PLL02A Replacement ?

A forum for the discussion of matters of a technical nature. All such activities are undertaken at the readers discretion and own risk. If you don't know what you are doing, don't blame us if it all goes wrong!
Post Reply
User avatar
1968neil
Regular
Regular
Posts: 23
Joined: 17 Sep 2018, 21:30
Location: Buckinghamshire

PLL02A Replacement ?

Post by 1968neil » 18 Sep 2018, 17:29

Hi Folks,

I have an old Superstar 2000 (blocks of 50)
The PLL02A has died and by the looks of it is not an easy to source chip nowadays ?
I remember vaguely that there are other chips that can be used as a substitute ?

Can anyone point me in the right direction please ?

Regards
Neil

recoil
Regular
Regular
Posts: 31
Joined: 10 Mar 2016, 19:17
Call Sign: 2e0myn

Re: PLL02A Replacement ?

Post by recoil » 18 Sep 2018, 18:46

I have a ss2000 and it has a Motorola 760136 pll in it which I think is same as a 02a .knights cb did have some 02a whether they have any now I don't know . or you could try e bay

User avatar
Black Spirit
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 4000
Joined: 16 Mar 2009, 19:30
Location: S.Wales

Re: PLL02A Replacement ?

Post by Black Spirit » 18 Sep 2018, 18:54

If your stuck for an PLLO2A you can use an MC145106, Slightly different package but with some slight fettling still works perfectly well

User avatar
1968neil
Regular
Regular
Posts: 23
Joined: 17 Sep 2018, 21:30
Location: Buckinghamshire

Re: PLL02A Replacement ?

Post by 1968neil » 18 Sep 2018, 20:05

Thanks for the reply :)
Whats involved in using the MC145106 ? as i have a few of those in stock

Cheers
Neil

User avatar
KlondikeMike
Regular
Regular
Posts: 73
Joined: 06 Jan 2014, 03:59
Call Sign: 9WR2000
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Re: PLL02A Replacement ?

Post by KlondikeMike » 18 Sep 2018, 20:15

1968neil wrote:
18 Sep 2018, 17:29
... it is not an easy to source chip nowadays ?
And how much effort did your trying consist of? A simple Google search turns up multiple sources.

Image

https://www.rfparts.com/integrated-circ ... ll02a.html

http://www.weisd.com/test/GenericParts_ ... d1=PLL-02A

etc..
9WR2000

User avatar
cb4ever104
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 4550
Joined: 28 Jul 2011, 21:26
Location: Alicante , España

Re: PLL02A Replacement ?

Post by cb4ever104 » 19 Sep 2018, 07:27

KlondikeMike wrote:
18 Sep 2018, 20:15
1968neil wrote:
18 Sep 2018, 17:29
... it is not an easy to source chip nowadays ?
And how much effort did your trying consist of? A simple Google search turns up multiple sources.

Image

https://www.rfparts.com/integrated-circ ... ll02a.html

http://www.weisd.com/test/GenericParts_ ... d1=PLL-02A

etc..
The second one is an NTE equivalent . No point in buying from the States with postage etc. when you can buy an equivalent MC145106 locally for about a third of the price .

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/152761304508
30TM060
Paul aka "Sammy". (108) PY60 Old Paisley DX Group (RIP Rab Markie)
Ex GM0 , now EA5 .
Handle "Fortune Hunter" back in "the day"
Radios ....? Anything that says "TAIWAN R.O.C" on the back.

User avatar
1968neil
Regular
Regular
Posts: 23
Joined: 17 Sep 2018, 21:30
Location: Buckinghamshire

Re: PLL02A Replacement ?

Post by 1968neil » 19 Sep 2018, 08:46

I agree with postage not a viable option,

As i said i have quite a few MC145105 ic's in stock.
I've had a look at the data sheet and looks like it's a simple enough swap with a few pin out differences.
Doing a UK google search turns up very little, obviously Canada has a better source ? ;)

Regards
Neil

User avatar
The Collector
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 4894
Joined: 23 Jan 2010, 19:26
Location: Bristol-ish

Re: PLL02A Replacement ?

Post by The Collector » 19 Sep 2018, 16:32

Buy an early Binatone Route 66 uk radio and pinch it out of there. Later ones had different components iirc.

User avatar
KlondikeMike
Regular
Regular
Posts: 73
Joined: 06 Jan 2014, 03:59
Call Sign: 9WR2000
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Re: PLL02A Replacement ?

Post by KlondikeMike » 19 Sep 2018, 16:39

OK, we'll blame Google for showing different search results between countries. Wonder what they see in China?

Myself, the drop in replacement is the way to go, whether new or pinched from some other dead system. Pay a little extra to do it right. I've used the NTE, works just fine. Hacking/cutting to make something else work would be a last resort effort.
9WR2000

User avatar
1968neil
Regular
Regular
Posts: 23
Joined: 17 Sep 2018, 21:30
Location: Buckinghamshire

Re: PLL02A Replacement ?

Post by 1968neil » 19 Sep 2018, 20:24

KlondikeMike wrote:
19 Sep 2018, 16:39
OK, we'll blame Google for showing different search results between countries. Wonder what they see in China?

Myself, the drop in replacement is the way to go, whether new or pinched from some other dead system. Pay a little extra to do it right. I've used the NTE, works just fine. Hacking/cutting to make something else work would be a last resort effort.
I agree with the hacking the radio about, not the way to go.
I have decided that making a custom PCB with the MC145106 is the way i'll go, So it simply just drops in the original PLL02A pcb footprint.
a much neater and repeatable solution.......

Regards
Neil

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests