TYT MD380

Use this section to discuss Digital Amateur Radio operations, such as D-Star and other digitally-encoded traffic
Post Reply
ukjay
Registered New User
Registered New User
Posts: 1
Joined: 01 Jun 2017, 10:43
Call Sign: G8NAI

TYT MD380

Post by ukjay » 16 Jun 2017, 14:24

Hi
Recently got myself this MD380 (paid full wack)
It's taken me a week to get the thing sort of working?
Why on earth isn't there a decent help guide with shown working example that explain what needs to be done, especially setting up
TG's etc.?
I've been googling around, found loads of stuff (even on YouTube)
But have not really found an Idiots guide as yet?
I'm in Stoke-on-Trent & have punched in the old stuff I used to listen in on before going digital
But My MD-380 isn't working as yet, because even though I've found some codeplugs as examples, I still can't hear my old friends on pubwatch etc.
I don't really want to change my firmware to go promiscuous mode, which I gather may do the trick?
I don't want it bricked as I say I paid full monty lol.
I'm not sure if I have to put in a contact list, or even if I should be able to hear this stuff?
I have been using SDRSharp with DSDP+ to obtain all the info.
If anyone has a working codeplug for my area, or think they have one which is going to work for my MD380, could you please
reply?

Jay - G8NAI

bozzy
Regular
Regular
Posts: 60
Joined: 19 Aug 2016, 21:34
Location: York

Re: TYT MD380

Post by bozzy » 20 Jun 2017, 19:58

Are you able to hear the dmr voice within SDR# and DSD+?

bozzy

danny1990
Regular
Regular
Posts: 11
Joined: 15 May 2016, 18:35

Re: TYT MD380

Post by danny1990 » 20 Jun 2017, 22:29

A few reasons why you can't hear anything.

1) Wrong Colour Code, Time slot, Talk group or could be a private call.
2) It's a trunked channel ( You need to find the voice channels and scan )
3) It may not be voice at all it may only be data (GPS, ARS, Messages, IP Data, Etc... )
4) It may not be a TDMA signal could be FDMA which isn't compatible with TDMA.
5) Could be IDAS or some other digital format which again isn't compatible with DMR.

DSD will confirm if it's DMR and voice or data.

bozzy
Regular
Regular
Posts: 60
Joined: 19 Aug 2016, 21:34
Location: York

Re: TYT MD380

Post by bozzy » 21 Jun 2017, 20:09

Below is pretty much what I was trying to say in 1 sentence.

You need to first confirm valid DMR voice with SDR/DSD+ in your area, then we can maybe help with the MD-380 settings/codeplug.

Do not rely on pre-made, out of date, wrong area, codeplugs.

The MD-380 was a bit daunting to me at first, but easy once you know how to use it. However I would advise to flash with the alternative firmware to make it even easier.

The MD-380 has certainly given back to me my interest is Shop/Pub watch and listening to other signals without dragging a laptop around the place, but you need to use SDR/DSD+ to find the valid signal info first for your area.

Regards
bozzy
danny1990 wrote:A few reasons why you can't hear anything.

1) Wrong Colour Code, Time slot, Talk group or could be a private call.
2) It's a trunked channel ( You need to find the voice channels and scan )
3) It may not be voice at all it may only be data (GPS, ARS, Messages, IP Data, Etc... )
4) It may not be a TDMA signal could be FDMA which isn't compatible with TDMA.
5) Could be IDAS or some other digital format which again isn't compatible with DMR.

DSD will confirm if it's DMR and voice or data.

User avatar
DX-Digger
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 742
Joined: 27 Jul 2009, 22:01
Call Sign: TM205
Location: ... - --- -.- . --- -. - .-. . -. -

Re: TYT MD380

Post by DX-Digger » 21 Jun 2017, 23:05

http://peterg8nss.wixsite.com/gb7si/radio
Pete has a codeplug on his site.
:D
ʎɐqǝ uo pɹɐoqʎǝʞ ɐ ʎnq ı ǝɯıʇ ʇsɐן ǝɥʇ sı sıɥʇ

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest