MotoTrbo codeplug versions and questions

The place to discuss Commercial & Private licensed hand held & mobile transceivers, as well as imported hand held and mobile transceivers.
wheelbarrow
Regular
Regular

MotoTrbo codeplug versions and questions

Post by wheelbarrow »

Hi, I'm fairly new to Mototrbo programming, can do the basics ok and am familiar with other Moto CPS such as their MPT CPS and Tetra Plus CPS and I have a hyperthetical question:

Scenario: customer has DP3600 bought 3 years ago that I supplied, programmed and kept a codeplug for reference. He wants to buy some more and have them programmed the same. So as far as I can see the only way is to get one of his old radios (or one of same firmware), upgrade the firmware to the current version, read the radio to get the upgraded codeplug which his new DP3600's would accept. Hope that makes sense?

Now what if you can't get access to his old radios (or I don't have my own same version firmware DP3600) to do the upgrade, is there any other way to upgrade the codeplug that I have from the original programming?

I know that with MPT CPS and Tetra Plus CPS I can upgrade the codeplug in the CPS but I can't seem to find this in MotoTrbo?

Sorry for the long winded post, from this Trbo noob :D
benw18

Re: MotoTrbo codeplug versions and questions

Post by benw18 »

No, you can only upgrade via the CPS (assuming you have access to MOL to download the latest CPS & FW).

What version of CPS and Firmware are you using? Even the newest CPS can read the oldest firmware versions.

If you have an original codeplug saved just use that as a reference and create a new one (for the new radios) and use the 'clone' feature when programming. Just make sure you change I.D's and other parameters on a per radio basis.

If the firmware is 3 years old on the original radio it needs updating as there have been some huge changes since then.
wheelbarrow
Regular
Regular

Post by wheelbarrow »