need 148 gtl bits

A forum for the discussion of matters of a technical nature. All such activities are undertaken at the readers discretion and own risk. If you don't know what you are doing, don't blame us if it all goes wrong!
User avatar
dt307
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 989
Joined: 05 Sep 2014, 16:15
Call Sign: 163dt307

Re: need 148 gtl bits

Post by dt307 » 25 May 2017, 02:23

and no need to dismantle or remove the facia

"gentle" taps and keep checking the control after two or three taps
you may still be able to force it to over ride but for general day to day use its a great quick fix
163dt307-chris




“I fear the day that technology will surpass our human interaction. The world will have a generation of idiots.”
― Albert Einstein

User avatar
cb4ever104
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 4170
Joined: 28 Jul 2011, 21:26
Location: Alicante , España

Re: need 148 gtl bits

Post by cb4ever104 » 25 May 2017, 07:36

So far I haven't had to replace one yet . A bit of solder or glue in the required places usually does the job . Had a good one a while back with one of the VRs on another radio . I was trying to get the plastic knob off and it was so tight that when it eventually did come off it took the whole VR shaft with it . And yes . I know there are lots of words in there like knob and shaft , but it was the only way to tell the story :)
30TM060
Paul aka "Sammy". (108) PY60 Old Paisley DX Group / ex GM0 , now EA5
Handle "Fortune Hunter" back in the "day"
Radios ..... anything that says "TAIWAN R.O.C" on the back.

User avatar
astradyne
Legend
Legend
Posts: 6519
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 09:28
Location: Dunny On The Wolds
Contact:

Re: need 148 gtl bits

Post by astradyne » 25 May 2017, 18:11

Never, ever, ever....bloody anything ever!

Far too many radio's to list here. But I do own a legal one...

User avatar
dt307
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 989
Joined: 05 Sep 2014, 16:15
Call Sign: 163dt307

Re: need 148 gtl bits

Post by dt307 » 25 May 2017, 23:28

cb4ever104 wrote:So far I haven't had to replace one yet . A bit of solder or glue in the required places usually does the job . Had a good one a while back with one of the VRs on another radio . I was trying to get the plastic knob off and it was so tight that when it eventually did come off it took the whole VR shaft with it . And yes . I know there are lots of words in there like knob and shaft , but it was the only way to tell the story :)
was selling a radio a madi or washington a while back all was finished just needed a clean
guy was on his way and would be here any time pulled off all the knobs to clean facial just one was stuck
started to pry it off and as you said the whole shaft came out with the knob

was like wtf is this my luck {bnghd}
163dt307-chris




“I fear the day that technology will surpass our human interaction. The world will have a generation of idiots.”
― Albert Einstein

User avatar
astradyne
Legend
Legend
Posts: 6519
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 09:28
Location: Dunny On The Wolds
Contact:

Re: need 148 gtl bits

Post by astradyne » 26 May 2017, 17:50

dt307 wrote: a clean guy was on his way and would be here any time pulled off all the knobs to clean facial
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Never, ever, ever....bloody anything ever!

Far too many radio's to list here. But I do own a legal one...

User avatar
dt307
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 989
Joined: 05 Sep 2014, 16:15
Call Sign: 163dt307

Re: need 148 gtl bits

Post by dt307 » 27 May 2017, 02:31

wow cant make that up nice typo
163dt307-chris




“I fear the day that technology will surpass our human interaction. The world will have a generation of idiots.”
― Albert Einstein

User avatar
Black Spirit
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 3953
Joined: 16 Mar 2009, 19:30
Location: S.Wales

Re: need 148 gtl bits

Post by Black Spirit » 27 May 2017, 12:50

A control that does 360 from a bump is usually easy to fix as long as the carbon track isnt cracked, Sometimes you can get away with just pinching the tabs back down but if the little metal plate that sits between the carbon strip and shaft is bent then the control will need to be lifted off and placed on a level flat surface then shaft gently tapped on top to straighten the plate then put it back together making sure you put the stopper on the correct side or the flat edge of the control will end stop wrong side.

As regards to the coarse notch i would leave the notch out especially on a MK1 :)

Marky-boy
Regular
Regular
Posts: 48
Joined: 05 Dec 2016, 15:40

Re: need 148 gtl bits

Post by Marky-boy » 03 Jun 2017, 16:08

I've fixed the squelch control okay, not that it was too bad, but still not managed to find a kc shift control with a notch in it,
has anyone got one for sale please ? - if need be i will send you my un-notched one back too, if anyone wants it.
I have emailed the Norfolk CB centre who were selling the 3900 squelch control to see if they have a kc shift, but no response yet.

Thanks

User avatar
Otter
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 2689
Joined: 04 Apr 2008, 21:42
Call Sign: 26TM439

Re: need 148 gtl bits

Post by Otter » 03 Jun 2017, 16:20

Black Spirit wrote: As regards to the coarse notch i would leave the notch out especially on a MK1 :)
There' no chance at all of me knowingly buying a radio with the notch removed. It's the work of Stan :lol:
Never argue with stupid people, they will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience.

User avatar
cb4ever104
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 4170
Joined: 28 Jul 2011, 21:26
Location: Alicante , España

Re: need 148 gtl bits

Post by cb4ever104 » 03 Jun 2017, 17:36

Otter wrote:It's the work of Stan :lol:
I presume you mean Satan ? :)
30TM060
Paul aka "Sammy". (108) PY60 Old Paisley DX Group / ex GM0 , now EA5
Handle "Fortune Hunter" back in the "day"
Radios ..... anything that says "TAIWAN R.O.C" on the back.

User avatar
cb4ever104
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 4170
Joined: 28 Jul 2011, 21:26
Location: Alicante , España

Re: need 148 gtl bits

Post by cb4ever104 » 03 Jun 2017, 17:41

Marky-boy wrote:has anyone got one for sale please ?
I've got 3 or 4 kicking about , but I'm not at home just now . There's a new switch for sale here :

http://radio-media-system.com/epages/bo ... s/SS000200

But I don't know if it's the clarifier with the notch , or not . The reference SS000200 means nothing to me . They have other one's on their site , but they weren't in stock . Send them an email and ask them .

Sammy
30TM060
Paul aka "Sammy". (108) PY60 Old Paisley DX Group / ex GM0 , now EA5
Handle "Fortune Hunter" back in the "day"
Radios ..... anything that says "TAIWAN R.O.C" on the back.

Marky-boy
Regular
Regular
Posts: 48
Joined: 05 Dec 2016, 15:40

Re: need 148 gtl bits

Post by Marky-boy » 01 Jul 2017, 20:28

Thanks cb4ever104 !

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest