My "new" Sepura SRH3800W with 7.2 Software

The place to discuss Commercial & Private licensed hand held & mobile transceivers, as well as imported hand held and mobile transceivers.
bytehunter73
New User
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: 02 Jul 2016, 08:11

My "new" Sepura SRH3800W with 7.2 Software

Postby bytehunter73 » 20 Nov 2016, 09:28

Hello!

Many thanks for reading my thread.
Since yesterday I m owner of a Sepura SRH3800W TW. Radio Soft is 1631 006 01002. I think, it´s the Release 7.2

Are there diffrent cables to programm the SRH?
Is it possible to work overa DMO Repeater with it?

Best regards

Chris

JohnB57
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 137
Joined: 18 Jun 2010, 14:25
Call Sign: G0SJB
Location: New Mill, Holmfirth, UK

Re: My "new" Sepura SRH3800W with 7.2 Software

Postby JohnB57 » 24 Nov 2016, 20:09

Hi Chris. Welcome to TX1.

In the absence of any responses from the Tetrologists on here, I felt your thread deserved a bump, if only because I'm interested in what they have to say too.

I'm afraid I can't think of any way you can use this legally. IF you have a ham licence AND you could tune and align it on suitable 70cm frequencies, you would be able to use it in DMO mode if you could find someone to talk to. As far as I'm aware though, the Sepura won't tune higher than 430MHz, which effectively means that even with a ham licence it's unusable as you would still be transmitting out of band. Also, DMO range is quite poor.

In terms of using formal Tetra infrastructure, forget it. It won't work. If by "repeater" you mean through a mobile terminal in "Gateway" mode, these are not fixed repeaters but normally vehicle mounted terminals that extend portable range on the edge of coverage and the same infrastructure restriction applies. If you can tune it to 446, it would be over power and you'd be pretty much on your own.

However, someone out there may know something I don't so I'm interested in learning. Maybe you could let us know what you anticipated using it for?

User avatar
LeakyFeeder
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1875
Joined: 07 Feb 2011, 23:00
Location: In the BedWreck Cafe

Re: My "new" Sepura SRH3800W with 7.2 Software

Postby LeakyFeeder » 24 Nov 2016, 22:58

Welcome to the forum...

Not sure what ur going to use the Sepura for but in all honesty u wud be best getting shut and making a few bob from one of the Walts who flouce about with Tetra gear...

User avatar
welshevo
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 279
Joined: 13 Jun 2013, 07:55
Call Sign: 163TM995
Location: Cardiff
Contact:

Re: My "new" Sepura SRH3800W with 7.2 Software

Postby welshevo » 25 Nov 2016, 09:16

they SRH/ SRP use the same cable... as for programming yuo will need radio manager 2 as the V6.1 software available online wont read it ...and Radio manager 2 is expensive! as is the cable! but you can program them up to do what ever in Radio manager , DMO , TMO, SDS etc :) hope this helps... regards
:thumbup: Tetra is a Lonely place! Get DMR instead! (163TM995) ...... :thumbup:

User avatar
welshevo
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 279
Joined: 13 Jun 2013, 07:55
Call Sign: 163TM995
Location: Cardiff
Contact:

Re: My "new" Sepura SRH3800W with 7.2 Software

Postby welshevo » 25 Nov 2016, 09:21

Also too add.. being a TW band 380-430... you can program on the edge of 430mhz so your within the 70cms licence as many tetra users on here use... if you bought the radio off ebay from bluehat or dale at jd comms... they normally program up a talkgroup as TG1 if i remember correctly... simple way to find out is on the handheld do *477 enter the service menu ... use the softkeys to scroll across and on one of the tabs it will show you the freq :)
:thumbup: Tetra is a Lonely place! Get DMR instead! (163TM995) ...... :thumbup:

JohnB57
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 137
Joined: 18 Jun 2010, 14:25
Call Sign: G0SJB
Location: New Mill, Holmfirth, UK

Re: My "new" Sepura SRH3800W with 7.2 Software

Postby JohnB57 » 25 Nov 2016, 16:03

If you program it on 430MHz, you will be transmitting out of band. Some people may risk doing it, but it's illegal and definitely NOT within the terms of the licence.

scottyboy
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 640
Joined: 12 Jul 2010, 16:41
Location: scotland, lanarkshire

Re: My "new" Sepura SRH3800W with 7.2 Software

Postby scottyboy » 25 Nov 2016, 17:33

ok lets not go down the right, wrong, legal, ilegal route.
many folk have dabbled with tetra as a matter of interest and to develop knowledge on how it works etc.
some folk use it on 430.000MHz and right or wrong its not my concern, same as certain hams and non hams use pmr446 blasting 20W plus from base radios. once again not my concern.
uk general channels being used without a licence as whats the chances of getting asked for your licence due to the amount of users in the uk etc etc.
if it bothers someone that much then you know the relevent channels you should go down to address it.

back to tetra, repeater mode on any capable sepura requires a licence code to be written as part of the programming as far as im aware, these cost around £300 just for the privilage.
cleartone cm9000 needs a pincode
and motorola mtp850/ 850s and mtm5400 can be done in the cps.
other models may also be compatible but i have not had them in my possesion so cannot comment on them.

you can work through any tetra repeater with the srh3800 as long as the talkgroup is programmed the same as the repeater talkgroup.
also depends on your location as to the chances of any other tetra users being in your area.
plenty of tetra radios owned in the uk be private individuals but how many are being used is a different story.
2M0SRM

Quansheng tg-uv2
yaesu FT-7900E
Motorola DP3600 UHF + VHF
MTH800
MTP850s
SRH3800
CM-9000
MTM5400

JohnB57
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 137
Joined: 18 Jun 2010, 14:25
Call Sign: G0SJB
Location: New Mill, Holmfirth, UK

Re: My "new" Sepura SRH3800W with 7.2 Software

Postby JohnB57 » 25 Nov 2016, 17:48

scottyboy wrote:ok lets not go down the right, wrong, legal, ilegal route.

Why not? Cos you say so?

scottyboy
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 640
Joined: 12 Jul 2010, 16:41
Location: scotland, lanarkshire

Re: My "new" Sepura SRH3800W with 7.2 Software

Postby scottyboy » 25 Nov 2016, 17:54

no because it gets a bit boring after a while.
2M0SRM

Quansheng tg-uv2
yaesu FT-7900E
Motorola DP3600 UHF + VHF
MTH800
MTP850s
SRH3800
CM-9000
MTM5400

User avatar
Admiral
Legend
Legend
Posts: 9131
Joined: 08 Mar 2011, 21:20
Call Sign: 26TM157
Location: NORTH CAMBS UK

Re: My "new" Sepura SRH3800W with 7.2 Software

Postby Admiral » 25 Nov 2016, 20:55

I think it's a fair point for someone to point out the legality or otherwise of a scenario, and I also think it's fair for others to point out what is capable if the user knows the previously pointed out T&C's, it's probably not so great for a bitchfest about who has the moral high ground.

And it's also a fair point that I know bugger all about TETRA.

bytehunter73
New User
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: 02 Jul 2016, 08:11

Re: My "new" Sepura SRH3800W with 7.2 Software

Postby bytehunter73 » 11 Dec 2016, 10:16

Hi!

Many, many thanks for your answers.
Yes, I want to use it for ham radio, like my MTP850 too.
Can I work with it, when a DMO Repeater is avaible? The SRH3800W should not work as a repeater, only passive.

Best regards!!!!

tetramoo
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 186
Joined: 07 Jul 2010, 18:22
Location: United Kingdom

Re: My "new" Sepura SRH3800W with 7.2 Software

Postby tetramoo » 15 Dec 2016, 21:22

Hi there, I had a TW 380-430MHz band Sepura SRH3800 and as you will be already aware they won't program over the band edge like the Motorola Tetra radios, so subsequently you have the option to procure a UO band 440-473"MHz or the TG band 400-433"MHz which is even better.
Mind you DMO is that crap I doubt you would ever interfere with anyone even If you TX'd in the TT band of 380-400MHz AW allocated radio spectrum.

bytehunter73
New User
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: 02 Jul 2016, 08:11

Re: My "new" Sepura SRH3800W with 7.2 Software

Postby bytehunter73 » 12 Feb 2017, 11:11

Hi there.
Yes, I´ve try to edit the SQL, but the radio won´t accept the new band edge. :-(
I´ve buyed now a SRH3800 in TG Band. That´s easier... ;-)

Many thanks for your help.
BR


Return to “Licensed (Commercial & Imported Transceivers)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest