Windom antenna ?

The place to talk about specific amateur radio equipment and all types of accessories, fixes, repairs and modification.
Post Reply
User avatar
gmham
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1832
Joined: 13 Aug 2009, 11:27
Call Sign: 108TM154

Windom antenna ?

Post by gmham » 15 Apr 2018, 18:36

Anyone running a windom type antenna here ? Looking for ideas to mount my 80-10 MTR version within the garden.looks like a sloping v shape may be the only option ? Centre at around 25 feet both ends sloping down to around 20 feet in height. Problem is mounting the centre balun which would be onto a metal support pole above gutter level.any ideas how to insulate this balun from the metal support pole ?
Thanks.john
.... Icom IC7300 HF /6 mtr
Kenwood TR751e 2mtr ssb






108-TM-154 - John

User avatar
RadioPixie
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1951
Joined: 08 May 2011, 17:53
Call Sign: 26TM552
Location: Peoples Republic of Cornwall

Re: Windom antenna ?

Post by RadioPixie » 16 Apr 2018, 09:08

Depends on the box design of the balun. Some can be dangled off the support.

If not, how about mounting it on a cut down plastic chopping board, and mounting that with U bolts onto the pole.
73 from Dave the Pixie - 26CT052 - G7OPC - CB & Ham Radioaficionado

User avatar
gmham
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1832
Joined: 13 Aug 2009, 11:27
Call Sign: 108TM154

Re: Windom antenna ?

Post by gmham » 16 Apr 2018, 14:18

Thanks Dave sounds a great idea was just not sure how far away from the metal mast the balun should be ,obviously with your suggestion the box would not physically be touching the metal itself but again not sure if it would still be too close and upset the tuning ?
.... Icom IC7300 HF /6 mtr
Kenwood TR751e 2mtr ssb






108-TM-154 - John

User avatar
ch25
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 421
Joined: 03 Dec 2016, 11:07
Call Sign: n0call
Location: Poland

Re: Windom antenna ?

Post by ch25 » 16 Apr 2018, 14:31

50cm of plastic water pipe should be enough. I would worry for ground influence more than that.
You can't have too many antennas...

User avatar
RadioPixie
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1951
Joined: 08 May 2011, 17:53
Call Sign: 26TM552
Location: Peoples Republic of Cornwall

Re: Windom antenna ?

Post by RadioPixie » 16 Apr 2018, 17:35

I agree also that ground influence are more important. Plus from my own experience that a good choke on the down lead is important as well.
73 from Dave the Pixie - 26CT052 - G7OPC - CB & Ham Radioaficionado

User avatar
gmham
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1832
Joined: 13 Aug 2009, 11:27
Call Sign: 108TM154

Re: Windom antenna ?

Post by gmham » 16 Apr 2018, 19:29

Yes cheers choke is ready to go on once antenna is installed.keep the RF in the air rather than in the shack !
.... Icom IC7300 HF /6 mtr
Kenwood TR751e 2mtr ssb






108-TM-154 - John

User avatar
theEarwigger
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 405
Joined: 24 Jul 2007, 20:59
Call Sign: M0RZF
Location: Portsmouth
Contact:

Re: Windom antenna ?

Post by theEarwigger » 18 Apr 2018, 07:27

Hi John,

If you have room consider the "807" windom:
https://www.aerial-51.com/model-807-xx/807-l/

As the number suggests it covers 80m and 7 other bands :o with a low SWR. No coverage of 30m but if you only do SSB that's OK.

73, Rob.

User avatar
gmham
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1832
Joined: 13 Aug 2009, 11:27
Call Sign: 108TM154

Re: Windom antenna ?

Post by gmham » 18 Apr 2018, 12:06

Cheers Rob this windom (ocfd ) is from Hamtenna and quality is top notch covers 80-6mtrs which is everything and more that I regularly use so that's fine. Used a Carolina windom before and although it worked well to me the quality off materials used was not great considering the price they are. Will report back once I get the ant in the air and starting getting a few contacts in the log !!
.... Icom IC7300 HF /6 mtr
Kenwood TR751e 2mtr ssb






108-TM-154 - John

User avatar
MrWeetabix
Admin
Admin
Posts: 14262
Joined: 26 Aug 2008, 13:34
Call Sign: 26TM175
Location: Tynemouth

Re: Windom antenna ?

Post by MrWeetabix » 18 Apr 2018, 13:30

I used one for many years. I've had the Windom 160 and 80. The 160 was mega.... 80 worked well enough too though. Not so hot above 20mHz though, I'd normally switch to the iMax for anything over that, with a tuner obviously.

Let us know how you get on :-)
26TM175. OP: Craig. QTH: Tynemouth. Also 163TM175 when mobile in Wales 8)

PO Box: 62 Town: Albrighton City: Wolverhampton Zip: WV7 3WR

TM1 is now on Facebook http://tinyurl.com/TM1onFB || New Tango Mike QSL cards https://tinyurl.com/TM1-NewQSL

User avatar
theEarwigger
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 405
Joined: 24 Jul 2007, 20:59
Call Sign: M0RZF
Location: Portsmouth
Contact:

Re: Windom antenna ?

Post by theEarwigger » 19 Apr 2018, 08:38

The Hamtenna version covers 80/40/20/10 (maybe 6m) because its the standard 1/3 split.

It's frustrating after banging the drum for years about different split points that nearly everyone still uses the 1/3.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest