Anytone 5555 beeping error

A forum for the discussion of matters of a technical nature. All such activities are undertaken at the readers discretion and own risk. If you don't know what you are doing, don't blame us if it all goes wrong!
User avatar
Black Spirit
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 3999
Joined: 16 Mar 2009, 19:30
Location: S.Wales

Re: Anytone 5555 beeping error

Post by Black Spirit » 24 Apr 2015, 11:31

Dragging up and old thread instead of starting a new one, I have heard of this issue a few times now and today I got an Anytone 5555 here with exactly the same fault, Only sound no signals and no TX and when TXing there are just beeps, Beeping on TX is not SWR protect, Did anyone ever discover the problem for this fault as it seems to be quite common now, Also radio cannot be reset by holding FUNC and SCAN while turning on radio it just goes straight to REND and when releasing the two buttons bands stay as they were.

User avatar
NightProwler
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 2683
Joined: 08 Feb 2012, 22:31
Call Sign: 163TM186
Location: South Wales

Re: Anytone 5555 beeping error

Post by NightProwler » 24 Apr 2015, 11:55

My mates is still lying in the junk pile, I think he's given up on it. Pile of crap if you ask me.
Shorter of breath and one day closer to death

User avatar
Black Spirit
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 3999
Joined: 16 Mar 2009, 19:30
Location: S.Wales

Re: Anytone 5555 beeping error

Post by Black Spirit » 24 Apr 2015, 12:05

This one was the 10.240, Checked it and nothing replaced it and radio works but is exactly 2kc too low so i need to find a closer 10.240 to the original.

The two tracks on the top that go to one leg of the 10.240 are very fragile too and can break easily.

User avatar
cjay
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1775
Joined: 06 Jun 2013, 21:21
Call Sign: cjay
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: Anytone 5555 beeping error

Post by cjay » 24 Apr 2015, 13:59

Makes sense because the CPU monitors Lock detect.

Sure it was on frequency to start with? If the service menu has been tinkered with perhaps?

User avatar
Black Spirit
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 3999
Joined: 16 Mar 2009, 19:30
Location: S.Wales

Re: Anytone 5555 beeping error

Post by Black Spirit » 24 Apr 2015, 16:49

I tried several 10.240s and all were the same about 4kc out also I couldn't get it on freq in the service menu even set at its lowest it was still way off, I ended up having to put a 68p cap across the existing SMT cap and then in the service menu it only had to be adjusted from USB BF247 to BF227 and LSB BF853 to BF843, AM/FM was spot on so didn't need adjusting, Radio works perfectly now :)

User avatar
Clipper
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 186
Joined: 28 Nov 2014, 23:40
Location: Lancashire

Re: Anytone 5555 beeping error

Post by Clipper » 15 Aug 2018, 11:05

Black Spirit wrote:
24 Apr 2015, 16:49
I tried several 10.240s and all were the same about 4kc out also I couldn't get it on freq in the service menu even set at its lowest it was still way off, I ended up having to put a 68p cap across the existing SMT cap and then in the service menu it only had to be adjusted from USB BF247 to BF227 and LSB BF853 to BF843, AM/FM was spot on so didn't need adjusting, Radio works perfectly now :)
Hi Nick - which capacitor did you bridge with the 68pf? Also, do you think this mod should work on an Alinco DR-135UK?? TIA

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mw0uzo and 7 guests