TYT MD380 squelch...what ?

The place to discuss Commercial & Private licensed hand held & mobile transceivers, as well as imported hand held and mobile transceivers.
User avatar
WhiteNoisePoetry
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 380
Joined: 31 Aug 2011, 16:15
Location: Over the hills and far away.

TYT MD380 squelch...what ?

Postby WhiteNoisePoetry » 19 Mar 2016, 10:13

Just noticed that the MD380 I have in my hands only has two squelch settings - normal and tight.

All very well, but what are the levels and how can they be controlled ?

Can't see nowt in the software yet.

73 de WNP

User avatar
Admiral
Legend
Legend
Posts: 9503
Joined: 08 Mar 2011, 21:20
Call Sign: 26TM157
Location: MK-UK

Re: TYT MD380 squelch...what ?

Postby Admiral » 19 Mar 2016, 19:06

You can use the 'buttons definitions' to program a function button to toggle between normal and tight, I can't tell the difference so far.
Winner of the 2017 IBTL 'Summer Sizzler' competition, and holder of the TM1 IBTL Golden Willy Trophy.

User avatar
WhiteNoisePoetry
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 380
Joined: 31 Aug 2011, 16:15
Location: Over the hills and far away.

Re: TYT MD380 squelch...what ?

Postby WhiteNoisePoetry » 20 Mar 2016, 08:08

Admiral wrote:You can use the 'buttons definitions' to program a function button to toggle between normal and tight, I can't tell the difference so far.


I wonder what the actual levels are (-dbm) ?

Never seen a radio with just two levels ;-)

73 de WNP

GeeFull
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1204
Joined: 28 Mar 2014, 12:27

Re: TYT MD380 squelch...what ?

Postby GeeFull » 20 Mar 2016, 13:50

WhiteNoisePoetry wrote:
Admiral wrote:You can use the 'buttons definitions' to program a function button to toggle between normal and tight, I can't tell the difference so far.


I wonder what the actual levels are (-dbm) ?

Never seen a radio with just two levels ;-)

73 de WNP

There have over the years been some PMR based radio's that came with "local/dx" preset squelch threshold levels, usually on screen or button selected, as opposed to a continuously variable squelch threshold "pot".
The old Low VHF band Ascom 550, and its higher in frequency band derivatives being one example.
It sort of made them "none radio savvy", plug and play, idiot proof.
Not really sure who the TYT MD380 was aimed at?

User avatar
WhiteNoisePoetry
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 380
Joined: 31 Aug 2011, 16:15
Location: Over the hills and far away.

Re: TYT MD380 squelch...what ?

Postby WhiteNoisePoetry » 20 Mar 2016, 21:15

Thanks Geeful.
73 de WNP

User avatar
radiosification
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 2390
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 23:52
Location: North London
Contact:

Re: TYT MD380 squelch...what ?

Postby radiosification » 01 Apr 2016, 20:18

All the Motorola DMR equipment only has the two squelch levels too. The TYT is basically a copy of them!
If you're interested in digital voice, check out my YouTube channel:
http://www.youtube.com/radiosification

User avatar
Transmission1
Admin
Admin
Posts: 2874
Joined: 29 Apr 2004, 18:38
Call Sign: 26TM001
Location: East Yorkshire, UK
Contact:

Re: TYT MD380 squelch...what ?

Postby Transmission1 » 24 Aug 2016, 10:37

On side note about the MD380, I used mine on holiday recently and we used the radio in standard analog FM mode and it seems to be a very good performer, better than I expected. The squelch levels seemed about right and kept the radio silent between transmissions.

The only thing that annoys me slightly about the MD-380 is the scanning feature. I programmed one of the side keys to operate the scan function and it works fine but the radio shows the channel you have selected until it stops on an active channel, then it shows the name that you've programmed into the memory location. I know it shows a symbol on the display to indicate scanning but it would be nice if the display showed the channel changing as it scans. I'm guessing this is done to keep the scan rate higher as the processor in the radio has less to do when not driving the display.
Simon, 26TM001 - East Yorkshire, UK
Founder of Transmission1 & Tango Mike 26 Division Co-ordinator
http://www.tangomike.net/

User avatar
Metradio
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 193
Joined: 28 Apr 2016, 19:10
Call Sign: G7HID
Location: Box 500, Slough UK

Re: TYT MD380 squelch...what ?

Postby Metradio » 24 Aug 2016, 13:12

Bear in mind the squelch settings are only used in analogue mode...

Mike
Connect Systems CS750 and CS800, Hytera PD-365, Motorola DP4600.
Raspberry Pi 2 and DV4Mini HotSpot.
AOR AR-DV1 Digital Voice Receiver / eSPY on ARD V1.

Whistler WS1088 / TRX-1 / Whistler Q / UBCD3600XLT.

User avatar
bigbloke
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1354
Joined: 25 Aug 2008, 17:53
Location: Nominally Newport (South Wales) but potentially "anywhere"
Contact:

Re: TYT MD380 squelch...what ?

Postby bigbloke » 24 Aug 2016, 20:55

Metradio wrote:Bear in mind the squelch settings are only used in analogue mode...
Mike



i can assure you , having had one on a dmr test set in the lab , that for DMR leave squelch to "normal".

its not greyed out in the CPS for a reason.

Regards

BB

troffasky
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 326
Joined: 18 Jul 2010, 14:58

Re: TYT MD380 squelch...what ?

Postby troffasky » 24 Dec 2016, 13:37

Transmission1 wrote:The only thing that annoys me slightly about the MD-380 is the scanning feature. I programmed one of the side keys to operate the scan function and it works fine but the radio shows the channel you have selected until it stops on an active channel, then it shows the name that you've programmed into the memory location. I know it shows a symbol on the display to indicate scanning but it would be nice if the display showed the channel changing as it scans. I'm guessing this is done to keep the scan rate higher as the processor in the radio has less to do when not driving the display.


You could try the third-party firmware [if you haven't already] and post a feature request here if it doesn't do it: https://github.com/travisgoodspeed/md380tools/issues

User avatar
radiosification
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 2390
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 23:52
Location: North London
Contact:

Re: TYT MD380 squelch...what ?

Postby radiosification » 26 Dec 2016, 23:23

I've never seen a commercial radio that could do that. I don't honestly see the point. There is an icon on the screen to show it's scanning. Showing the channels changing probably wastes battery and processor time as you said Troffasky. They already have lots of feature requests to deal with on the md380tools project.
If you're interested in digital voice, check out my YouTube channel:
http://www.youtube.com/radiosification


Return to “Licensed (Commercial & Imported Transceivers)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests