Monitor interference.

A place to discuss the HF and Shortwave listening side of the radio hobby. Discuss equipment, frequencies and antenna systems etc. Anything HF!
Post Reply
bigbassman
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 518
Joined: 15 Jan 2008, 16:13
Location: Downpatrick,N.Ireland

Monitor interference.

Post by bigbassman » 30 Aug 2018, 12:49

Guys I'm at my wits end with this.No matter what antenna I use with my DX-394,I get severe interference from my computer monitors.I've compared results with the PC switched off and the difference is phenominal.I can do MW DX,aeronautical HF,the lot in relative peace,but the minute I switch the PC on,and those 2 bloody monitors kick into life,and all hell breaks loose.A loud rasping noise blasts over everything,depending whats showing on the screen.A lot of white isn't as noisy as something with a lot of colour,but Jeez,talk about spoiling your enjoyment big time.Is there any way around it,do you think? I've lined the inside of the DX-394 with adhesive metal foil,in the vain hope that it might help,but no.My desk is relatively small,so moving the monitors over a bit isn't really possible.I'll try anything.TIA.
1 X PRO 2006 1 X DX-394 1 X GRE PSR 282 1 X UBC780XLT with ProScan 1 X Pro43 2 X Uniden UBC9000XLT Tristar777 LCL 2740.

User avatar
DX-Digger
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 755
Joined: 27 Jul 2009, 22:01
Call Sign: TM205
Location: ... - --- -.- . --- -. - .-. . -. -

Re: Monitor interference.

Post by DX-Digger » 30 Aug 2018, 13:45

Fit ferrite chokes at each end of the monitor leads
and on the monitor mains cables at the monitor end of the cable.
Infact it could be coming from any lead from your computer.
So ferrites on all leads.
Also add a ferrite to the mains lead of your scanner at the scanner end of the lead.

Image

HTH cheers Mark
ʎɐqǝ uo pɹɐoqʎǝʞ ɐ ʎnq ı ǝɯıʇ ʇsɐן ǝɥʇ sı sıɥʇ

bigbassman
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 518
Joined: 15 Jan 2008, 16:13
Location: Downpatrick,N.Ireland

Re: Monitor interference.

Post by bigbassman » 30 Aug 2018, 16:27

Thanx Mark,I've taken all that on board and just ordered 10 off Ebay.I sure hope it helps.
1 X PRO 2006 1 X DX-394 1 X GRE PSR 282 1 X UBC780XLT with ProScan 1 X Pro43 2 X Uniden UBC9000XLT Tristar777 LCL 2740.

User avatar
andymuza
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 2075
Joined: 05 Oct 2014, 22:19

Re: Monitor interference.

Post by andymuza » 30 Aug 2018, 17:14

Does your monitor have a built in PSU or external one?
What connection from PC are you using, HDMI, VGA or Display Port?
What is your GPU?
I will not be commanded, I will not be controlled.
n+1 the formula for working out how many radios you need with n being the current amount.

Cornelius
Regular
Regular
Posts: 21
Joined: 23 Nov 2017, 12:21
Call Sign: Cornelius
Location: Grimstad, Norway

Re: Monitor interference.

Post by Cornelius » 30 Aug 2018, 17:32

You probably have an earthing problem... Try to connect a wire from chassis of your computer to the chassis of your radio...

Just try... :)

(I know it's not the right way, but...)

bigbassman
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 518
Joined: 15 Jan 2008, 16:13
Location: Downpatrick,N.Ireland

Re: Monitor interference.

Post by bigbassman » 30 Aug 2018, 19:01

andymuza wrote:
30 Aug 2018, 17:14
Does your monitor have a built in PSU or external one?
What connection from PC are you using, HDMI, VGA or Display Port?
What is your GPU?
Monitors have built in power supplies
VGA connections
GPUs are Nvidia GeForce 310.
1 X PRO 2006 1 X DX-394 1 X GRE PSR 282 1 X UBC780XLT with ProScan 1 X Pro43 2 X Uniden UBC9000XLT Tristar777 LCL 2740.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests