Transverters

The place to talk about specific amateur radio equipment and all types of accessories, fixes, repairs and modification.
StormShadow
Top Poster
Top Poster

Transverters

Post by StormShadow »

Hi I don't know to much about transverters but hoping somebody can tell me a bit more on how they work.

I have seen some transverter boards that I'm thinking of getting to convert a couple of old SSB 11 meter radios. I've never used a transverter before so I don't know how good they are. The ones I have seen and want to get are for 6 and 4 meters, so its 28MHz in and 50MHz - 52MHz out and 28MHz in and 70MHz out

So the 4 meter band is 500 KHz wide so does that mean that the CB radio has to be 500 KHz wide at 28 MHz? so 28.000 MHz - 28.500 MHz?

6 Meters is 2MHz wide, would that mean the CB radio has to cover 28 MHz to 29 MHz?
Auldgeek
Veteran
Veteran
Call Sign: GM0BRJ

Re: Transverters

Post by Auldgeek »

That's the general rule.
28.000-28.500 = 70.000-70.500
You will find most 6m activity is 50.000-50.500 so unless you intend to use FM, you only need the 1st 500khz of the 28Mhz band.

One thing to watch is drive power. Most transverters only need a few hundred milliwatts for full output so ensure your TX power is well attenuated.
RX gain is also usually quite high so really useful if your 28mhz radio has a variable rf gain.

Good luck with your project
Auldgeek - Drew

Winner of IBTL Autumn 23 Edition
I've changed radios so many times, I've forgotten what I have :think:
StormShadow
Top Poster
Top Poster

Post by StormShadow »

Awesome I thought so but wasn't 100% so I thought I'd ask... well that makes things a lot more simplified. Its given me some ideas to build some transverters to to run from 27MHz for some HF bands to make some other time. I've found some good schematics online. My first project will be the 4 meter transverter.

Many thanks for the info
HFDX
Regular
Regular

Post by HFDX »