Maas DX 5000, Anytone AT5555, etc.

The place to talk about specific radios, equipment and accessories. Do you prefer the latest generation of rigs and antennas or do you like the classics? Discuss it here!
marcdjay
Regular
Regular
Posts: 90
Joined: 04 Nov 2012, 20:41
Call Sign: 26TM496
Location: Redcar / East Cleveland

Maas DX 5000, Anytone AT5555, etc.

Post by marcdjay » 20 Nov 2012, 10:02

Is there any difference?

I know they're basically built on the same chassis, but is there any compelling reason to get one branded version over another apart from price or availability?

Also keen to hear what peoples experiences of these radios are.

Many thanks!

User avatar
Monsta
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1196
Joined: 10 Jun 2011, 06:34
Location: Madchester

Re: Maas DX 5000, Anytone AT5555, etc.

Post by Monsta » 20 Nov 2012, 10:12

nope ..no real difference.

I have the Anytone V5 ....try and get a V5 revision ...although version 4 was great too ...
only little refinements in v5

whats not to like? ....26-30 ...with built in swr/echo/scan/variable power... channel and freq display
more features than any other set around ...it wont win any beauty contests ...but its a KEEPER for the shack

if your buying new try and get the programming lead ....very easy to set all your channels up how you like them
Image
10/11: Anytone AT-5555, President Lincoln - Astatic Audio
HF: Kenwood TS2000 ,Kenwood G707, Heil Goldline,

marcdjay
Regular
Regular
Posts: 90
Joined: 04 Nov 2012, 20:41
Call Sign: 26TM496
Location: Redcar / East Cleveland

Re: Maas DX 5000, Anytone AT5555, etc.

Post by marcdjay » 20 Nov 2012, 10:32

Cheers Monsta!

Ideally I'm looking at a v5 brand new, but if the better half puts her foot down it might be a second hand v4 jobbie :p

How accurate is the SWR meter? As it's my first rig I'll be needing to get an antenna set up, is it worth buying a separate meter or is the one on the radio up to the job?

RussJH
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 103
Joined: 14 Sep 2012, 11:29

Re: Maas DX 5000, Anytone AT5555, etc.

Post by RussJH » 20 Nov 2012, 10:52

The power output can be different.

I have a KPO which is 40w FM and about the same SSB.

The Maas versions are lower.

Apart from that they are all identical as far as I know.

Windy_Miller
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1290
Joined: 08 Jan 2007, 23:46
Location: Scotland, far North

Re: Maas DX 5000, Anytone AT5555, etc.

Post by Windy_Miller » 20 Nov 2012, 17:56

marcdjay wrote:How accurate is the SWR meter? As it's my first rig I'll be needing to get an antenna set up, is it worth buying a separate meter or is the one on the radio up to the job?
Seems pretty accurate (compared to a mid range meter) - I had mine for nearly 2 years (V3) before buying a SWR/Power meter and on the Gainmaster it reported SWR's of 1.0/1.1/1.2 I tried out the SWR meter last weekend, and its pretty much the same.

I have only bought an SWR meter to have a play with some mobile antennae. Between a SGM, and the inbuilt reading on the DX5000, I dont think I could have gone far wrong with not having a meter to begin with.

User avatar
26CAB40
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 2537
Joined: 05 Aug 2008, 17:42
Location: £200 Jacksonville

Re: Maas DX 5000, Anytone AT5555, etc.

Post by 26CAB40 » 20 Nov 2012, 18:51

The one thing I really hate about them is the stupid clarifier setup.
What were they thinking ?
"It's worth whatever they're willing to pay"

marcdjay
Regular
Regular
Posts: 90
Joined: 04 Nov 2012, 20:41
Call Sign: 26TM496
Location: Redcar / East Cleveland

Re: Maas DX 5000, Anytone AT5555, etc.

Post by marcdjay » 20 Nov 2012, 20:49

RussJH wrote:The power output can be different.

I have a KPO which is 40w FM and about the same SSB.

The Maas versions are lower.

Apart from that they are all identical as far as I know.
Ahh I didn't know that, cheers.
Windy_Miller wrote:
marcdjay wrote:How accurate is the SWR meter? As it's my first rig I'll be needing to get an antenna set up, is it worth buying a separate meter or is the one on the radio up to the job?
Seems pretty accurate (compared to a mid range meter) - I had mine for nearly 2 years (V3) before buying a SWR/Power meter and on the Gainmaster it reported SWR's of 1.0/1.1/1.2 I tried out the SWR meter last weekend, and its pretty much the same.

I have only bought an SWR meter to have a play with some mobile antennae. Between a SGM, and the inbuilt reading on the DX5000, I dont think I could have gone far wrong with not having a meter to begin with.
Was hoping you say that :)

Trying to keep initial costs down as this will be my first proper foray into radio, so the cheaper I can get set up the more chance the wife will approve my spends lol

User avatar
astradyne
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7637
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 09:28
Location: Dunny On The Wolds
Contact:

Re: Maas DX 5000, Anytone AT5555, etc.

Post by astradyne » 20 Nov 2012, 23:43

I have a Maas DX 5000 v4. Owned it for well over a year now and used it regularly. Absolutely no complaints whatsoever.

From various reports I believe it would be advisable to steer clear of the v1 - v3 revisions. There have been many negative reviews of those variants. V4 onwards and you'll be a happy chappy! :D
Never, ever, ever....bloody anything ever!

Far too many radio's to list here. But I do own a legal one...

G8YMW
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 449
Joined: 18 May 2011, 22:17

Re: Maas DX 5000, Anytone AT5555, etc.

Post by G8YMW » 21 Nov 2012, 15:09

I have a Maas v6. Deffo a keeper.
Under the bonnet its a v5 but power has been put back down because they couldnt get a "CE" stamp because of sprogs at the higher power level.
I got the v6 because you can swap between 11 mmetres and 10 by a few button presses (OK it loses all your settings when you swap but no great shakes and its a factory reset I think)

marcdjay
Regular
Regular
Posts: 90
Joined: 04 Nov 2012, 20:41
Call Sign: 26TM496
Location: Redcar / East Cleveland

Re: Maas DX 5000, Anytone AT5555, etc.

Post by marcdjay » 23 Nov 2012, 13:26

Cheers for all the help guys. Looks like this is gonna be my first purchase. Looking through some on ebay now, is there anyway to tell which version one is by the front at all? Ta

User avatar
bigpimp347
Legend
Legend
Posts: 8416
Joined: 08 Aug 2009, 10:23
Location: J26 Nottingham
Contact:

Re: Maas DX 5000, Anytone AT5555, etc.

Post by bigpimp347 » 23 Nov 2012, 14:11

to check the version is usually a look on the main board..
but they are all the same, made in the same factory by the same people..

only difference is the box they put it in and the name on the front, beit Anytone, Superstar, K-PO, MAAS, Context and sure there's another..!! Hamburg i think..!!

but all the same..made in china using cheap plastic :)
http://livecbradio.co.uk UK's only 24/7 live stream

User avatar
Monsta
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1196
Joined: 10 Jun 2011, 06:34
Location: Madchester

Re: Maas DX 5000, Anytone AT5555, etc.

Post by Monsta » 23 Nov 2012, 15:19

any you buy now NEW should be at least v5 ....even v4 are cool as there is virtually no difference ...Like othrs have said don't touch V3 or older ...but to be honest ...there is no-one selling these new anymore so you are safe.

They are not pretty ..bu they are like the VOLVO of the 10/11 Radio world ...they just WORK

You will find prettier SSB sets, you may even find Better DX sets ....but you WON'T get a set that has these features for the price ..hence you will probably NEVER sell it ...regardless of what else you buy
Image
10/11: Anytone AT-5555, President Lincoln - Astatic Audio
HF: Kenwood TS2000 ,Kenwood G707, Heil Goldline,

User avatar
ROTEL240
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 386
Joined: 01 Dec 2012, 20:10

Re: Maas DX 5000, Anytone AT5555, etc.

Post by ROTEL240 » 07 Jul 2018, 13:04

Hi lads, have just bought a boxed maas dx 5000 but it doesn't say on the box what version it is, is there any other way to find out please. I am also after a program lead for it if any one has one to sell. Thanks for reading cheers.

User avatar
astradyne
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7637
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 09:28
Location: Dunny On The Wolds
Contact:

Re: Maas DX 5000, Anytone AT5555, etc.

Post by astradyne » 07 Jul 2018, 16:03

ROTEL240 wrote:
07 Jul 2018, 13:04
Hi lads, have just bought a boxed maas dx 5000 but it doesn't say on the box what version it is, is there any other way to find out please. I am also after a program lead for it if any one has one to sell. Thanks for reading cheers.
If you remove the bottom lid (speaker side) and look on the PCB you'll see the revision number printed on the board as in the picture. The number after the V is the revision number.

Hope this helps.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Never, ever, ever....bloody anything ever!

Far too many radio's to list here. But I do own a legal one...

User avatar
ROTEL240
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 386
Joined: 01 Dec 2012, 20:10

Re: Maas DX 5000, Anytone AT5555, etc.

Post by ROTEL240 » 07 Jul 2018, 16:30

Thanks astradyne it's a version 4 so happy with that I will programme is up as soon as I get a lead, it has a good rx on it Cheers 🍻

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests