Superstar 360FM Photo

A forum for the discussion of matters of a technical nature. All such activities are undertaken at the readers discretion and own risk. If you don't know what you are doing, don't blame us if it all goes wrong!
User avatar
radiogaga
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1472
Joined: 04 Sep 2010, 20:37
Call Sign: 26TM399

Re: Superstar 360FM Photo

Post by radiogaga » 24 May 2018, 16:58

Thanks
26TM399 Hampshire and Isle of Wight
30TM399 Northern Costa Blanca

User avatar
radiogaga
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1472
Joined: 04 Sep 2010, 20:37
Call Sign: 26TM399

Re: Superstar 360FM Photo

Post by radiogaga » 26 May 2018, 13:11

Ok, so new 3 way switch added as below. The channel display will only work when the band switch is set to HIGH. MID or LOW and is goes off.

Anyone spot a mistake?

(Colours are factory correct)
CFA2700B-2614-458F-AE57-6077CFE9C952.jpeg
604CFE7C-F9E9-404B-9A8F-1635A6275ACD.jpeg
ED949498-6C5B-4DA3-B93B-405692B23765.jpeg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
26TM399 Hampshire and Isle of Wight
30TM399 Northern Costa Blanca

User avatar
cb4ever104
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 4545
Joined: 28 Jul 2011, 21:26
Location: Alicante , España

Re: Superstar 360FM Photo

Post by cb4ever104 » 26 May 2018, 16:19

Looks to me like your EARTH wire is wrong , and you're shorting out the 8V supply . It should be on pin 8 by itself . Pins 9 , 10 ,and 11 should be jumpered together with the yellow SFT wire connected to any one of those .

That gives +8V to SFT on LOW and MID , and it grounds it on the HI band .

Sammy
30TM060
Paul aka "Sammy". (108) PY60 Old Paisley DX Group (RIP Rab Markie)
Ex GM0 , now EA5 .
Handle "Fortune Hunter" back in "the day"
Radios ....? Anything that says "TAIWAN R.O.C" on the back.

User avatar
radiogaga
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1472
Joined: 04 Sep 2010, 20:37
Call Sign: 26TM399

Re: Superstar 360FM Photo

Post by radiogaga » 26 May 2018, 17:19

You're dead right.... My bad for not checking my work.

So now have the radio keying LOW and MID but not at HIGH. There is no power from the radio nor is it receiving um... First things first just got to figure out the lack of a HIGH band.
26TM399 Hampshire and Isle of Wight
30TM399 Northern Costa Blanca

User avatar
cb4ever104
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 4545
Joined: 28 Jul 2011, 21:26
Location: Alicante , España

Re: Superstar 360FM Photo

Post by cb4ever104 » 26 May 2018, 17:24

VCO might need adjusting slightly. ?
30TM060
Paul aka "Sammy". (108) PY60 Old Paisley DX Group (RIP Rab Markie)
Ex GM0 , now EA5 .
Handle "Fortune Hunter" back in "the day"
Radios ....? Anything that says "TAIWAN R.O.C" on the back.

User avatar
radiogaga
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1472
Joined: 04 Sep 2010, 20:37
Call Sign: 26TM399

Re: Superstar 360FM Photo

Post by radiogaga » 26 May 2018, 17:37

Sorry when I say lack of HIGH. I have no TX (LED to red) in HIGH, whereas it's there in LOW and MID, simply keying. That's on top of TX/RX issues :)

It was a birds nest of 5 band/UK40 mod... Along with all sorts of other diodes randomly not connected!
26TM399 Hampshire and Isle of Wight
30TM399 Northern Costa Blanca

User avatar
radiogaga
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1472
Joined: 04 Sep 2010, 20:37
Call Sign: 26TM399

Re: Superstar 360FM Photo

Post by radiogaga » 27 May 2018, 19:23

OK spent an age on this today and no joy with the High Band. Leave aside whether the final is blown, it will not key the LED in HIGH to TX.

Any ideas?
26TM399 Hampshire and Isle of Wight
30TM399 Northern Costa Blanca

User avatar
Black Spirit
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 3999
Joined: 16 Mar 2009, 19:30
Location: S.Wales

Re: Superstar 360FM Photo

Post by Black Spirit » 27 May 2018, 19:35

Sounds to me the band switch is still not right, Test MX3 wire on high band and see if it has 8v or better still Take the 8v wire off the band switch and connect it directly to MX3 and see if you have high band, If so then its your band switching, There are 4 pins per section on the band switch and the input pin to each section is a sort of T shape, 8V goes to the T shape pin and then you can check which pin is for what band by using a multimeter.

I dont have my camera handy so this is a quick crude drawing of what the band switching should look like on that type of switch, You can easily test which pin is for what band with either a continuity test, One probe to T pin and other probe test each other pin on each position, Or 8v to T pin and test band pins for 8v
band switch wiring.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Black Spirit on 27 May 2018, 19:56, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
cb4ever104
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 4545
Joined: 28 Jul 2011, 21:26
Location: Alicante , España

Re: Superstar 360FM Photo

Post by cb4ever104 » 27 May 2018, 19:53

His picture for the bands looks good . 8V on Pin 18 , with pink , violet and grey on 14 , 16 and 17 . Still sounds to me as if the VCO isn't locked on the HI band , but it would be a lot easier to diagnose with the radio in front of me .
30TM060
Paul aka "Sammy". (108) PY60 Old Paisley DX Group (RIP Rab Markie)
Ex GM0 , now EA5 .
Handle "Fortune Hunter" back in "the day"
Radios ....? Anything that says "TAIWAN R.O.C" on the back.

User avatar
Black Spirit
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 3999
Joined: 16 Mar 2009, 19:30
Location: S.Wales

Re: Superstar 360FM Photo

Post by Black Spirit » 27 May 2018, 20:01

Before you adjust VCO, Do you have 8v on the MX3 wire when on high band position ? Does High band lock on Channel 1 High band ?

User avatar
radiogaga
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1472
Joined: 04 Sep 2010, 20:37
Call Sign: 26TM399

Re: Superstar 360FM Photo

Post by radiogaga » 27 May 2018, 20:58

OK - Something is a miss

GREY - LOW (MX3)
PINK - MID (MX1)
VIOLENT - HIGH (MX2)

All fine with 8v but clearly in the wrong order based on the previous info you gave me
Black Spirit wrote:
19 May 2018, 13:13
You can get three way band switches from ebay [https://www.ebay.com/itm/2pc-Rotary-Swi ... 100623.m-1] MX1=LOW BAND, MX2=MID BAND, MX3=HIGH BAND,
It is indeed one of those overseas switches.


My switch is wired as below
Screen Shot 2018-05-27 at 21.57.10.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
26TM399 Hampshire and Isle of Wight
30TM399 Northern Costa Blanca

User avatar
14CS06
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 937
Joined: 04 Mar 2012, 09:15
Location: JN33LN - ALPES-MARITIMES-06 France

Re: Superstar 360FM Photo

Post by 14CS06 » 28 May 2018, 08:28

Photo Collector CB RADIO

User avatar
Black Spirit
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 3999
Joined: 16 Mar 2009, 19:30
Location: S.Wales

Re: Superstar 360FM Photo

Post by Black Spirit » 28 May 2018, 08:56

As Sammy says its difficult to know whats going on without actually seeing it.

User avatar
cb4ever104
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 4545
Joined: 28 Jul 2011, 21:26
Location: Alicante , España

Re: Superstar 360FM Photo

Post by cb4ever104 » 28 May 2018, 09:27

I don't have any radios with me to use as a reference , however , you can see where the wires go to the pcb from the wiring diagram that was posted by Tim .
Otter wrote:
17 May 2018, 10:25
It's not a picture, but the wiring is detailed in the service manual for the Cobra 148GTL-DX on CB Tricks.

http://www.cbtricks.com/radios/cobra/14 ... g35_36.pdf

I've marked the colours on this one .
Capture9.JPG
Sammy
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
30TM060
Paul aka "Sammy". (108) PY60 Old Paisley DX Group (RIP Rab Markie)
Ex GM0 , now EA5 .
Handle "Fortune Hunter" back in "the day"
Radios ....? Anything that says "TAIWAN R.O.C" on the back.

User avatar
radiogaga
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1472
Joined: 04 Sep 2010, 20:37
Call Sign: 26TM399

Re: Superstar 360FM Photo

Post by radiogaga » 28 May 2018, 16:38

Thanks Sammy it matches the diagram... Well... Nick :wave: Might you be able to have a look at it please??? Won't be for a couple of weeks until I'm back?
26TM399 Hampshire and Isle of Wight
30TM399 Northern Costa Blanca

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests