Baofeng UVB5 and FRN

A place to discuss internet linking of radio equipment, such as eQSO, FRN, iRLP, Echolink, and other such systems.
User avatar
Mad4radio
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 185
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 15:43
Location: West Yorkshire

Re: Baofeng UVB5 and FRN

Post by Mad4radio » 26 Feb 2014, 10:11

Let us know via a pm if you have problems & I'll try my best to put you on the right track

Kind regards

User avatar
TRON
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 274
Joined: 10 Mar 2011, 22:05

Re: Baofeng UVB5 and FRN

Post by TRON » 18 Mar 2014, 22:52

welshevo wrote:Hey Mad4Radio.....ive done some research on that MOAQC interface and its com port keyed.....and im told the baofeng doesn't have COS? so its a pointless interface that wouldn't work? like i said im a newbie....all i want to do is get my radio to talk to FRN and vice versa! jeez hard work!...so any other options? thanks for your responses !

That was me I think.. Don't get me wrong, if you're happy with using VOX within the FRN program, you can get one of these interfaces to fly... But it isn't "end to end" com port keying.

You're telling the rest of the network that you're talking by way of VOX rather than COS.

User avatar
Mad4radio
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 185
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 15:43
Location: West Yorkshire

Re: Baofeng UVB5 and FRN

Post by Mad4radio » 19 Mar 2014, 10:04

It must of worked for him as he hasn't replied since so who knows buddy.... I seen your post on the yahoo group aimed at the S780's & your intention of setting up a digi gateway, just curious to ask how your getting on with it tron?? I wouldn't mind setting up a couple one for the S780's & one for mototrbo along side my analog one at the moe!!

Kind Regards tron ;-)

User avatar
welshevo
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 283
Joined: 13 Jun 2013, 07:55
Call Sign: 163TM995
Location: Cardiff
Contact:

Re: Baofeng UVB5 and FRN

Post by welshevo » 19 Mar 2014, 14:12

im here folks!! been working loads so no time to FRN....how ever had a nightmare with this com port device!!! first it "kind" of works! but people saying im over deviating! but my volumes are 10% in windows and about 20 % in FRN ....then i get told the com port keying is on the left channel and FRN works on the right channel so would have to modify the interface? and then i finally try to get things sorted a few nights back and my handie packs in!! so out to the garage i go to find another UHF com!! woohooo the joys of Radios!! and FRN
:thumbup: Tetra is a Lonely place! Get DMR instead! (163TM995) ...... :thumbup:

User avatar
Mad4radio
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 185
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 15:43
Location: West Yorkshire

Re: Baofeng UVB5 and FRN

Post by Mad4radio » 19 Mar 2014, 14:25

I had the same problem pal so your not on your own... Everything ok now tho & the gateway has been performing well with a 15watt output & a few mounted fans hovering over the radios heatsink it doesn't ever get hot, the thing with frn as most will say on the network every radio setup is difo so it's all about tweaking with the volumes, the delay time until you get it what works best for you & your radio, the M0AQC is working fine here along side the cheap & cheerful USB soundcard dongle without any problems & of course the radio performs really well as well, but like I said in the post above I'm wanting to setup a digital gateway using the dpmr s780's & possibly a mototrbo dmr one but still in the early stages.

Hope you sort it buddy ;-)
Kind regards

User avatar
TRON
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 274
Joined: 10 Mar 2011, 22:05

Re: Baofeng UVB5 and FRN

Post by TRON » 19 Mar 2014, 15:11

Tell me guys, with all this "trouble" that you've had.. Where was Alan when it came to helping you out? Is he on here? Is he on Skype, talking you through it? Is he on Teamviewer walking you through it? Is he on FRN, listening to your audio to see whats going wrong?

I didn't think so. He's too busy claiming benefits and setting up highly expensive Dstar radios and nodes to bother with idiots like us.

Meanwhile, Ex Royal Signals specialists like me are forced to pimp our services on Ebay just to keep a few quid on the electric meter.

What do you get, when you pay peanuts?

