Help regard Hytera and Motorola speaking to each other

The place to discuss Commercial & Private licensed hand held & mobile transceivers, as well as imported hand held and mobile transceivers.
Post Reply
jabba2005
Regular
Regular
Posts: 19
Joined: 20 May 2015, 05:27

Help regard Hytera and Motorola speaking to each other

Post by jabba2005 » 05 Aug 2018, 19:15

Hi guys and gals,

Im about pulling my hair out (not that theres much) trying to get my new hytera PD785G to work along side my Motorola which i use at work, i have placed all frequencies and colour codes and slots etc... but i find that any that are Dual Capacity mode work work.....someone said use the Psuedo Trunk but that doesnt work either. have i done something wrong or do they not talk each way as its only the Hytera not able to talk back etc...

any help is appreciated.

andy

scottyboy
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 696
Joined: 12 Jul 2010, 16:41
Location: scotland, lanarkshire

Re: Help regard Hytera and Motorola speaking to each other

Post by scottyboy » 06 Aug 2018, 15:11

Is it possible the Motorola is using encryption
2M0SRM

Quansheng tg-uv2
yaesu FT-7900E
Motorola DP3600 UHF + VHF
MTH800
MTP850s
SRH3800
CM-9000
MTM5400

User avatar
Metradio
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 309
Joined: 28 Apr 2016, 19:10
Call Sign: G7HID
Location: Box 500, Slough UK

Re: Help regard Hytera and Motorola speaking to each other

Post by Metradio » 06 Aug 2018, 18:59

scottyboy wrote:
06 Aug 2018, 15:11
Is it possible the Motorola is using encryption
Or RAS - Restricted Access to System, a Motorola security feature to prevent unauthorised radios on to a system or be able to momitor it.. But scanners are still able to monitor a RAS system...
https://www.manualslib.com/manual/79294 ... l?page=336

Mike
Connect Systems CS750 and CS800, Hytera PD-365, Motorola DP4600.
Raspberry Pi 2 and DV4Mini HotSpot.
AOR AR-DV1 Digital Voice Receiver / eSPY on ARD V1.

Whistler WS1088 / TRX-1 / Whistler Q / UBCD3600XLT / WTR Browser.

User avatar
thelad
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1517
Joined: 30 Jan 2012, 20:45
Location: West Yorkshire

Re: Help regard Hytera and Motorola speaking to each other

Post by thelad » 06 Aug 2018, 21:10

I dint think Hytera and Mototrbo would would together in a trunking mode?
Uniden UBC120XLT
Uniden USC230E
Uniden UBC3500XLT
Binatone PMR MR500 x2
Magiksun TM-490 (BF-888) x3
Baofeng BF-888
TTI TSC 100R
Baofeng UVB5
Zastone D900
Icom IC-R6

User avatar
Metradio
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 309
Joined: 28 Apr 2016, 19:10
Call Sign: G7HID
Location: Box 500, Slough UK

Re: Help regard Hytera and Motorola speaking to each other

Post by Metradio » 06 Aug 2018, 21:58

Depends how DMR compliant the radios and the system are..

Mike
Connect Systems CS750 and CS800, Hytera PD-365, Motorola DP4600.
Raspberry Pi 2 and DV4Mini HotSpot.
AOR AR-DV1 Digital Voice Receiver / eSPY on ARD V1.

Whistler WS1088 / TRX-1 / Whistler Q / UBCD3600XLT / WTR Browser.

jabba2005
Regular
Regular
Posts: 19
Joined: 20 May 2015, 05:27

Re: Help regard Hytera and Motorola speaking to each other

Post by jabba2005 » 08 Aug 2018, 12:58

Hey Guys,

Sorry was quiet for a while but i asked a known Youtube personality lol Mr Clements aka Nokiaman and hes said they dont communicate because there in Dual Capacity mode on most of the channels which is pointless as theres no repeater where i am but to change nearly 100 radios just so i can communicate with a hytera is pointless tbh.

Thanks though guys your help and wisdom is gratefully appreciated.

Andy

User avatar
radiosification
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 2453
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 23:52
Location: North London
Contact:

Re: Help regard Hytera and Motorola speaking to each other

Post by radiosification » 10 Aug 2018, 20:23

I think you're getting mixed up. I have never heard of anything called "dual capacity mode". There is capacity plus, which is Motorola's proprietary trunking system. There is also dual capacity direct mode, which is something completely different. Dual capacity direct mode lets two people talk on a single frequency at the same time, by getting the radios to synchronise timing. I doubt the system you want to use is using dual capacity direct mode given that you said they have nearly 100 radios. It sounds like it must be a capacity plus system.

Hytera radios will not work properly on capacity plus systems. You could set it up to listen only, by setting it to scan all the frequencies in the system, but you couldn't get it to talk reliably to the other radios.

Pseudo trunk is Hytera's version of MotoTRBO capacity plus but is not compatible. They're both proprietary systems that do basically the same thing though.
If you're interested in digital voice, check out my YouTube channel:
http://www.youtube.com/radiosification

User avatar
bigbloke
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1399
Joined: 25 Aug 2008, 17:53
Location: Nominally Newport (South Wales) but potentially "anywhere"
Contact:

Re: Help regard Hytera and Motorola speaking to each other

Post by bigbloke » 26 Oct 2018, 13:57

DCDM is essentially tier2 two slot simplex which is a feature deployed by Hytera.

One radio has to be the ad-hoc network master , the rest derive slave timings from
the master - without that you would never have defined timeslot boundaries for simplex operation

I dont believe either GEN 1 or GEN 2 Motorolas support DCDM . I know some of the chinese
(e.g. RT-82 / MD9600) support it.

so if youre integrating one hytera into a fleet of Motorolas then turn off DCDM!

If you're trying to go the other way (fleet of DCDM enabled Hyteras and a single motorola) then to the best of my knowledge
it isnt going to work.

regards

BB

User avatar
radiosification
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 2453
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 23:52
Location: North London
Contact:

Re: Help regard Hytera and Motorola speaking to each other

Post by radiosification » 07 Nov 2018, 22:27

bigbloke wrote:
26 Oct 2018, 13:57
DCDM is essentially tier2 two slot simplex which is a feature deployed by Hytera.

One radio has to be the ad-hoc network master , the rest derive slave timings from
the master - without that you would never have defined timeslot boundaries for simplex operation

I dont believe either GEN 1 or GEN 2 Motorolas support DCDM . I know some of the chinese
(e.g. RT-82 / MD9600) support it.

so if youre integrating one hytera into a fleet of Motorolas then turn off DCDM!

If you're trying to go the other way (fleet of DCDM enabled Hyteras and a single motorola) then to the best of my knowledge
it isnt going to work.

regards

BB
Gen 1 radios don't but gen 2 radios do. My DP4800 works perfectly well on DCDM.
If you're interested in digital voice, check out my YouTube channel:
http://www.youtube.com/radiosification

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests