mk1 cobra 148 gtl-DX

The place to talk about specific radios, equipment and accessories. Do you prefer the latest generation of rigs and antennas or do you like the classics? Discuss it here!
User avatar
fidelity1000fm
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 157
Joined: 10 Nov 2010, 15:25

Re: mk1 cobra 148 gtl-DX

Post by fidelity1000fm » 13 Sep 2011, 14:54

By the time you add an expensive mic, change components and add a big burner it's hardly the same rig really is it?
:mrgreen:

User avatar
wheel bender
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 3265
Joined: 11 Feb 2009, 11:18
Location: in a fridge in a shed

Re: mk1 cobra 148 gtl-DX

Post by wheel bender » 16 Sep 2011, 07:15

Once you have a good antenna and power supply, and a decent mic that fits all your radios then a realistic comparison can be done. What stands out to me is the tx audi tone and rx receive. If both are reasonabley good pleasant to listen to then it's got to be a good radio.I've had requests from local breakers to put my adams on complete with bleep? Because in their words "they could listen to it all night". The only radio that isn't getting much use at the moment is my petrusse pacific 160 but I got really good reports with that last time on my bench. With copies into wolverhampton on a comtron VIII from Stoke I'm quite happy with my setup. I just hope my latest antenna repair has fixed my comtell ar 5/8. I might run my mk1 off against the pacific this weekend?
Wheel Bender 1982-88/ 2007- ???
27+ countries since 2007
keeping the older radios on air. Not in the cupboard or the past.
80ch legal- America on ukfm- CB radio can be better 2nd time around.

mpg1965
Regular
Regular
Posts: 41
Joined: 08 Jan 2014, 11:07

Re: mk1 cobra 148 gtl-DX

Post by mpg1965 » 14 Jul 2014, 11:08

iv just got hold of a 148 gtl dx and im not sure if its a mk 1 or 2.how can you tell????reading through,it seems like the mk1 has a lazy rf needle,the one i just got is a lazy one.seems normal with a pre amp on,but its the norm.it seems to have a mod done to the channel 9 switch as when you put it on the channel display,ie,channel 33 high band,flick the 9 switch and it goes to channel 39.if you go in to the 20's and flick the 9 switch it goes to 29 and so on.it does go somewhere cos the signal and noise changes.iv yet to try and find it usin another radio.....any ideas anyone.its also had a roger beep put in it but i cant find how to turn it off.any ideas?????.i took the bottom off to have a quick look and there is a green box screwed to the side with 2 thickish wires comin out of it and it dissapears under the the channel selecter.i also found 2 different tone wires that were cut.again,usin the tone switch,flick it and it goes somewhere else.its doin my head in and i cant get to my other radios for the next week or so to find out where the hell these switches are takin the radio to.....as ever folks,any help is welcomed......

User avatar
Mudslinger
Legend
Legend
Posts: 6746
Joined: 28 Jul 2010, 07:11
Location: Oxfordshire

Re: mk1 cobra 148 gtl-DX

Post by Mudslinger » 14 Jul 2014, 11:16

The most reliable way to check is to take the cover off and have a look at the board.

PC-879 is Mk1 and PB-010 is MK2

Mk2's generally have the serial number starting 130 Mk1's have 030, but as serial number plates are easy to swap this isn't always a reliable way to tell.

The layout of the holes in the back panel is also different on both of them.

If could be that it has a UK40 Eprom on the channel 9 switch. Most of the time the band selector will need to be in the Mid position for it to work. If you switch on the UK40 eprom whilst the band switch is in the Hi or Lo position you will end up on some odd frequencies.
Mudslinger - Simon
26TM274
26CT612

There is no such thing as a Fidelity 1000 which is too good to scrap.

User avatar
PoisoN
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1816
Joined: 28 Jul 2009, 01:08
Location: Great Yarmouth,Norfolk,

Re: mk1 cobra 148 gtl-DX

Post by PoisoN » 01 Jan 2016, 23:18

You can short either D7 or D8 (but not both) that should cure the lazy needle it did on mine.. now getting my mate 30 mile away at 7-9db depending on what power he's running. Which is the correct signal for him. Before I shorted D7 I couldn't get him over 3db. I think the Mk1 sounds the best on ssb on receive. But find the tx audio a bit bassier than the Mk2.
26-TM-266
Handle PoisoN

User avatar
cb4ever104
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 4494
Joined: 28 Jul 2011, 21:26
Location: Alicante , España

Re: mk1 cobra 148 gtl-DX

Post by cb4ever104 » 02 Jan 2016, 08:19

The mk1's better just for the beep alone :)
30TM060
Paul aka "Sammy". (108) PY60 Old Paisley DX Group (RIP Rab Markie)
Ex GM0 , now EA5 .
Handle "Fortune Hunter" back in "the day"
Radios ....? Anything that says "TAIWAN R.O.C" on the back.

User avatar
Mudslinger
Legend
Legend
Posts: 6746
Joined: 28 Jul 2010, 07:11
Location: Oxfordshire

Re: mk1 cobra 148 gtl-DX

Post by Mudslinger » 02 Jan 2016, 10:45

The AM RX isn't very good on the Mk1, it sounds a bit flat like on a Jackson or Lincoln 1
Mudslinger - Simon
26TM274
26CT612

There is no such thing as a Fidelity 1000 which is too good to scrap.

User avatar
Ashtec
Legend
Legend
Posts: 9157
Joined: 30 Dec 2009, 23:12
Call Sign: M6LTD
Location: Uk

Re: mk1 cobra 148 gtl-DX

Post by Ashtec » 04 Jan 2016, 08:02

Odd old radio i loved how the FM was an afterthought.......

User avatar
cjay
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1775
Joined: 06 Jun 2013, 21:21
Call Sign: cjay
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: mk1 cobra 148 gtl-DX

Post by cjay » 04 Jan 2016, 08:51

Ashtec wrote:Odd old radio i loved how the FM was an afterthought.......
How so? With it having the silk screen and copper for the FM demod and TX components I'd have said it was designed to have FM.

If it'd had one of those FM boards like the Madisons, Ham Viking Mk1 or the many Midland 'AM' rigs then it would be an afterthought

User avatar
Ashtec
Legend
Legend
Posts: 9157
Joined: 30 Dec 2009, 23:12
Call Sign: M6LTD
Location: Uk

Re: mk1 cobra 148 gtl-DX

Post by Ashtec » 07 Jan 2016, 22:09

cjay wrote:
Ashtec wrote:Odd old radio i loved how the FM was an afterthought.......
How so? With it having the silk screen and copper for the FM demod and TX components I'd have said it was designed to have FM.

If it'd had one of those FM boards like the Madisons, Ham Viking Mk1 or the many Midland 'AM' rigs then it would be an afterthought
Well as you put it like that its not as bad as some i just didn't like the little PCB's all over.. Didn't the little PCB's carry the FM varactor diode to inject the FM Mod to the VCO....

Tom
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 308
Joined: 03 Mar 2010, 16:32
Call Sign: BPO6O
Location: Gloucester

Re: mk1 cobra 148 gtl-DX

Post by Tom » 23 Feb 2018, 17:12

I have just got a mark 1 mint untouched undecided weather to keep it or look for a swap or sell I like the ss3900 or Jackson :D

User avatar
Black Spirit
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 3989
Joined: 16 Mar 2009, 19:30
Location: S.Wales

Re: mk1 cobra 148 gtl-DX

Post by Black Spirit » 23 Feb 2018, 17:33

Tom wrote:
23 Feb 2018, 17:12
I have just got a mark 1 mint untouched undecided weather to keep it or look for a swap or sell I like the ss3900 or Jackson :D
Be prepared to have your inbox filled from members with offers :lol:

User avatar
The Collector
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 4770
Joined: 23 Jan 2010, 19:26
Location: Bristol-ish

Re: mk1 cobra 148 gtl-DX

Post by The Collector » 23 Feb 2018, 18:14

Not many untouched minters around!

Swap you for a Harvard Good Buddy radio??? Lol ;)

User avatar
Mudslinger
Legend
Legend
Posts: 6746
Joined: 28 Jul 2010, 07:11
Location: Oxfordshire

Re: mk1 cobra 148 gtl-DX

Post by Mudslinger » 23 Feb 2018, 18:34

The Mk1 is better on SSB and FM than the Mk2 IMO

But the early 3900's and 5 Band Jacksons are very good as well.
Mudslinger - Simon
26TM274
26CT612

There is no such thing as a Fidelity 1000 which is too good to scrap.

User avatar
astradyne
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7382
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 09:28
Location: Dunny On The Wolds
Contact:

Re: mk1 cobra 148 gtl-DX

Post by astradyne » 23 Feb 2018, 23:10

A rarity indeed. I truly believe that a completely untouched 148 will outperform any that have had extra bands added (even the Jentec's). It's nice to flick the Ch9 switch and the radio goes to channel 9 instead of God knows where.
Never, ever, ever....bloody anything ever!

Far too many radio's to list here. But I do own a legal one...

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests