LINCOIN 2

This is the place to discuss any general CB radio related topics. Getting started, installations, operation etc.
Post Reply
Tom
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 308
Joined: 03 Mar 2010, 16:32
Call Sign: BPO6O
Location: Gloucester

LINCOIN 2

Post by Tom » 11 Jan 2018, 21:00

HI chaps need help usb on my Lincoln is slightly off went in to the menu the number it is showing is 818 dose any one no a different number that will bring it in line thanks

User avatar
Mudslinger
Legend
Legend
Posts: 6740
Joined: 28 Jul 2010, 07:11
Location: Oxfordshire

Re: LINCOIN 2

Post by Mudslinger » 11 Jan 2018, 22:29

I think you will need a Frequency counter to set it correctly Tom as each radio will need to be set on a different number to be on frequency.

Its a bit like the old radios where you have the adjustment in one position on one, and a slightly different position for another radio. Down to tolerances in components etc.

The engineering menu isn't really meant for use by normal users, only radio techs etc.
Mudslinger - Simon
26TM274
26CT612

There is no such thing as a Fidelity 1000 which is too good to scrap.

User avatar
astradyne
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7195
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 09:28
Location: Dunny On The Wolds
Contact:

Re: LINCOIN 2

Post by astradyne » 11 Jan 2018, 23:45

Not the same radio, but I set my old Alinco 135 up using the menu and my ICOM 706 which I knew was bang on frequency. I adjusted the setting value on the 135 until I got a constant feedback tone on the 706. I set up USB and LSB this way and it was spot on after that.
Never, ever, ever....bloody anything ever!

Far too many radio's to list here. But I do own a legal one...

Tom
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 308
Joined: 03 Mar 2010, 16:32
Call Sign: BPO6O
Location: Gloucester

Re: LINCOIN 2

Post by Tom » 12 Jan 2018, 04:34

Thanks chaps will let you no when its right my mate said its to moving down .but how far that's the rouble .

User avatar
Admiral
Legend
Legend
Posts: 9956
Joined: 08 Mar 2011, 21:20
Call Sign: 26TM157
Location: MK-UK

Re: LINCOIN 2

Post by Admiral » 12 Jan 2018, 11:08

Maybe yours is spot on and your mates is off?
Winner of the 2017 IBTL 'Summer Sizzler' competition

User avatar
astradyne
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7195
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 09:28
Location: Dunny On The Wolds
Contact:

Re: LINCOIN 2

Post by astradyne » 12 Jan 2018, 12:38

Admiral wrote:
12 Jan 2018, 11:08
Maybe yours is spot on and your mates is off?
This.

If your mate's using a top notch HF set then maybe your Lincoln is off. If he's using a CRT 3900 then don't take his word for it.

Best thing to do before whipping the lids off is to get several reports off different people. Remember to allow your radio plenty of time to warm up and settle on frequency first.
Never, ever, ever....bloody anything ever!

Far too many radio's to list here. But I do own a legal one...

Tom
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 308
Joined: 03 Mar 2010, 16:32
Call Sign: BPO6O
Location: Gloucester

LINCOIN 2

Post by Tom » 14 Jan 2018, 10:19

Hi chaps after getting this president Lincoln 2 it was way off on usb could not tune in anything .Went in the menu as shown on YouTube to re tune the number showing was 818 ended up turning it up to 860 its all most at 12 o'clock now and receiving ok .should I have had to turn it that far to get it in or as something been turned in side before I got it and is there any photos of the pc board showing the tuning points thanks chaps {bnghd}

Tom
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 308
Joined: 03 Mar 2010, 16:32
Call Sign: BPO6O
Location: Gloucester

Re: LINCOIN 2

Post by Tom » 26 Jan 2018, 10:53

Did the best thing sent it to the top man Nick sorted it fast its on its way back all singing and dancing thanks again Nick :D

Tom
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 308
Joined: 03 Mar 2010, 16:32
Call Sign: BPO6O
Location: Gloucester

Re: LINCOIN 2

Post by Tom » 04 Feb 2018, 17:38

I did send it to nick last week sorted magic fingers ok now

User avatar
astradyne
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7195
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 09:28
Location: Dunny On The Wolds
Contact:

Re: LINCOIN 2

Post by astradyne » 04 Feb 2018, 19:26

I've got a 2830 here that needs the output sorting out (It hasn't any). I'll get around to sending it over to Nick at some point along with the Galaxy DX-2547 which has been sat here for an eternity waiting to be sent to him.

Something always crops up this end...
Never, ever, ever....bloody anything ever!

Far too many radio's to list here. But I do own a legal one...

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests