Gauge of ground wire ?

Do you enjoy making your own equipment or antennas? Discuss construction and design in here.
Chris57tx
Regular
Regular

Gauge of ground wire ?

Post by Chris57tx »

Hi, Could anybody please help me. I am just starting out and am currently in the process of constructing an end feed antenna in my rear garden (Approx 20m with a 9:1 balun) I have driven in an 8 foot copper tube into the ground but am unsure as to what gauge of earth wire i should use, between the ground tube and the antenna. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Regards
Chris
theEarwigger
Call Sign: M0RZF

Re: Gauge of ground wire ?

Post by theEarwigger »

The gauge won't make much difference.

There is no such thing as RF "ground". For example at 30MHz 2.5m of wire (less if insulated) is a quarter wave and looks like an open circuit to the signal. In other words the wire running to the copper tube is part of your antenna and radiates.

Earth stakes do have their uses for safety purposes. Use green/yellow stuff like this -
https://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Products/CA6SGY.html
kr0ne
Veteran
Veteran

Post by kr0ne »

You want to put your RF ground point as close to the antenna feedpoint (your 9:1 balun) as possible and you want to connect to it with something far more substantial than the wire used for a mains safety earth.

The braid from a bit of RG213 works well but keep the connection as short as possible. ;)
Tigersaw
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Call Sign: GW6RRL

Post by Tigersaw »

Agree on using braid rather than wire. Better still attach the 9:1 directly to the earth stake with a copper bracket
Chris57tx
Regular
Regular

Post by Chris57tx »

Many thanks for the advice, it much appreciated.
Regards Chris
Adriano9966
Veteran
Veteran

Post by Adriano9966 »