600

Post by thedeerhunter270 » 17 Dec 2018, 11:22

Farty wrote:
16 Dec 2018, 19:59
Well, it most certainly works, so i would suggest the circuitry is there.
What I mean is - although the display will show airband frequencies, there isn't the RF stage for that band. But I am happy to be proved wrong.
Operating in South Northumberland and Weardale.

User avatar
Farty
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 3651
Joined: 20 Oct 2008, 14:40
Location: IO92ND

Re: Tecsun PL 600

Post by Farty » 17 Dec 2018, 13:49

Mine works splendidly.
In Before The Lock Champion of Total Magnificenceness May 2016

User avatar
thedeerhunter270
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1197
Joined: 13 Nov 2009, 18:47
Location: Nr Consett County Durham

Re: Tecsun PL 600

Post by thedeerhunter270 » 17 Dec 2018, 15:12

Farty wrote:
17 Dec 2018, 13:49
Mine works splendidly.
If you can let me know the procedure I will give it a go on my PL-600?
Operating in South Northumberland and Weardale.

User avatar
Farty
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 3651
Joined: 20 Oct 2008, 14:40
Location: IO92ND

Re: Tecsun PL 600

Post by Farty » 17 Dec 2018, 17:19

Chuck 'PL-600 airband' into Pootube. Some nice person has done a how to video.
In Before The Lock Champion of Total Magnificenceness May 2016

User avatar
thedeerhunter270
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1197
Joined: 13 Nov 2009, 18:47
Location: Nr Consett County Durham

Re: Tecsun PL 600

Post by thedeerhunter270 » 17 Dec 2018, 18:38

Farty wrote:
17 Dec 2018, 17:19
Chuck 'PL-600 airband' into Pootube. Some nice person has done a how to video.
I have already - but I was wondering how you did it?
Operating in South Northumberland and Weardale.

Post Reply