ACARS and Virtual radar

A place to discuss airband listening, frequencies and anything related to this area of the hobby.
User avatar
Registration
Banned
Banned
Posts: 121
Joined: 20 Oct 2015, 16:14

Re: ACARS and Virtual radar

Post by Registration » 28 Oct 2015, 20:11

I can reccoment "ACARSDECO2" who can found in many Aircraft Forum. There are several Version out there so search for other.

User avatar
Admiral
Legend
Legend
Posts: 9696
Joined: 08 Mar 2011, 21:20
Call Sign: 26TM157
Location: MK-UK

Re: ACARS and Virtual radar

Post by Admiral » 29 Oct 2015, 14:46

I think they've all gone home mate, 4 years is a long time to wait for an answer.
Winner of the 2017 IBTL 'Summer Sizzler' competition

User avatar
Registration
Banned
Banned
Posts: 121
Joined: 20 Oct 2015, 16:14

Re: ACARS and Virtual radar

Post by Registration » 29 Oct 2015, 14:55

I love ACARSDECO2 because your can decode "unlimited" amount of channels.
You need only an 10€ SDR Dongle for and an good Antenna.

moj
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 298
Joined: 28 Jun 2011, 12:18
Location: Manchester , Uk

Re: ACARS and Virtual radar

Post by moj » 30 Oct 2015, 17:03

ive got one of those airnav boxes but I cant get it working out of the box , I think I have to pay a subscription to get it working so its not used !!

User avatar
Registration
Banned
Banned
Posts: 121
Joined: 20 Oct 2015, 16:14

Re: ACARS and Virtual radar

Post by Registration » 30 Oct 2015, 17:07

hmm i dont have that. does you ever search for an data output?
I can help you a little bit.

moj
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 298
Joined: 28 Jun 2011, 12:18
Location: Manchester , Uk

Re: ACARS and Virtual radar

Post by moj » 30 Oct 2015, 17:38

ideally I think I,m gonna go for a sbs3 box and planeplotter next but I did expect to just plug the antenna in and start receiving data straight away , its a shame my funcube cant pick it up either otherwise id prob go that route .

User avatar
Registration
Banned
Banned
Posts: 121
Joined: 20 Oct 2015, 16:14

Re: ACARS and Virtual radar

Post by Registration » 30 Oct 2015, 17:50

so you want buy a new device for you?
If the answer is yes I can give you some advice who you can save a lot of money.
SDR Dongle give you a chance to play arround and chance something from time to time for a little amount.
Like Filter oder an LNA. If something get broken you have to replace an 20€ part insted of 200€ or what that box cost now.

User avatar
Admiral
Legend
Legend
Posts: 9696
Joined: 08 Mar 2011, 21:20
Call Sign: 26TM157
Location: MK-UK

Re: ACARS and Virtual radar

Post by Admiral » 31 Oct 2015, 11:18

I can save you even more money, use one of the many websites like flightradar24. FREE GRATIS.
Winner of the 2017 IBTL 'Summer Sizzler' competition

User avatar
Registration
Banned
Banned
Posts: 121
Joined: 20 Oct 2015, 16:14

Re: ACARS and Virtual radar

Post by Registration » 31 Oct 2015, 11:21

Maybe you not want to know that the Pages Censored many Flights and the get blocked or not visible.
When you get Raw Data you can see that flights.

neil-c
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1023
Joined: 29 Jul 2009, 20:13
Location: Rotherham, South Yorkshire

Re: ACARS and Virtual radar

Post by neil-c » 31 Oct 2015, 15:05

moj wrote:ive got one of those airnav boxes but I cant get it working out of the box , I think I have to pay a subscription to get it working so its not used !!

You will need to subscribe to use the Airnav network but it should work fine with Planeplotter.
Realistic pro2006, realistic pro2042, Yupiteru 7100, Fairmate HP2000, Degen 1103, ubc3500xlt, Micro-Adsb, Funcube Pro+

User avatar
Registration
Banned
Banned
Posts: 121
Joined: 20 Oct 2015, 16:14

Re: ACARS and Virtual radar

Post by Registration » 31 Oct 2015, 15:35

If he use Virtual Radar Server he can extend his range by sharing with other.
I also search for People who want to extend there range.

pete_uk
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 590
Joined: 16 Jun 2008, 11:52
Location: Stroud, Gloucestershire

Re: ACARS and Virtual radar

Post by pete_uk » 05 Nov 2015, 16:44

with a RTL SDR stick (and Zagid drivers) you can use your pc to decode ADS-B :)

One program lets you share over your home network to be viewed by others.

User avatar
Registration
Banned
Banned
Posts: 121
Joined: 20 Oct 2015, 16:14

Re: ACARS and Virtual radar

Post by Registration » 05 Nov 2015, 16:53

i recommend ModeSdeco2 for. For Sharing Virtual Radar Desktop ist good.
If anyone use it i can help with the configuration.

User avatar
Admiral
Legend
Legend
Posts: 9696
Joined: 08 Mar 2011, 21:20
Call Sign: 26TM157
Location: MK-UK

Re: ACARS and Virtual radar

Post by Admiral » 29 Jan 2016, 16:13

If anyone wants a 'no frills' ACARS program to dip their toe in the water before all the fancy stuff then DPW decodes ACARS as well as pagers.

dpw.PNG

You can change the colours.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Winner of the 2017 IBTL 'Summer Sizzler' competition

Turbo
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 276
Joined: 12 May 2008, 10:12
Location: East Devenport,Tasmania,Australia

Re: ACARS and Virtual radar

Post by Turbo » 30 Jan 2016, 23:07

Hi moj i can highly recomand the Kinetic SBS-3 my location is tasmania which is 450 kilometres from the mainland australia i am using a ZMX Omni ADSB high gain antenna 20 metres of LMR400 coax cable its almost 9 metres high can get aircraft on the mainland and aircraft coming from new zealand i am very happy with the results also i am not sharing my data plus my location is remote also by 2nd of febuary 2017 its mandatory to have adsb equiped in all aircraft in australia.

Regards Lino.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest