MotoTrbo codeplug versions and questions

The place to discuss Commercial & Private licensed hand held & mobile transceivers, as well as imported hand held and mobile transceivers.
Post Reply
User avatar
wheelbarrow
Regular
Regular
Posts: 55
Joined: 11 Apr 2013, 20:58

MotoTrbo codeplug versions and questions

Post by wheelbarrow » 27 Apr 2013, 20:28

Hi, I'm fairly new to Mototrbo programming, can do the basics ok and am familiar with other Moto CPS such as their MPT CPS and Tetra Plus CPS and I have a hyperthetical question:

Scenario: customer has DP3600 bought 3 years ago that I supplied, programmed and kept a codeplug for reference. He wants to buy some more and have them programmed the same. So as far as I can see the only way is to get one of his old radios (or one of same firmware), upgrade the firmware to the current version, read the radio to get the upgraded codeplug which his new DP3600's would accept. Hope that makes sense?

Now what if you can't get access to his old radios (or I don't have my own same version firmware DP3600) to do the upgrade, is there any other way to upgrade the codeplug that I have from the original programming?

I know that with MPT CPS and Tetra Plus CPS I can upgrade the codeplug in the CPS but I can't seem to find this in MotoTrbo?

Sorry for the long winded post, from this Trbo noob :D

User avatar
benw18
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 363
Joined: 19 May 2011, 14:20

Re: MotoTrbo codeplug versions and questions

Post by benw18 » 27 Apr 2013, 20:46

No, you can only upgrade via the CPS (assuming you have access to MOL to download the latest CPS & FW).

What version of CPS and Firmware are you using? Even the newest CPS can read the oldest firmware versions.

If you have an original codeplug saved just use that as a reference and create a new one (for the new radios) and use the 'clone' feature when programming. Just make sure you change I.D's and other parameters on a per radio basis.

If the firmware is 3 years old on the original radio it needs updating as there have been some huge changes since then.

User avatar
wheelbarrow
Regular
Regular
Posts: 55
Joined: 11 Apr 2013, 20:58

Re: MotoTrbo codeplug versions and questions

Post by wheelbarrow » 28 Apr 2013, 07:31

Hi, yes I have MOL access. I may not have explained very clearly however!
Yes I have latest CPS,: if I read a 3 year old radio (or open the codeplug saved from that 3 year old radio), then try to clone into a new firmware version of the radio it won't let me do it.

When you say "If you have an original codeplug saved just use that as a reference and create a new one" do you mean I'd create a new codeplug from scratch, ie manually copy each field from the old codeplug into my new codeplug? or can the CPS 'upgrade' old codeplugs like it would upgrade an 'old' radio?

Thanks for your assistance so far!

User avatar
benw18
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 363
Joined: 19 May 2011, 14:20

Re: MotoTrbo codeplug versions and questions

Post by benw18 » 28 Apr 2013, 11:50

What version of the CPS are you currently using?

I would advise getting all of the 'old' radios together and updating the Firmware on them. This way you can then just clone each of the new radios as you go.

I'm guessing you are an authorised dealer if you are one of the few that have MOL access?

User avatar
wheelbarrow
Regular
Regular
Posts: 55
Joined: 11 Apr 2013, 20:58

Re: MotoTrbo codeplug versions and questions

Post by wheelbarrow » 28 Apr 2013, 13:40

It's either Version 8.6 Build 453 or the previous release from a couple months back (can't remember as I'm not at work to check at the mo)

Yes I work for an authorised Moto dealer although I'm personally only just getting up to speed on MotoTrbo.

I understand that it's best to update older radios but it seems a thankless task with the rate Moto release new CPS every couple months so wondered about how you can upgrade a codeplug withour having to upgrade an older version radio each and every time.

User avatar
benw18
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 363
Joined: 19 May 2011, 14:20

Re: MotoTrbo codeplug versions and questions

Post by benw18 » 28 Apr 2013, 14:25

You can mix old and new firmware versions, however as you probably know its not a good idea. Features, systems and god knows what else have been changed on a huge scale since 3 years ago.

It is a thankless task, but the 3000 series is to be discontinued later this year. So it probably is worth updating to the latest version as it will be one of the last before the cancellation.

I don't go out and update firmware on systems every time there is a new release- generally once, maybe twice a year during maintenance and repairs. When we update large systems (500+ radios) it can take a couple of days and good organisation to update radios.

User avatar
wheelbarrow
Regular
Regular
Posts: 55
Joined: 11 Apr 2013, 20:58

Re: MotoTrbo codeplug versions and questions

Post by wheelbarrow » 28 Apr 2013, 14:39

benw18 wrote:You can mix old and new firmware versions, however as you probably know its not a good idea. Features, systems and god knows what else have been changed on a huge scale since 3 years ago.

It is a thankless task, but the 3000 series is to be discontinued later this year. So it probably is worth updating to the latest version as it will be one of the last before the cancellation.

I don't go out and update firmware on systems every time there is a new release- generally once, maybe twice a year during maintenance and repairs. When we update large systems (500+ radios) it can take a couple of days and good organisation to update radios.
Yes good point about the 3000 being discontinued, might as well try to get them all up to date....there's nothign quite like a fleet reprogramming session is there! usually at 2am :D

ZACUKABREXIT
Registered New User
Registered New User
Posts: 1
Joined: 14 Oct 2018, 23:54
Call Sign: M3gkx

Re: MotoTrbo codeplug versions and questions

Post by ZACUKABREXIT » 15 Oct 2018, 15:52

Hi all, I’m in need of a clean code plug for a pair of DP3401 UHF, I had a look in the sample plugs that are in the CpS however it’s a VHF plug, any help would be greatly appreciated, FYI I purchased 2 DP3401 off the BaY but both have code plug passwords, I don’t think the wire shark app can decode the passwords anymore hence the need for a clean plug,

Thanks in advance.

Zac.

moj
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 301
Joined: 28 Jun 2011, 12:18
Location: Manchester , Uk

Re: MotoTrbo codeplug versions and questions

Post by moj » 16 Oct 2018, 05:32

just curious why your name is zac and your callsign say's that your name is jame's ??

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests