SdrPlay RSP2 /Dsdplus problem

General scanning discussion forum. Talk about anything to do with scanners, equipment, VHF/UHF reception and the art of catching those illusive signals!
User avatar
nordhavn
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 588
Joined: 07 Jan 2008, 17:23
Location: Mid wales

SdrPlay RSP2 /Dsdplus problem

Post by nordhavn » 24 Apr 2018, 19:45

I'm having problems using dsdplus with an sdrplay rsp2.
Finding it a tad frustrating to say the least lol .Any tips or help would be much appreciated .

User avatar
thelad
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1474
Joined: 30 Jan 2012, 20:45
Location: West Yorkshire

Re: SdrPlay RSP2 /Dsdplus problem

Post by thelad » 24 Apr 2018, 21:17

Whats the issue?
Uniden UBC120XLT
Uniden USC230E
Uniden UBC3500XLT
Binatone PMR MR500 x2
Magiksun TM-490 (BF-888) x3
Baofeng BF-888
TTI TSC 100R
Baofeng UVB5
Zastone D900
Icom IC-R6

User avatar
thedeerhunter270
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1171
Joined: 13 Nov 2009, 18:47
Location: Nr Consett County Durham

Re: SdrPlay RSP2 /Dsdplus problem

Post by thedeerhunter270 » 25 Apr 2018, 09:16

RX EX Control

FM DEEM (button): Clicking the "DEEM" button to activate the de-emphasis function. Set to off.
Operating in South Northumberland and Weardale.

User avatar
nordhavn
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 588
Joined: 07 Jan 2008, 17:23
Location: Mid wales

Re: SdrPlay RSP2 /Dsdplus problem

Post by nordhavn » 26 Apr 2018, 20:28

thelad wrote:
24 Apr 2018, 21:17
Whats the issue?
Can't seem to listen to dmr ... I've also installed virtual cable .

User avatar
nordhavn
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 588
Joined: 07 Jan 2008, 17:23
Location: Mid wales

Re: SdrPlay RSP2 /Dsdplus problem

Post by nordhavn » 30 Apr 2018, 17:17

Still not working 😞

User avatar
thedeerhunter270
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1171
Joined: 13 Nov 2009, 18:47
Location: Nr Consett County Durham

Re: SdrPlay RSP2 /Dsdplus problem

Post by thedeerhunter270 » 01 May 2018, 06:41

There are 3 things you need to have set right.

1. VAC needs to be set as default input device in Windows.
2. In SDRUno VAC needs to be set as default output device.
3. In SDRUno de-emphasis needs to be set to off.

Hopefully it should work then.
Operating in South Northumberland and Weardale.

User avatar
nordhavn
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 588
Joined: 07 Jan 2008, 17:23
Location: Mid wales

Re: SdrPlay RSP2 /Dsdplus problem

Post by nordhavn » 05 May 2018, 16:41

Still no luck . from what I gather I won't hear anything until it recognises a digital mode (no white noise etc) .Now I'm thinking I'm on the wrong frequency .Any suggestion on where to look ? Sorry complete newbie to digital stuff .

User avatar
radiogaga
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1320
Joined: 04 Sep 2010, 20:37

Re: SdrPlay RSP2 /Dsdplus problem

Post by radiogaga » 05 May 2018, 16:55

Here is a start where you know there will be some DMR traffic and you will know colour codes and slots:

https://www.ukrepeater.net/dmr.htm
26TM399
30TM399

User avatar
nordhavn
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 588
Joined: 07 Jan 2008, 17:23
Location: Mid wales

Re: SdrPlay RSP2 /Dsdplus problem

Post by nordhavn » 05 May 2018, 17:26

Ill have to borrow a Motorola dp1400 from work to see if it works .

User avatar
radiogaga
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1320
Joined: 04 Sep 2010, 20:37

Re: SdrPlay RSP2 /Dsdplus problem

Post by radiogaga » 05 May 2018, 17:29

Do you not have one of those repeaters nearby?
26TM399
30TM399

User avatar
nordhavn
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 588
Joined: 07 Jan 2008, 17:23
Location: Mid wales

Re: SdrPlay RSP2 /Dsdplus problem

Post by nordhavn » 05 May 2018, 21:01

No sadly ... I'm a on the west coast /mid Wales .

User avatar
radiogaga
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1320
Joined: 04 Sep 2010, 20:37

Re: SdrPlay RSP2 /Dsdplus problem

Post by radiogaga » 06 May 2018, 06:13

Ah, I misread your location of s/e as South East :D

Do you have an analogue scanner?
26TM399
30TM399

User avatar
thedeerhunter270
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1171
Joined: 13 Nov 2009, 18:47
Location: Nr Consett County Durham

Re: SdrPlay RSP2 /Dsdplus problem

Post by thedeerhunter270 » 06 May 2018, 06:43

nordhavn wrote:
05 May 2018, 16:41
Still no luck . from what I gather I won't hear anything until it recognises a digital mode (no white noise etc) .Now I'm thinking I'm on the wrong frequency .Any suggestion on where to look ? Sorry complete newbie to digital stuff .
Try this page to help with DMR identification. Have a tune around and see if you hear something similar - then try it with DSD.

https://www.sigidwiki.com/wiki/Digital_ ... adio_(DMR)
Operating in South Northumberland and Weardale.

User avatar
radiogaga
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1320
Joined: 04 Sep 2010, 20:37

Re: SdrPlay RSP2 /Dsdplus problem

Post by radiogaga » 06 May 2018, 08:25

Start with business licence frequencies. I’m in the middle of nowhere and still hear those who have moved across. That was going to be my suggestion as you can set scan limits with an analogue scanner.
26TM399
30TM399

User avatar
nordhavn
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 588
Joined: 07 Jan 2008, 17:23
Location: Mid wales

Re: SdrPlay RSP2 /Dsdplus problem

Post by nordhavn » 06 May 2018, 12:55

radiogaga wrote:
06 May 2018, 06:13
Ah, I misread your location of s/e as South East :D

Do you have an analogue scanner?
I do apologize .. I've updated my profile now .

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests