Radio cuts out

A forum for the discussion of matters of a technical nature. All such activities are undertaken at the readers discretion and own risk. If you don't know what you are doing, don't blame us if it all goes wrong!
Post Reply
2m0rdg
Registered New User
Registered New User
Posts: 2
Joined: 29 Jul 2017, 03:53
Call Sign: 2m0rdg

Radio cuts out

Post by 2m0rdg » 06 Aug 2017, 01:16

My friend has a superstar SS 6900n radio and the microphone keeps cutting out and DC comes up on the display , has anyone any ideas what the problem can be , rob

User avatar
dt307
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 989
Joined: 05 Sep 2014, 16:15
Call Sign: 163dt307

Re: Radio cuts out

Post by dt307 » 07 Aug 2017, 09:51

Problem with supply voltage
Psu under or over voltage
If that checks out ok make sure all connection are good inc fuse.
Can't remember if the under over voltage protection is user config in the menu/software if it is this also may be wrong

What psu is being used ?
163dt307-chris




“I fear the day that technology will surpass our human interaction. The world will have a generation of idiots.”
― Albert Einstein

User avatar
MrWeetabix
Admin
Admin
Posts: 13162
Joined: 26 Aug 2008, 13:34
Call Sign: 26TM175
Location: Tynemouth

Re: Radio cuts out

Post by MrWeetabix » 07 Aug 2017, 10:19

Could be an under-powered PSU. If you're running a standard 3-5am PSU it may be struggling to supply on full power. Try running same radio on low power and see if the issues repeats. If not, then it's probably the power supply.

what is the radio rated as putting out on transmit?
26TM175. OP: Craig. QTH: Tynemouth. Also 163TM175 when mobile in Wales 8)

PO Box: 62 Town: Albrighton City: Wolverhampton Zip: WV7 3WR

TM1 is now on Facebook http://tinyurl.com/TM1onFB || New Tango Mike QSL cards https://tinyurl.com/TM1-NewQSL

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest