Zastone D900 DMR ?

General scanning discussion forum. Talk about anything to do with scanners, equipment, VHF/UHF reception and the art of catching those illusive signals!
User avatar
gmham
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1427
Joined: 13 Aug 2009, 11:27

Zastone D900 DMR ?

Postby gmham » 16 Nov 2016, 16:00

I see that amazon are selling the Zastone D900 UHF DMR handies at just £55. Anyone here use one ? Just really looking to use it for earwigging a few local digital freqs. Believe they cover tier 1 and 2 which I think is the minimum I require for shopwatch etc ? Also not sure if it covers normal non digital traffic ?
.... Yaesu FTDX1200 - Superstar 360FM / Maxcom 30E / Ameritron ALS-600X - Cushcraft r6000 / Carolina windom 80s Heil PR40 / W2IHY.

108-TM-154 - John


***********

User avatar
thelad
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1391
Joined: 30 Jan 2012, 20:45
Location: West Yorkshire

Re: Zastone D900 DMR ?

Postby thelad » 16 Nov 2016, 16:42

Read down the threads, i posted the same thread in the week.
Uniden UBC120XLT
Uniden USC230E
Uniden UBC3500XLT
Binatone PMR MR500 x2
Magiksun TM-490 (BF-888) x3
Baofeng BF-888
TTI TSC 100R
Baofeng UVB5
Zastone D900
Icom IC-R6

User avatar
gmham
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1427
Joined: 13 Aug 2009, 11:27

Re: Zastone D900 DMR ?

Postby gmham » 16 Nov 2016, 18:29

Oops sorry !! have responded within your thread.
.... Yaesu FTDX1200 - Superstar 360FM / Maxcom 30E / Ameritron ALS-600X - Cushcraft r6000 / Carolina windom 80s Heil PR40 / W2IHY.

108-TM-154 - John


***********

humaxf1
Regular
Regular
Posts: 7
Joined: 11 Nov 2016, 16:06

Re: Zastone D900 DMR ?

Postby humaxf1 » 17 Nov 2016, 13:04

I see the D900 only does Basic encryption
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
gmham
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1427
Joined: 13 Aug 2009, 11:27

Re: Zastone D900 DMR ?

Postby gmham » 17 Nov 2016, 17:25

So from what others say this is a clone off the DYT DMT 380, anyone else confirm this ? if indeed it is a clone off the DYT 380 then does the DYT version offer just this basic encryption ? does it have a scrambler function on regular analogue audio ?
.... Yaesu FTDX1200 - Superstar 360FM / Maxcom 30E / Ameritron ALS-600X - Cushcraft r6000 / Carolina windom 80s Heil PR40 / W2IHY.

108-TM-154 - John


***********

User avatar
Admiral
Legend
Legend
Posts: 8631
Joined: 08 Mar 2011, 21:20
Call Sign: 26TM157
Location: NORTH CAMBS UK

Re: Zastone D900 DMR ?

Postby Admiral » 18 Nov 2016, 19:02

gmham wrote:So from what others say this is a clone off the DYT DMT 380, anyone else confirm this ? if indeed it is a clone off the DYT 380 then does the DYT version offer just this basic encryption ? does it have a scrambler function on regular analogue audio ?


I have no idea mate, my comment on thelads thread was that to my eyes it looks like a clone of the 380, I have no idea what's inside. But if you get one then it would be great to get some feedback, it was always predicted that the 380 would settle at around fifty quid a year or so after release.

User avatar
gmham
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1427
Joined: 13 Aug 2009, 11:27

Re: Zastone D900 DMR ?

Postby gmham » 18 Nov 2016, 22:15

Okay thanks will report back in due course. fortunately /unfortunately it has been bought for me as a Xmas pressie so guess will have to wait a while till I get my hands on it !! another fellow TM1 member has also ordered one so guess you may find out sooner !!!

update : seems it's the same as the dmt380 just a slightly different case

http://www.hamgoodies.co.uk/d900-dmr
Last edited by gmham on 19 Nov 2016, 07:18, edited 1 time in total.
.... Yaesu FTDX1200 - Superstar 360FM / Maxcom 30E / Ameritron ALS-600X - Cushcraft r6000 / Carolina windom 80s Heil PR40 / W2IHY.

108-TM-154 - John


***********

User avatar
LeakyFeeder
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1820
Joined: 07 Feb 2011, 23:00
Location: In the BedWreck Cafe

Re: Zastone D900 DMR ?

Postby LeakyFeeder » 18 Nov 2016, 23:40

That seems a right bargain esp seeing as its all set up n from a UK seller

User avatar
gmham
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1427
Joined: 13 Aug 2009, 11:27

Re: Zastone D900 DMR ?

Postby gmham » 19 Nov 2016, 07:17

yep great price but not just as good as amazon at £55 !! saying that the one supplied by amazon isn't pre programmed so am sure for the extra it could well be worth it !!
this will be my next question how to add a " local code plug " to mine when Santa has been ?!!
.... Yaesu FTDX1200 - Superstar 360FM / Maxcom 30E / Ameritron ALS-600X - Cushcraft r6000 / Carolina windom 80s Heil PR40 / W2IHY.

108-TM-154 - John


***********

User avatar
Admiral
Legend
Legend
Posts: 8631
Joined: 08 Mar 2011, 21:20
Call Sign: 26TM157
Location: NORTH CAMBS UK

Re: Zastone D900 DMR ?

Postby Admiral » 19 Nov 2016, 10:16

Most generic codeplugs are just every UK DMR UHF ham repeater programmed in and are pretty useless.

You have from now until xmas to start snagging info on your SDR, CC and TS, plus TG if you don't run the experimental firmware, always cross reference with WTR as eight quid SDRs are renowned for their inaccuracy on frequencies.

User avatar
gmham
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1427
Joined: 13 Aug 2009, 11:27

Re: Zastone D900 DMR ?

Postby gmham » 19 Nov 2016, 11:21

Okay thanks yep seems so much to take in but yep can at least thanks to yours guys gather a bit info in preperation off getting my hands on one !!
thanks to a fellow local TM1 member have all the relevant info required for my local shopwatch channel so thats fine.

going to try pick up a dsr play unit as have heard some decent reviews about them which I will use in conjunction with the handie.

have read a few comments on this experimental firmware, certainly sounds as if could well be worth installing, if its easy enough !!
.... Yaesu FTDX1200 - Superstar 360FM / Maxcom 30E / Ameritron ALS-600X - Cushcraft r6000 / Carolina windom 80s Heil PR40 / W2IHY.

108-TM-154 - John


***********

User avatar
Admiral
Legend
Legend
Posts: 8631
Joined: 08 Mar 2011, 21:20
Call Sign: 26TM157
Location: NORTH CAMBS UK

Re: Zastone D900 DMR ?

Postby Admiral » 19 Nov 2016, 11:50

The experimental firmware isn't the holy grail, it just negates the need for TG, it can be mildly useful when a system has a 'hidden channel' (just a different TG), when a firmware comes out that negates CC and TS then that would be a dream for the 380 and clones.

User avatar
gmham
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1427
Joined: 13 Aug 2009, 11:27

Re: Zastone D900 DMR ?

Postby gmham » 19 Nov 2016, 12:13

okay thanks again yep I see what you mean. will see how I get on with the combination off sdr play and the handie itself before installing new FW.
.... Yaesu FTDX1200 - Superstar 360FM / Maxcom 30E / Ameritron ALS-600X - Cushcraft r6000 / Carolina windom 80s Heil PR40 / W2IHY.

108-TM-154 - John


***********

User avatar
Mad4radio
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 185
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 15:43
Location: West Yorkshire

Re: Zastone D900 DMR ?

Postby Mad4radio » 20 Nov 2016, 17:17

Ok upon delivery of the Zastone D900 DMR/Analogue radio I see a few differences between the zastone radio & the TYT!!

1, The button to the top left & right keypad on the TYT is coloured red & green as per on the zestone the top left & right are as the same as the rest of which means nothing at all but that's the 1st difference.

2nd, It has a cheaper feel to that of the TYT & Retivis of which you'll feel straight away the moment you grab hold of it yet again means nothing but you'll notice straight away.

3rd, The antenna connections are that of a slight change as you will see In the Image I have attached below of which those wishing to connect these to an external antenna will require the right SMA connector.

4th, The battery Is different to that of the TYT/Retivis RT3 as this one delivered with the zastone & probably the same with the other folk that have purchased one has more casing with a bigger lip at the top end of the battery meaning the TYT's & Retivis's are not compatible for this radio which is a shame, This also will Include the battery eliminators that you can purchase for the TYT's & Retivis's will be Incompatible with the zastone D900's.

However as I purchased this radio purely to work Into my simplex DMR node link It performs really well & the audio Is acceptable just like It would be If operating on a TYT or Retivis handheld, As it was abit of a rush job I forgot to check the basic & enhanced encryption settings as I was writing a codeplug to the radio but my guesses are of which I'll refer to the other statement & Image posted slightly further up the thread about that it only offers basic encryption I reckon Is wrong as It's pretty much an MD380 with a difo & slight modded look to it of which I'll confirm later this evening as I reckon It will also support enhanced encryption as well as basic. Oh forgot to mention the MD380 software will & Is compatible for the programming of the radio as previously stated It has the brains of an MD380

Any how here's the Images:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Mad4radio on 20 Nov 2016, 17:21, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Mad4radio
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 185
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 15:43
Location: West Yorkshire

Re: Zastone D900 DMR ?

Postby Mad4radio » 20 Nov 2016, 17:19

The remaining x2 Image's, They's also a few more slight differences including the L.E.D light & the coloured strip around the PTT button but that's about all, Hope this helps!!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Return to “Scanning Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest