Tetra. Is anyone else using it?

The place to discuss Commercial & Private licensed hand held & mobile transceivers, as well as imported hand held and mobile transceivers.
User avatar
Dagnabbit
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 406
Joined: 01 Mar 2012, 13:05

Re: Tetra. Is anyone else using it?

Post by Dagnabbit » 27 Sep 2012, 14:07

No I don't, obviously not :D
but would you please mind clarifying, out of interest, do you use yours in some kind of TMO, straightforward DMO, or repeated DMO? Enlighten us please, what these things are capable of and how easy it is.
thanks

User avatar
TRON
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 276
Joined: 10 Mar 2011, 22:05

Re: Tetra. Is anyone else using it?

Post by TRON » 27 Sep 2012, 15:32

{bnghd} {bnghd} {bnghd} {bnghd} {bnghd} {bnghd} {bnghd} {bnghd}

This thread is going nowhere. If i was an admin, I'd simply delete it.

The title of the thread is "Tetra. Is anyone else using it?".

It is not "Dilute this thread with questions about Tetra".

Never mind guys.. Enjoy your Pye Westminsters. I'm GENUINELY sorry that I started a thread with the intention of getting Tetra users together for the purposes of sharing resources and knowledge.

{bnghd} {bnghd} {bnghd} {bnghd} {bnghd} {bnghd} {bnghd} {bnghd}

User avatar
Guzzy
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 4969
Joined: 24 Feb 2005, 02:33
Call Sign: 26TM002
Location: Kent
Contact:

Re: Tetra. Is anyone else using it?

Post by Guzzy » 27 Sep 2012, 15:57

Seeing as Tron has reported ten separate posts in this thread as being 'off topic', I guess he's not to happy with people derailing his thread.

Please keep this thread on topic: 'Tetra, is anyone else using it?'

If you want to discuss some other aspect of TETRA or its usage, please create a new thread, it's not a big effort and helps keep the forums useful.

Thanks. ;)
If you see a spam (or abusive) post, don't 'reply' to it, don't 'quote' it, don't start a new thread discussing it.
Report it using the Image ('Report this post') button, inside the actual spam post.

User avatar
TRON
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 276
Joined: 10 Mar 2011, 22:05

Re: Tetra. Is anyone else using it?

Post by TRON » 27 Sep 2012, 16:21

Many thanks Guzzy.

For those who ARE interested, I will be creating a new thread in which I will illustrate, in excruciating detail, exactly how I am using Tetra terminals. Pictures, circuit diagrams, suppliers.. the works.

User avatar
LeakyFeeder
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1922
Joined: 07 Feb 2011, 23:00
Location: In the BedWreck Cafe

Re: Tetra. Is anyone else using it?

Post by LeakyFeeder » 27 Sep 2012, 16:32

I havnt a clue how Tetra actually works.... but as i said earlier i will be using it (airwave) soon as it will be part of my job....

Would be nice to know exactly what makes it tick an the nitty gritty of the system... but seeing as my lack of knowledge on the subject makes me look 'small' then i will look/ask elsewhere..... :roll:

Only on the internet eh... ;)

User avatar
TRON
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 276
Joined: 10 Mar 2011, 22:05

Re: Tetra. Is anyone else using it?

Post by TRON » 27 Sep 2012, 16:48

Your lack of knowledge on the subject does not make you look small. On the other hand, you weren't posting meaningless drivel in the hope of making it LOOK like you had some knowledge on the subject either. Unlike others.

Tetra is a totally open standard, so every detail about how it works is publicly available.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Terrestrial_Trunked_Radio
http://www.etsi.org/website/technologies/tetra.aspx

This information can be had on paper copy by writing to the relevant body, but otherwise yes, "Only on the internet ... ;)"

User avatar
Dagnabbit
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 406
Joined: 01 Mar 2012, 13:05

Re: Tetra. Is anyone else using it?

Post by Dagnabbit » 28 Sep 2012, 08:40

TRON wrote:For those who ARE interested, I will be creating a new thread in which I will illustrate, in excruciating detail, exactly how I am using Tetra terminals. Pictures, circuit diagrams, suppliers.. the works.
Thanks, I look forward to it. I may have been slightly antagonistic earlier due to my irritation with digital taking over from perfectly functional analogue, and if that really annoyed you then I guess I could apologise. But that's what forums are like, it's for open discussion, threads do sometimes deviate, and members usually accept that :)

superdave
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 370
Joined: 08 Jul 2012, 20:10
Call Sign: M6JXP

Re: Tetra. Is anyone else using it?

Post by superdave » 28 Sep 2012, 09:06

TRON wrote:Many thanks Guzzy.

For those who ARE interested, I will be creating a new thread in which I will illustrate, in excruciating detail, exactly how I am using Tetra terminals. Pictures, circuit diagrams, suppliers.. the works.
I look forward to it :)

User avatar
TRON
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 276
Joined: 10 Mar 2011, 22:05

Re: Tetra. Is anyone else using it?

Post by TRON » 28 Sep 2012, 09:48

No drama's.. I regularly have to tolerate abuse from various groups because of my choice of hobby. I've been ejected from multistorey car parks for using radio, I've been told flat out that "Tetra is illegal" etc etc..
So because of all this, its kind of hard to separate the trolls from the genuine information seekers.

I'm not slagging analogue off. Never have, never will. There's nothing intrinsically wrong with analogue.. I just enjoy playing with Tetra thats all, and with all the terminals that are bought and sold on Ebay, I thought that there MUST be one or two on here that would be up for connecting in some way.

phillowe
Regular
Regular
Posts: 67
Joined: 15 Jul 2012, 19:09
Call Sign: M6PHV
Contact:

Re: Tetra. Is anyone else using it?

Post by phillowe » 18 Oct 2012, 23:35

What type of licence would you need for tetra radios

User avatar
TRON
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 276
Joined: 10 Mar 2011, 22:05

Re: Tetra. Is anyone else using it?

Post by TRON » 18 Oct 2012, 23:51

phillowe wrote:What type of licence would you need for tetra radios

PM sent

phillowe
Regular
Regular
Posts: 67
Joined: 15 Jul 2012, 19:09
Call Sign: M6PHV
Contact:

Re: Tetra. Is anyone else using it?

Post by phillowe » 21 Oct 2012, 17:58

So what licence do you need to use tetra radios

User avatar
TRON
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 276
Joined: 10 Mar 2011, 22:05

Re: Tetra. Is anyone else using it?

Post by TRON » 21 Oct 2012, 18:06

phillowe wrote:So what licence do you need to use tetra radios
I sent you a PM with all the details you would need.
I didn't post the details here, as licencing has nothing to do with the title of the thread " Tetra. Is anyone else using it? ".

I also replied (with the EXACT same information) to a similar post you made on another thread, which leads me to believe that you are attempting to troll me.

phillowe
Regular
Regular
Posts: 67
Joined: 15 Jul 2012, 19:09
Call Sign: M6PHV
Contact:

Re: Tetra. Is anyone else using it?

Post by phillowe » 21 Oct 2012, 18:13

I cant find the pm on my phone

User avatar
TRON
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 276
Joined: 10 Mar 2011, 22:05

Re: Tetra. Is anyone else using it?

Post by TRON » 21 Oct 2012, 18:23

phillowe wrote:I cant find the pm on my phone
So you're not using Tetra then?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest