whistler ws1098 MOTOTRBO decoding

General scanning discussion forum. Talk about anything to do with scanners, equipment, VHF/UHF reception and the art of catching those illusive signals!
User avatar
Metradio
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 174
Joined: 28 Apr 2016, 19:10
Call Sign: G7HID
Location: Box 500, Slough UK

Re: whistler ws1098 MOTOTRBO decoding

Postby Metradio » 30 Sep 2016, 12:01

Reading more, I note that the digital and trunking modes available on that model are of little or no use in the UK. :(
Connect Systems CS750 and CS800, Hytera PD-365, Motorola DP4600.
Raspberry Pi 2 and DV4Mini HotSpot.
AOR AR-DV1 Digital Voice Receiver / eSPY on ARD V1.

Whistler WS1088 / TRX-1 / Whistler Q / UBCD3600XLT.

User avatar
Chris64ex4
Regular
Regular
Posts: 50
Joined: 05 Aug 2011, 18:08
Contact:

Re: whistler ws1098 MOTOTRBO decoding

Postby Chris64ex4 » 18 Oct 2016, 11:28

Metradio wrote:Reading more, I note that the digital and trunking modes available on that model are of little or no use in the UK. :(

I take it the Whistler TRX1 (which I've been contemplating) doesn't address any of those issues?

User avatar
Metradio
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 174
Joined: 28 Apr 2016, 19:10
Call Sign: G7HID
Location: Box 500, Slough UK

Re: whistler ws1098 MOTOTRBO decoding

Postby Metradio » 18 Oct 2016, 17:08

Sorry, what issues exactly??

Mike
Connect Systems CS750 and CS800, Hytera PD-365, Motorola DP4600.
Raspberry Pi 2 and DV4Mini HotSpot.
AOR AR-DV1 Digital Voice Receiver / eSPY on ARD V1.

Whistler WS1088 / TRX-1 / Whistler Q / UBCD3600XLT.

JLow75
Regular
Regular
Posts: 54
Joined: 11 Jan 2012, 15:07

Re: whistler ws1098 MOTOTRBO decoding

Postby JLow75 » 24 Nov 2016, 13:15

If anyone has made any progress successfully using these US Digital trunking scanners such as the Whistler & Radio Shack in the UK it would be very interesting to hear

User avatar
Metradio
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 174
Joined: 28 Apr 2016, 19:10
Call Sign: G7HID
Location: Box 500, Slough UK

Re: whistler ws1098 MOTOTRBO decoding

Postby Metradio » 24 Nov 2016, 17:49

Yes both Whistler and Uniden digital trunking scanners work very well on DMR / Mototrbo in the UK..

Mike
Connect Systems CS750 and CS800, Hytera PD-365, Motorola DP4600.
Raspberry Pi 2 and DV4Mini HotSpot.
AOR AR-DV1 Digital Voice Receiver / eSPY on ARD V1.

Whistler WS1088 / TRX-1 / Whistler Q / UBCD3600XLT.

User avatar
Cyberdyneman
Regular
Regular
Posts: 7
Joined: 03 Jun 2014, 21:41
Location: Newcastle Under Lyme

Re: whistler ws1098 MOTOTRBO decoding

Postby Cyberdyneman » 30 Dec 2016, 15:26

I purchased the Whistler TRX-2 from Moonraker and was very disappointed with it. It is so slow but the DMR is good and the programming software is a total waste of time you cannot do much with it. The squelch is a pain to use and there is no direct entry for a frequency to scan where you want. So I give it 1 star because they need to improve the software use of the scanner. I sent it back to moonraker and sticking with my Uniden BCD536HP its much better to use and program and receives very well with an modified CB antenna place in my window. I am restricted from having an outdoor antenna because I live in social Housing ground floor flat and they wont allow permission to have on put up. Were I live is ok there is plenty to listen to both analogue and digital DMR. Question from me is how do you work out the LCN numbers for a capacity plus. There is one system near me using 453.8500, 455.3375, 455.6375, 456.7500. and I programmed it as with the sentinel software. I not sure if this is correct.

453.850000 0 Color Code 15
453.850000 1 Color Code 15
455.337500 2 Color Code 15
455.337500 3 Color Code 15
455.637500 4 Color Code 15
455.637500 5 Color Code 15
456.750000 6 Color Code 15
456.750000 7 Color Code 15
453.850000 8 Color Code 15
453.850000 9 Color Code 15
455.337500 10 Color Code 15
455.337500 11 Color Code 15
455.637500 12 Color Code 15
455.637500 13 Color Code 15
456.750000 14 Color Code 15
456.750000 15 Color Code 15
:wave: Kirisun DP770
:thumbup: Uniden Bearcat BCD536HP

redman99
Regular
Regular
Posts: 36
Joined: 21 Jul 2013, 15:58
Location: Cornwall

Re: whistler ws1098 MOTOTRBO decoding

Postby redman99 » 30 Dec 2016, 16:21

Cyberdyneman wrote:I purchased the Whistler TRX-2 from Moonraker and was very disappointed with it. It is so slow but the DMR is good and the programming software is a total waste of time you cannot do much with it. The squelch is a pain to use and there is no direct entry for a frequency to scan where you want. So I give it 1 star because they need to improve the software use of the scanner. I sent it back to moonraker and sticking with my Uniden BCD536HP its much better to use and program and receives very well with an modified CB antenna place in my window. I am restricted from having an outdoor antenna because I live in social Housing ground floor flat and they wont allow permission to have on put up. Were I live is ok there is plenty to listen to both analogue and digital DMR. Question from me is how do you work out the LCN numbers for a capacity plus. There is one system near me using 453.8500, 455.3375, 455.6375, 456.7500. and I programmed it as with the sentinel software. I not sure if this is correct.

453.850000 0 Color Code 15
453.850000 1 Color Code 15
455.337500 2 Color Code 15
455.337500 3 Color Code 15
455.637500 4 Color Code 15
455.637500 5 Color Code 15
456.750000 6 Color Code 15
456.750000 7 Color Code 15
453.850000 8 Color Code 15
453.850000 9 Color Code 15
455.337500 10 Color Code 15
455.337500 11 Color Code 15
455.637500 12 Color Code 15
455.637500 13 Color Code 15
456.750000 14 Color Code 15
456.750000 15 Color Code 15
You don't have LCN on DMR.Enter all frequecies under the Conventional tab Set Mode to DMR just search those frequencies.The TRX can't trunk track, no point/need in making up a Trunked Radio System.No need to put in the CC number, as the wild cards do it for you & display the info when it decodes with voice.

User avatar
Cyberdyneman
Regular
Regular
Posts: 7
Joined: 03 Jun 2014, 21:41
Location: Newcastle Under Lyme

Re: whistler ws1098 MOTOTRBO decoding

Postby Cyberdyneman » 30 Dec 2016, 16:25

Its not the programing for the TXR-2 I don't have it anymore i sent it back. Its the programing for the Uniden BCD536HP.
:wave: Kirisun DP770
:thumbup: Uniden Bearcat BCD536HP

redman99
Regular
Regular
Posts: 36
Joined: 21 Jul 2013, 15:58
Location: Cornwall

Re: whistler ws1098 MOTOTRBO decoding

Postby redman99 » 31 Dec 2016, 12:02

Cyberdyneman wrote:Its not the programing for the TXR-2 I don't have it anymore i sent it back. Its the programing for the Uniden BCD536HP.
Ok sorry about that.Will copy & send to guy in US,see what comes back

redman99
Regular
Regular
Posts: 36
Joined: 21 Jul 2013, 15:58
Location: Cornwall

Re: whistler ws1098 MOTOTRBO decoding

Postby redman99 » 31 Dec 2016, 14:51

Cyberdyneman wrote:Its not the programing for the TXR-2 I don't have it anymore i sent it back. Its the programing for the Uniden BCD536HP.
from mate in the US, who is seriously into scanning."I've yet to get the 436 to track a trunked DMR" so same maybe goes for 536 too.maybe ask on http://forums.radioreference.com/uniden-forums/

User avatar
timbo
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 274
Joined: 10 Aug 2007, 19:33
Location: Newcastle

Re: whistler ws1098 MOTOTRBO decoding

Postby timbo » 01 Jan 2017, 15:39

muk wrote:Not really a true "scanner", it's more of a dmr receiver, program in frequencies and it's all good . It has scan for set frequency ranges, it has their version of close call which I think is just a fast scan of a 1mhz range.



Sorry I'm late... I missed the bus on this one.

Question is .. is it or is'nt it a scanner ? I'm probably gonna shell out fot the TRX-2 version, but would like some clarity on how it operates.

If it searches a frequency block and also scans memory channels already programed in, then, for me , that's a scanner (does most of the traditional stuff)

I presume it's maybe the lack of an up/down tune button (say 12.5khz step per push) that could be a deal breaker, saying that, I don't think I can do that on my analog 3500xlt and I still manage to live with that.

As long as it has a better front end then a RTL/SDR dongle ? ........or does it ?

User avatar
Metradio
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 174
Joined: 28 Apr 2016, 19:10
Call Sign: G7HID
Location: Box 500, Slough UK

Re: whistler ws1098 MOTOTRBO decoding

Postby Metradio » 01 Jan 2017, 17:20

Yes the lack of being able to tune up or down is a bind, but the keyboard programable 'Limit Search' goes some way to make up for it..
I have the WS1088 and TRX-1 and both have a decent front end..

Mike
Connect Systems CS750 and CS800, Hytera PD-365, Motorola DP4600.
Raspberry Pi 2 and DV4Mini HotSpot.
AOR AR-DV1 Digital Voice Receiver / eSPY on ARD V1.

Whistler WS1088 / TRX-1 / Whistler Q / UBCD3600XLT.

User avatar
timbo
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 274
Joined: 10 Aug 2007, 19:33
Location: Newcastle

Re: whistler ws1098 MOTOTRBO decoding

Postby timbo » 01 Jan 2017, 21:48

OK, thanks for that. Apparently the NXDN firmware is now available for this now. Have you had success updating your TRX-1 ?

User avatar
Metradio
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 174
Joined: 28 Apr 2016, 19:10
Call Sign: G7HID
Location: Box 500, Slough UK

Re: whistler ws1098 MOTOTRBO decoding

Postby Metradio » 02 Jan 2017, 07:22

Yes, works fine on NXDN - not as popular as DMR though...

Mike
Connect Systems CS750 and CS800, Hytera PD-365, Motorola DP4600.
Raspberry Pi 2 and DV4Mini HotSpot.
AOR AR-DV1 Digital Voice Receiver / eSPY on ARD V1.

Whistler WS1088 / TRX-1 / Whistler Q / UBCD3600XLT.

User avatar
timbo
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 274
Joined: 10 Aug 2007, 19:33
Location: Newcastle

Re: whistler ws1098 MOTOTRBO decoding

Postby timbo » 18 Jan 2017, 14:20

Can now confirm NXDN working OK. Although only a few users up here on it.

Also , after scatching my head for a bit while watching a DMR transmission fluctuate betwen 2 different radio IDs, but only one voice. It would appear, while in Service Search mode, it has to compress the screen info, so both the Group and Radio ID take up the same line of text, not enough room for that....so toggles between the two. Thew me a bit, as both were 5 digit numbers. Can't remember seeing that in the manual !




Regards, Tim


Return to “Scanning Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests