DMR (TDMA) 446

Licence free two-way radio services that now includes both FM and digital channels. Discuss models, modifications and other similar worldwide standards such as FRS and GMRS.
pete_uk
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 565
Joined: 16 Jun 2008, 11:52
Location: Stroud, Gloucestershire

DMR (TDMA) 446

Postby pete_uk » 27 Aug 2016, 20:52

Whats the consensus on 'DMR 446' settings?

I went to program my Hytera PD785 (as used on the BBT TV series Red Rock!) when I suddenly realised I couldn't leave the colour code blank like the CTCSS on analogue 446. Are these things set with a default? They need to talk to each other so it can't be that different surly??

User avatar
bigbloke
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1277
Joined: 25 Aug 2008, 17:53
Location: Nominally Newport (South Wales) but potentially "anywhere"
Contact:

Re: DMR (TDMA) 446

Postby bigbloke » 28 Aug 2016, 13:02

sadly there is no consensus - as far as I know theres only three of us using it. :-)

I have left a scan running for eight weeks on 446.1-446.200 into a high gain antenna and preamp,
with all logging to disk.

total DMR hits other than my own were nil ! and my location covers a good 50-70 radial miles.

Still quite a few analogue licences active in the band and a good few people using analogue
for "private nets" of an evening.

beyond that i found a couple of people over bristol way using P25 on there but thats it

regards

BB

User avatar
bigbloke
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1277
Joined: 25 Aug 2008, 17:53
Location: Nominally Newport (South Wales) but potentially "anywhere"
Contact:

Re: DMR (TDMA) 446

Postby bigbloke » 28 Aug 2016, 13:04

somewhere there was another thread on here where we tried to kick of a consensus - but no one could agree so the thread went cold

User avatar
radiosification
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 2348
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 23:52
Location: North London
Contact:

Re: DMR (TDMA) 446

Postby radiosification » 07 Sep 2016, 18:05

Personally I use a colour code of 1, because that's what all the other users in my area use. I think it's a bit like how channel 1 on normal PMR446 seems to get used more, because it's just the first channel there when you turn the radio on for the first time usually. And with colour codes, usually 1 is already there in the box when you create a new channel.
If you're interested in digital, check out my YouTube channel:
http://www.youtube.com/radiosification

User avatar
bigbloke
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1277
Joined: 25 Aug 2008, 17:53
Location: Nominally Newport (South Wales) but potentially "anywhere"
Contact:

Re: DMR (TDMA) 446

Postby bigbloke » 21 Sep 2016, 11:29

conversely - I would not choose an out of the box setting as it will be full of kids, muppets, bike schools and crane banksmen - if analogue 1:00 and 1:01
are anything to go by

User avatar
owza
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 295
Joined: 16 May 2011, 10:26
Call Sign: 2E0
Location: NW

Re: DMR (TDMA) 446

Postby owza » 21 Sep 2016, 12:22

Colour code 1 is the default for ham DMR simplex as well.

handyguy2002
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 423
Joined: 20 Mar 2011, 20:01
Location: near newcastle

Re: DMR (TDMA) 446

Postby handyguy2002 » 28 Oct 2016, 17:24

I think we all need to have a vote to find out the best option then go from there. After all we have a channel for transmission group operating on channel 8 code 8 . 8th of every month maybe we could do that for digital
Binatone 950
QuanSheng TG-UV2
Wouxun KG-UVD1P
Wouxun KG-UVD1P
Kirisun S780
Uniden UBC3500XLT +BCT15x + BCD396t +BCD536 hp
TYT 380 HYTERA PD505

User avatar
bigbloke
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1277
Joined: 25 Aug 2008, 17:53
Location: Nominally Newport (South Wales) but potentially "anywhere"
Contact:

Re: DMR (TDMA) 446

Postby bigbloke » 29 Oct 2016, 22:34

Well if were of a mind to comply with european groups the decision is made for us it seems:

http://dmr446.hamstation.eu/index_en.htm

makes it easier ?

regards

BB

User avatar
AshtonMobileScanner
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 475
Joined: 25 Oct 2011, 12:49
Call Sign: 26TM931
Location: Dukinfield, Tameside

Re: DMR (TDMA) 446

Postby AshtonMobileScanner » 29 Oct 2016, 23:49

I use CC1 G1 S1

Motorola UHF DP3600 x2,
Golden One 1907,
Baofeng UV5RA+,
Diamond RH771 Antenna,
UHF Stubby Antenna,
Diamond X-30 Antenna,
MASS SPS 250 MK2.

(Monitor All Channels)
CALLSIGN: 26 TM 931 / 26 CT 931

User avatar
gmham
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1395
Joined: 13 Aug 2009, 11:27

Re: DMR (TDMA) 446

Postby gmham » 02 Jan 2017, 11:03

Going to give 446mhz digital a try, could someone advise me the latest legal 446mhz dmr freqs ? also belive officially the 446mhz digital uses a slightly different system can we programe our tyt / zastone D900 radios with this particular requirment ?
- Yaesu FT991 - Superstar 360FM / Alinco DR 135DX / Maxcom 30E / Ameritron ALS-600X - Cushcraft r6000 / Carolina windom 80s / Heil PR40 / W2IHY.

108-TM-154 - John


***********

User avatar
Admiral
Legend
Legend
Posts: 8479
Joined: 08 Mar 2011, 21:20
Call Sign: 26TM157
Location: NORTH CAMBS UK

Re: DMR (TDMA) 446

Postby Admiral » 02 Jan 2017, 11:21

DMR.PNG


Just a note, obvisously the equipment you quote is not legal for this band, but hey, I doubt you'll find too much activity, but it's fun if you have some like minded mates, and a good opportunity to dabble with encryption too ;)

Just make sure you don't use your ham RID (that's why I have two radios) :lol:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
gmham
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1395
Joined: 13 Aug 2009, 11:27

Re: DMR (TDMA) 446

Postby gmham » 02 Jan 2017, 12:02

Yep thanks ! Not got a DMR ID set up anyway so okay there ! Appreciate that the radio is not legal for this particular band but not sure if that's purely down to the output power or if the DMR type system used is not used on our radios ?

You mention encryption which I am sure you advised before is just another layer off security from non encrypted DMR signals to casual listeners as in my view DMR although becoming more popular is still relatively rare for listeners especially on 446 MHz ! So encrypted DMR on 446 MHz would be virtually impossible to be listened into ?
- Yaesu FT991 - Superstar 360FM / Alinco DR 135DX / Maxcom 30E / Ameritron ALS-600X - Cushcraft r6000 / Carolina windom 80s / Heil PR40 / W2IHY.

108-TM-154 - John


***********

User avatar
Admiral
Legend
Legend
Posts: 8479
Joined: 08 Mar 2011, 21:20
Call Sign: 26TM157
Location: NORTH CAMBS UK

Re: DMR (TDMA) 446

Postby Admiral » 02 Jan 2017, 12:12

gmham wrote:So encrypted DMR on 446 MHz would be virtually impossible to be listened into ?


It's virtually impossible to listen in on fully encrypted DMR on any band, GCHQ wouldn't be able to earwig without the keys.

User avatar
gmham
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1395
Joined: 13 Aug 2009, 11:27

Re: DMR (TDMA) 446

Postby gmham » 02 Jan 2017, 12:25

Okay thanks interesting to know !
so just set it to the above 446mhz dmr freqs, use CC1 G1 S1 or whatever and I see under privacy which I take it is this encryption mode there is none / basic and advanced strange you would think you either wanted none or advanced not sure where basic would come in ?

Just noticed some off my programmed channels have a little red and blue shield showing at top off screen what this ?
Last edited by gmham on 02 Jan 2017, 12:45, edited 1 time in total.
- Yaesu FT991 - Superstar 360FM / Alinco DR 135DX / Maxcom 30E / Ameritron ALS-600X - Cushcraft r6000 / Carolina windom 80s / Heil PR40 / W2IHY.

108-TM-154 - John


***********

User avatar
Admiral
Legend
Legend
Posts: 8479
Joined: 08 Mar 2011, 21:20
Call Sign: 26TM157
Location: NORTH CAMBS UK

Re: DMR (TDMA) 446

Postby Admiral » 02 Jan 2017, 12:33

Basic are a series of 16bit defaults that the world and his dog know, enhanced means you can set your own personalised 128bit encryption that is almost as good as it gets.


Return to “Licence Free (PMR446/LPD433/SRD860/2.4GHz ISM/SRD49MHz)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests