ICOM IC-706MK11 G TO COMPUTER IF POSSABLE ???

The place to talk about specific amateur radio equipment and all types of accessories, fixes, repairs and modification.
Post Reply
User avatar
WARLOCK
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1234
Joined: 04 Jun 2008, 08:27
Call Sign: 26TM134
Location: cambridgeshire

ICOM IC-706MK11 G TO COMPUTER IF POSSABLE ???

Post by WARLOCK » 26 Apr 2018, 18:27

Is it possable to connect a ICOM IC-706 MK11G up to a computer ? If so can someone please tell me how this is done and what equipment i will need ???

User avatar
radiogaga
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1473
Joined: 04 Sep 2010, 20:37
Call Sign: 26TM399

Re: ICOM IC-706MK11 G TO COMPUTER IF POSSABLE ???

Post by radiogaga » 26 Apr 2018, 20:08

What are you looking at doing once the radio is connected? Controlled, then yes. Panadapter, yes too a fashion.

Depends on what you are looking to achieve.
26TM399 Hampshire and Isle of Wight
30TM399 Northern Costa Blanca

User avatar
WARLOCK
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1234
Joined: 04 Jun 2008, 08:27
Call Sign: 26TM134
Location: cambridgeshire

Re: ICOM IC-706MK11 G TO COMPUTER IF POSSABLE ???

Post by WARLOCK » 26 Apr 2018, 21:14

I would like to control the radio with the computer as my hands are a bit shaky so find it hard to tune the stations in i thought it would be easyer with the help of a computer ..

User avatar
radiogaga
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1473
Joined: 04 Sep 2010, 20:37
Call Sign: 26TM399

Re: ICOM IC-706MK11 G TO COMPUTER IF POSSABLE ???

Post by radiogaga » 26 Apr 2018, 21:41

I think the cable is the CT-17, few quid on ebay, buy UK and ensure it’s fully Win7 /10 compatible.. There is a chap G0OYQ sells some good cables. Then Ham Radio Deluxe... Sure there are other software programs for free.
26TM399 Hampshire and Isle of Wight
30TM399 Northern Costa Blanca

User avatar
radiogaga
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1473
Joined: 04 Sep 2010, 20:37
Call Sign: 26TM399

Re: ICOM IC-706MK11 G TO COMPUTER IF POSSABLE ???

Post by radiogaga » 26 Apr 2018, 21:43

Here is a free one (not tried by me)

http://www.maniaradio.it/en/ic706_bkt.html

And a bit more reading:

http://www.g4zlp.co.uk/Instructions/CT1 ... dongle.pdf

It’s a starter but gives you something to kick off research with.
26TM399 Hampshire and Isle of Wight
30TM399 Northern Costa Blanca

User avatar
MrWeetabix
Admin
Admin
Posts: 14350
Joined: 26 Aug 2008, 13:34
Call Sign: 26TM175
Location: Tynemouth

Re: ICOM IC-706MK11 G TO COMPUTER IF POSSABLE ???

Post by MrWeetabix » 27 Apr 2018, 08:35

older versions of HRD were free, if you can get one of those it will work fine.
26TM175. OP: Craig. QTH: Tynemouth. Also 163TM175 when mobile in Wales 8)

PO Box: 62 Town: Albrighton City: Wolverhampton Zip: WV7 3WR

TM1 is now on Facebook http://tinyurl.com/TM1onFB || New Tango Mike QSL cards https://tinyurl.com/TM1-NewQSL

User avatar
WARLOCK
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1234
Joined: 04 Jun 2008, 08:27
Call Sign: 26TM134
Location: cambridgeshire

Re: ICOM IC-706MK11 G TO COMPUTER IF POSSABLE ???

Post by WARLOCK » 28 Apr 2018, 12:06

Thanks all , for your replies to my question,I will give them a try and see which works best for me.
from George --- warlock

User avatar
radiogaga
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1473
Joined: 04 Sep 2010, 20:37
Call Sign: 26TM399

Re: ICOM IC-706MK11 G TO COMPUTER IF POSSABLE ???

Post by radiogaga » 28 Apr 2018, 17:37

MrWeetabix wrote:
27 Apr 2018, 08:35
older versions of HRD were free, if you can get one of those it will work fine.
I’m in Mac land now so can’t check it but this may be a starter for 10!

http://www.iw5edi.com/software/ham-radi ... load-links

Have fun!
26TM399 Hampshire and Isle of Wight
30TM399 Northern Costa Blanca

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests