Comtron 12 ,Mike and general question

A forum for the discussion of matters of a technical nature. All such activities are undertaken at the readers discretion and own risk. If you don't know what you are doing, don't blame us if it all goes wrong!
Post Reply
original45
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 394
Joined: 31 Jul 2013, 21:11
Call Sign: 45

Comtron 12 ,Mike and general question

Post by original45 » 01 Oct 2018, 19:03

Sunday I picked up a decent condition comtron12 " X11". I can't find any info on the net.

Unfortunately it didn't come with a microphone. So firstly I have a couple with the same plug types.
Will any of these suit , midland 100m. Colt 240, formac 120.

Anyone got a link to more info on it please too.

Thank you again

User avatar
14CS06
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 938
Joined: 04 Mar 2012, 09:15
Location: JN33LN - ALPES-MARITIMES-06 France

Re: Comtron 12 ,Mike and general question

Post by 14CS06 » 01 Oct 2018, 19:25

Hello

Please insert a picture of your comtron12

@+
Claude
Photo Collector CB RADIO

original45
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 394
Joined: 31 Jul 2013, 21:11
Call Sign: 45

Re: Comtron 12 ,Mike and general question

Post by original45 » 01 Oct 2018, 19:43

Claude, I have taken images and tried to upload.
Unfortunantly it says file too big ?.

I am not good with I.t and dont have Dropbox or similar.

If someone would please be able to upload images for me could you private message me a email address or watsap number I would appreciate it so I may send you the images to upload here.

Thank you.

User avatar
14CS06
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 938
Joined: 04 Mar 2012, 09:15
Location: JN33LN - ALPES-MARITIMES-06 France

Re: Comtron 12 ,Mike and general question

Post by 14CS06 » 01 Oct 2018, 19:51

Hello

I use https://postimages.org/

Click to choose, copy & paste or drag & drop files anywhere

Image


Image

@+
Claude
Photo Collector CB RADIO

original45
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 394
Joined: 31 Jul 2013, 21:11
Call Sign: 45

Re: Comtron 12 ,Mike and general question

Post by original45 » 01 Oct 2018, 20:38

Hopefully image will upload now
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
14CS06
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 938
Joined: 04 Mar 2012, 09:15
Location: JN33LN - ALPES-MARITIMES-06 France

Re: Comtron 12 ,Mike and general question

Post by 14CS06 » 01 Oct 2018, 20:45

Hello

similar
IRRADIO MC-700
Platine : 4010197

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

same PCB AS MIDLAND 2001 AM/FM 120 CH

@+
Claude
Photo Collector CB RADIO

original45
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 394
Joined: 31 Jul 2013, 21:11
Call Sign: 45

Re: Comtron 12 ,Mike and general question

Post by original45 » 01 Oct 2018, 21:18

Do you know if any of the mics for the midland 100m ,formac 120 or colt 210 woulld already be wired to suit so I may test radio further.

It may be a silly question but the dial that says -40+40+80 what is this for. Is this the selector to get the full 120 channels I imagine.

When it is switched on whilst on one of the positions activates the red light above channel selector. The other two positions don't illuminate it

Kind of confusing me a little.any advice info appreciated

ChrisMagpie
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 376
Joined: 30 Jul 2013, 15:35
Call Sign: 26TM553

Re: Comtron 12 ,Mike and general question

Post by ChrisMagpie » 02 Oct 2018, 02:40

original45 wrote:
01 Oct 2018, 21:18
Do you know if any of the mics for the midland 100m ,formac 120 or colt 210 woulld already be wired to suit so I may test radio further.

It may be a silly question but the dial that says -40+40+80 what is this for. Is this the selector to get the full 120 channels I imagine.

When it is switched on whilst on one of the positions activates the red light above channel selector. The other two positions don't illuminate it

Kind of confusing me a little.any advice info appreciated
The Midland 100m and Colt 210 mics will fit :)

-40 = low block
+40 = mid block
+80 = high block

Old school Maxon sounds so nice on AM :)

User avatar
Clipper
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 186
Joined: 28 Nov 2014, 23:40
Location: Lancashire

Re: Comtron 12 ,Mike and general question

Post by Clipper » 02 Oct 2018, 07:29

Same as the Colt 510; the red LED is just an indicator for low band (-40).

original45
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 394
Joined: 31 Jul 2013, 21:11
Call Sign: 45

Re: Comtron 12 ,Mike and general question

Post by original45 » 02 Oct 2018, 10:49

Oh that's fantastic, thank you all for the input.

Yes I didn't input that info apologies ,it does in fact illuminate on low.
Will let the switches dry as I have switch cleaned them all and try it out latter this evening.

Awesome.

Cheers

User avatar
The Collector
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 4889
Joined: 23 Jan 2010, 19:26
Location: Bristol-ish

Re: Comtron 12 ,Mike and general question

Post by The Collector » 02 Oct 2018, 19:02

The original Commtron/Maxcom mic's are prone to failing. I think I've had dozens over the years that've had no audio, no rx, no tx or have simply fallen apart as they seem brittle and fragile. I'm sure I've got one in my knackered-mic's box with a similar issue at the moment.

And as for the mic' plugs pulling out if you stretch the cable a bit too much...

User avatar
The Collector
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 4889
Joined: 23 Jan 2010, 19:26
Location: Bristol-ish

Re: Comtron 12 ,Mike and general question

Post by The Collector » 02 Oct 2018, 19:08

That's sooo funny. This is on ebay at the mo, CXX version of yours (Nato) 27/81 uk channels on it, and guess what, no audio on the tx:

https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre ... 2801633479

original45
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 394
Joined: 31 Jul 2013, 21:11
Call Sign: 45

Re: Comtron 12 ,Mike and general question

Post by original45 » 02 Oct 2018, 20:19

Ah yes I spotted that one.
I never liked the 5pin din plugs back in the day . I did take the mic apart on the colt 210 as it was taped up. It wasn't broken just taped terribly but whilst it was apart I cleaned it insulated a wire and used some of that silicon rubber take around the black outer where it passes through the little metal grip lugs on the back to try help it not pull out.
I may cut a thin strip too and run it around the outer of the plastic jacket to the black outer cover on the wire .


Strangely enough I spotted on ebay some 5pin din type extend cables for about 3/4£

I am liking the older gear and I will try and join in on the Halloween am net coming up.

Seen a few mics from China ,same pin din for a £6 ,wired cobra I think but I can swap the wires easily enough.

grafter
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 687
Joined: 05 Oct 2007, 06:31

Re: Comtron 12 ,Mike and general question

Post by grafter » 03 Oct 2018, 22:08

I had one of these years ago along with a B300 and 7ft Firestik on the car and it was a great little rig. Had many good contacts on it including tons of Germans on FM lows and Middle East stations during F2 conditions.
my friend grafter, seems like you are using a very offensive tone in the reply.

original45
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 394
Joined: 31 Jul 2013, 21:11
Call Sign: 45

Re: Comtron 12 ,Mike and general question

Post by original45 » 06 Oct 2018, 09:58

I like it now I have been able switch it on due to no mic supplied.
Controls all function nicely and it sounds great on rx .

I believe it's on of those radios as 19 uk fm is on 73 that is off uk frequency
But it all seems to work v nicely.
I was shocked actually with no mic,two screws from casing missing and grubby but it's a little beauty .
Testament to the 70s 80 era of radio com and build I'm sure.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests