SDRangel

General scanning discussion forum. Talk about anything to do with scanners, equipment, VHF/UHF reception and the art of catching those illusive signals!
User avatar
gmham
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1834
Joined: 13 Aug 2009, 11:27
Call Sign: 108TM154

Re: SDRangel

Post by gmham » 18 Aug 2018, 14:28

Yep thats the one mate.if no joy give me a shout via pm as have another link
.... Icom IC7300 HF /6 mtr
Kenwood TR751e 2mtr ssb






108-TM-154 - John

User avatar
stanogs68
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 2027
Joined: 05 Mar 2013, 19:38
Location: warrington,north west

Re: SDRangel

Post by stanogs68 » 18 Aug 2018, 14:52

ive downloaded it unzipped to the desktop go to the bottom of the files were the windows 64 download is and when i click on it it flashes up as if its going to load then goes off ,i hate computers i need bloody lessons i reckon ! :oops: :shock:
computers mess with my brain !

User avatar
radiogaga
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1473
Joined: 04 Sep 2010, 20:37
Call Sign: 26TM399

Re: SDRangel

Post by radiogaga » 18 Aug 2018, 15:10

Possibly a quicktime issue? https://github.com/f4exb/sdrangel/issues/102

Simple alternative is to run up VirtualBox and install a linux distro such as Mint or Ubuntu. (Mint being a thinned version of Ubuntu)

SDRAngel is supported on Mint Cinnamon 17.2.

You'll be surprised how much like Windows one of these distro's are, and how easy VirtualBox is to get going.

What CPU, Memory and GFX do you have?
26TM399 Hampshire and Isle of Wight
30TM399 Northern Costa Blanca

User avatar
stanogs68
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 2027
Joined: 05 Mar 2013, 19:38
Location: warrington,north west

Re: SDRangel

Post by stanogs68 » 18 Aug 2018, 15:30

bloody hell i tell you im shat with computers and you ask me that lol,i think its says here intel core duo 3.0 ghz 8gb ram 64 bit op ,is that right :lol: :lol:
computers mess with my brain !

User avatar
radiogaga
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1473
Joined: 04 Sep 2010, 20:37
Call Sign: 26TM399

Re: SDRangel

Post by radiogaga » 18 Aug 2018, 15:40

:lol: Yes it is. Honest the Virtual Box and Linux is fine but I understand.

That should be fine for running SDRA. It now requires 64bit OS and Computer

Hang on, I'm going to fire up a Win7 box and try and install it..
26TM399 Hampshire and Isle of Wight
30TM399 Northern Costa Blanca

User avatar
radiogaga
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1473
Joined: 04 Sep 2010, 20:37
Call Sign: 26TM399

Re: SDRangel

Post by radiogaga » 18 Aug 2018, 15:47

I'm just starting up a box now... Wait hate first 10 minutes of this - is this where you have got to:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R1XGv7cdoc4

Important - Have you placed in PROGRAM FILES?
26TM399 Hampshire and Isle of Wight
30TM399 Northern Costa Blanca

User avatar
radiogaga
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1473
Joined: 04 Sep 2010, 20:37
Call Sign: 26TM399

Re: SDRangel

Post by radiogaga » 18 Aug 2018, 16:08

Not going to help you much but I'm up and running fine as per the same method of the video. Two key points that are worth checking with you:

1. SDR Sharp functions OK?
2. You extracted the SDRAngel folder to PROGRAM FILES and created shortcut from there?

Cheers
Sam
26TM399 Hampshire and Isle of Wight
30TM399 Northern Costa Blanca

User avatar
stanogs68
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 2027
Joined: 05 Mar 2013, 19:38
Location: warrington,north west

Re: SDRangel

Post by stanogs68 » 18 Aug 2018, 16:42

i extracted sdr angel to a folder on the desktop ?? :oops: :? is that why ? :wtf:
computers mess with my brain !

User avatar
radiogaga
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1473
Joined: 04 Sep 2010, 20:37
Call Sign: 26TM399

Re: SDRangel

Post by radiogaga » 18 Aug 2018, 17:10

Maybe. Just copy the entire folder to WINDOWS / PROGRAM FILES (NOT PROGRAM FILES x86). The copied folder should be one level only between files and PROGRAM FILES. By that I mean you click WINDOWS, then PROGRAM FILES, then SDRAngel and you should see your files, no more folders.

Then right click on the SDRAngel executable file and select compatibility and run as Admin. I didn't need to here but it won't hurt. Then you can create a shortcut to desktop of this executable.

Try it then
26TM399 Hampshire and Isle of Wight
30TM399 Northern Costa Blanca

User avatar
gmham
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1834
Joined: 13 Aug 2009, 11:27
Call Sign: 108TM154

Re: SDRangel

Post by gmham » 18 Aug 2018, 17:34

On my windows version there is folders as well as files within the extracted downloaded . All in the one folder. Run on the executable and it's starts up no actual instal or anything.

Stanogs68 does sdr# work okay on your PC. You tried it ? as if so then would have thought sdrangel would be okay ?

Don't worry about lack off pc knowledge I know the basics but a lot off things are well out off my depth and have to be spoon fed even then I am a numpty !!!
.... Icom IC7300 HF /6 mtr
Kenwood TR751e 2mtr ssb






108-TM-154 - John

User avatar
radiogaga
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1473
Joined: 04 Sep 2010, 20:37
Call Sign: 26TM399

Re: SDRangel

Post by radiogaga » 18 Aug 2018, 17:43

gmham wrote:
18 Aug 2018, 17:34
On my windows version there is folders as well as files within the extracted downloaded . All in the one folder. Run on the executable and it's starts up no actual instal or anything.
You're right, sorry my bad example. I mean you don't have any more single folders to click through.

Off out, I can Teamview or AnyDesk if it helps later.
26TM399 Hampshire and Isle of Wight
30TM399 Northern Costa Blanca

User avatar
gmham
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1834
Joined: 13 Aug 2009, 11:27
Call Sign: 108TM154

Re: SDRangel

Post by gmham » 18 Aug 2018, 18:12

No probs. You had any joy with decoding dmr with sdrangel yourself ? If so would really appreciate a TeamViewer session to set up the dmr decode settings.
.... Icom IC7300 HF /6 mtr
Kenwood TR751e 2mtr ssb






108-TM-154 - John

User avatar
stanogs68
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 2027
Joined: 05 Mar 2013, 19:38
Location: warrington,north west

Re: SDRangel

Post by stanogs68 » 18 Aug 2018, 18:42

ive just tried me sdr dongle and sdr and dsd are loading up but it wont even start searching i think my dongles took the knock ,ive got others so ill try one off them ,but sdr is loading up ,but i still have no idea how to download that sdrangel ,can someone do me a walk through ,cheers :) :wave:
computers mess with my brain !

User avatar
gmham
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1834
Joined: 13 Aug 2009, 11:27
Call Sign: 108TM154

Re: SDRangel

Post by gmham » 18 Aug 2018, 18:50

Possibly the blind leading the blind here mate !!! but basically I just downloaded the software into my downloads folder and unzipped it from there into a folder I had created on my desktop named " srdangel ", once within there its just a case off double clicking that folder and you will see a list of folders and files, forgett these folders and files all you need to do is go to the one named " sdrangel " application ( 7th from bottom ) right click on it and select run as administrator from the drop down menu, another page will open press yes and eventually the programme will open, takes a few seconds so just press it the once. the sdrangel screen will open up and then the real fun starts !!
.... Icom IC7300 HF /6 mtr
Kenwood TR751e 2mtr ssb






108-TM-154 - John

User avatar
stanogs68
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 2027
Joined: 05 Mar 2013, 19:38
Location: warrington,north west

Re: SDRangel

Post by stanogs68 » 18 Aug 2018, 18:55

thanks graham ,i downloaded the file my self onto my desk top but theres no sdrangel exe file ,i think maybe ive donloaded the wrong link
computers mess with my brain !

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests