Looking at becoming a licensed Radio Ham

A place to discuss the amateur radio licence, training and examination.
Brunlea
Regular
Regular

Looking at becoming a licensed Radio Ham

Post by Brunlea »

I've had an interests in radio from my teens. I've used the CB in the past and love my radio receivers. I've been pointed to this forum by Burnley Radio Club.

I want to become licensed and find out more about Amateur Radio. I've little knowledge in this area. Could someone point me in the direction I should take next please?
Brunlea | Lancashire, England
Aviation Geek, Radio Geek, General Geek!
Roger Wilco
Barnbilly

Re: Looking at becoming a licensed Radio Ham

Post by Barnbilly »

is Burnley radio club an amateur club or are they professional cbers??

if they are amateurs then I think they are letting you down by simply pointing you at TM1
they should know who is running any courses in their area if they dont themselves sorry i cant be more helpful than this but Im a long way from you
Dont worry what class of licence he holds, worry what class of bias he applies to the amplifier !
andymuza
Top Poster
Top Poster

Post by andymuza »

If the only advice they have given you is to come on here then I suggest you find another club.
Just do a google search, I have no doubt some will come up.

Getting your ham ticket is a doddle this day and age.

Have a look here for a club.
I will not be commanded, I will not be controlled.
n+1 the formula for working out how many radios you need with n being the current amount.
Mattylad
Top Poster
Top Poster
Call Sign: RDX64

Post by Mattylad »

Actually guys I think it was me that suggested it so please don't bite too much, I take it that Brunlea posted at the start of the month on the Burnley clubs forum and got no answer.

AFAIK The Burnley radio club's forum admin passed away recently leaving it helmless, so the forum is not getting posts on much.
They play with radios, not internet stuff.