Promi 81 desk mic wiring info help.

A forum for the discussion of matters of a technical nature. All such activities are undertaken at the readers discretion and own risk. If you don't know what you are doing, don't blame us if it all goes wrong!
original45
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Call Sign: 45

Promi 81 desk mic wiring info help.

Post by original45 »

Picked up a PM electronic promi 81 desk mic.
Actually quite a nice little looking mic

Wires in the plug are to four pin plug.
Green no 1 pin
Blue
White
Brown and braid are joined at pin no 4.

Now white and blue are broken off so I need to 're solder them.

Again I'm not technical ,can someone tell me what each colour wire is for as I'd like to wire it to cybernet.
I have no idea what this mic is wired for presently either
Much appreciated.

Thank you
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
satelitesid

Re: Promi 81 desk mic wiring info help.

Post by satelitesid »

OK, basic lesson on wiring mics.
You have a number of wires, it doesn't matter what colours they are. All mics are different, and even if you had the proper colours there is no gaurentee that the lead has not been changed or re-wired at some point.
Firstly, remove the plug. Chances are it will not fit, so whip it off. Just cut the wires and unsolder the stray bits.
There is a screened wire inside a braid. That is always audio.
The braid is usually common. In this case it is already tacked to brown, so it looks like brown is common.
Get a meter on resistance, check it works by touching probes together.
Now to find out TX and RX. One lead on to brown, and try blue then white for continuity on rx.
Now do the same with the PTT held down, one test lead on brown, and blue and white in turn.
Cybernet is
Pin 1 is audio
pin 2 is common
pin 3 is RX
pin 4 is TX
As per link

https://www.thunderpole.co.uk/microphon ... ndard.html
original45
Radio Addict
Radio Addict

Post by original45 »

Thank you.