Image GIFSoup

User avatar
welshevo
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 283
Joined: 13 Jun 2013, 07:55
Call Sign: 163TM995
Location: Cardiff
Contact:

Re: Baofeng UVB5 and FRN

Post by welshevo » 19 Mar 2014, 15:25

he did assist with a few questions....and did "offer " a refund if it all went belly up.....to be honest it was that much of a headache im just willing to write it off and buy a signalink ....seems alot easier :)
:thumbup: Tetra is a Lonely place! Get DMR instead! (163TM995) ...... :thumbup:

User avatar
TRON
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 274
Joined: 10 Mar 2011, 22:05

Re: Baofeng UVB5 and FRN

Post by TRON » 19 Mar 2014, 15:34

I can ASSURE you, it won't be. The interface you have right now should be ok, it just needs a "nudge" to get it running (provided big AL hasn't built a lemon).
Are you on FRN now? When WILL you be on? Would be willing to download and run Teamviewer so I can have a butchers at your audio settings??

http://www.teamviewer.com/en/download/windows.aspx

User avatar
welshevo
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 283
Joined: 13 Jun 2013, 07:55
Call Sign: 163TM995
Location: Cardiff
Contact:

Re: Baofeng UVB5 and FRN

Post by welshevo » 19 Mar 2014, 15:39

i can possibly log onto FRN later tonight and i would happily download team-viewer....if you like keep an eye out on your emails and ill email you when ive fired up the old machine ready?
:thumbup: Tetra is a Lonely place! Get DMR instead! (163TM995) ...... :thumbup:

User avatar
TRON
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 274
Joined: 10 Mar 2011, 22:05

Re: Baofeng UVB5 and FRN

Post by TRON » 19 Mar 2014, 15:44

Got it..
Failing that, I am, and ALWAYS am, connected to:
http://www.freeradionetwork.eu/
Server: 001english-eu.no-ip.org
Port: 10026
Net: Digital

Not very busy on there, so we won't be disturbing anyone.

User avatar
welshevo
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 283
Joined: 13 Jun 2013, 07:55
Call Sign: 163TM995
Location: Cardiff
Contact:

Re: Baofeng UVB5 and FRN

Post by welshevo » 19 Mar 2014, 15:48

Great if you hear a lot of mumbo jumbo from a user (EB11-welshevo) then that will be me!!
:thumbup: Tetra is a Lonely place! Get DMR instead! (163TM995) ...... :thumbup:

User avatar
Mad4radio
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 185
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 15:43
Location: West Yorkshire

Re: Baofeng UVB5 and FRN

Post by Mad4radio » 19 Mar 2014, 15:51

Ok tron liking the comments pal, no help from Alan at all buddy.... Me & a local station ended up sorting it out & turned out it was a simple grounding issue from the interface to the radio, but all is well now (whoop whoop) my gateways online or will be online in Wesley's room just a few down from the muppets feel free to give us a yell & we can bog off into one of the private rooms... Look for the one in west yorks bradford ;-)

User avatar
welshevo
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 283
Joined: 13 Jun 2013, 07:55
Call Sign: 163TM995
Location: Cardiff
Contact:

Re: Baofeng UVB5 and FRN

Post by welshevo » 19 Mar 2014, 15:57

Mad4Radio - im thinking of doing the same getting a few S780's Kirisun jobbies....heard the Gnd cable can blow the audio chips? so want to look into a bit more before i spend some ££ but hey im willing to try hahah ....and thanks for the help Tron and Mad4radio!!!
:thumbup: Tetra is a Lonely place! Get DMR instead! (163TM995) ...... :thumbup:

User avatar
TRON
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 274
Joined: 10 Mar 2011, 22:05

Re: Baofeng UVB5 and FRN

Post by TRON » 19 Mar 2014, 16:02

Kirisun's need COMPLETE isolation. The Mic, Spk and PTT Grounds all have to stay separate. I'd have to see one of these interfaces to see if they can do it, or whether they share a common ground for the radio (like the Signalink).

User avatar
welshevo
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 283
Joined: 13 Jun 2013, 07:55
Call Sign: 163TM995
Location: Cardiff
Contact:

Re: Baofeng UVB5 and FRN

Post by welshevo » 19 Mar 2014, 16:11

yep thought as much! what a nightmare! if i could make use of the interface i have then it may not be so bad? :D...but who knows....ill have to order a pair and see what happens...
:thumbup: Tetra is a Lonely place! Get DMR instead! (163TM995) ...... :thumbup:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest