Page 1 of 1

Tytera MD-380

Posted: 05 Jul 2018, 18:19
by weegeordie
Totally raging !!!

Took delivery of my new Tytera md-380 from ML&S, switched it on what do i get ???? BLANK WHITE SCREEN!!!!!

Feeling like travelling down to staines in the morning from Motherwell(lucky i get free rail travel)

has this happened to anyone else?

Re: Tytera MD-380

Posted: 05 Jul 2018, 18:26
by ch25
Flat cable from PCB to screen did not make contact.

Re: Tytera MD-380

Posted: 05 Jul 2018, 18:28
by weegeordie
EH? Im Confused? Im guessing this will be covered by the warranty ?

Re: Tytera MD-380

Posted: 05 Jul 2018, 18:35
by Buick Mackane
Return it :thumbup:

Re: Tytera MD-380

Posted: 05 Jul 2018, 18:38
by LeakyFeeder
Nope.. got three now.. 2x uhf n 1 vhf.. straight out of the box no probs at all

Re: Tytera MD-380

Posted: 05 Jul 2018, 19:01
by kilimax
Unfortunately, it's not uncommon with TYT radios, especially their recent DMR offerings. I know of a few that have the same issue with the MD-380 and their mobile, the MD-9600. It's crap QA from the factory. Ch25 is spot on, as it's normally the flat cable that has not been properly attached during final assembly.
While annoying, these radios are normally sealed, so unless they are doing any work for you, the dealer will be none the wiser.
I'm sure they will make it right for you. Always known them to be decent enough.

Get on the blower to them.

Re: Tytera MD-380

Posted: 05 Jul 2018, 19:07
by kilimax
LeakyFeeder wrote:
05 Jul 2018, 18:38
Nope.. got three now.. 2x uhf n 1 vhf.. straight out of the box no probs at all
I've already commented in the other thread, but unfortunately, there have been quite a few folk with this issue. I personally know of three people who have had the same issue and there's lots of other similar stories.

Like you though, my MD-380 was perfect when I got mine. However, my TYT MD-9600 had the same problem, although I managed to fix mine.
Inconsistent QA from the factory.

Re: Tytera MD-380

Posted: 05 Jul 2018, 19:53
by weegeordie
Many Thanks for the replys guys.

Ive put everything back into the box and in a jiffy bag waiting to be returned to Martin Lynch & Sons..

Been dying to play with my new toy then this happens


George

Re: Tytera MD-380

Posted: 06 Jul 2018, 08:40
by weegeordie
Got it working!!!!

Thought id give it another go before i sent it to ML&S

Uninstalled CPS then reinstalled it, Plugged the radio in a HEY PRESTO its worked

Re: Tytera MD-380

Posted: 06 Jul 2018, 08:41
by weegeordie
Again apologies for the double posting

Got it working!!!!

Thought id give it another go before i sent it to ML&S

Uninstalled CPS then reinstalled it, Plugged the radio in a HEY PRESTO its worked

Re: Tytera MD-380

Posted: 06 Jul 2018, 10:00
by MrWeetabix
I have merged the two topics.... sorry if that causes confusion, but double-posting the same thing in two separate areas is confusing anyways, so please avoid this going-forward. Thanks

Re: Tytera MD-380

Posted: 06 Jul 2018, 16:20
by weegeordie
Sorry Mr Weetabix!!

Now i have got the radio working my PC and laptop dont recognize my Radio . comes up as "USB device not recognised"

Re: Tytera MD-380

Posted: 07 Jul 2018, 19:25
by GaryWilson
Make sure you download the latest USB drivers from the TYT web site.

73's Gary.

Re: Tytera MD-380

Posted: 10 Jul 2018, 16:44
by weegeordie
Appears the problems back.

Screen was flickering, went pixelated then boom WHITE SCREEN is back..

Quick phone call to Ml&s and it’s being sent back.