Cigar socket to run rig??

The place to talk about specific radios, equipment and accessories. Do you prefer the latest generation of rigs and antennas or do you like the classics? Discuss it here!
Post Reply
Eddie866
Regular
Regular
Posts: 7
Joined: 29 Apr 2018, 19:12
Call Sign: 26tm866
Location: Torbay devon

Cigar socket to run rig??

Post by Eddie866 » 02 May 2018, 15:02

Ok i have just got a anytone 6666 some manuals say 10amp draw some say 15amp draw , my quistion is
My socket in the car is marked 12v 120watts max
Can i run my rig pluged into it
The fuse in the glove compartment is rated at 20amp
Its nearly new car and would be dificult to run cables from engin bay to inside so looking at the easy way out

User avatar
Metradio
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 309
Joined: 28 Apr 2016, 19:10
Call Sign: G7HID
Location: Box 500, Slough UK

Re: Cigar socket to run rig??

Post by Metradio » 02 May 2018, 15:59

12v 120wwatt max =10amp max..
Would suggest you look at the size of the wire connecting the fuse box to the Cigar socket, I bet it is woefully thin !

Mike
Connect Systems CS750 and CS800, Hytera PD-365, Motorola DP4600.
Raspberry Pi 2 and DV4Mini HotSpot.
AOR AR-DV1 Digital Voice Receiver / eSPY on ARD V1.

Whistler WS1088 / TRX-1 / Whistler Q / UBCD3600XLT / WTR Browser.

User avatar
ch25
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 437
Joined: 03 Dec 2016, 11:07
Call Sign: n0call
Location: Poland

Re: Cigar socket to run rig??

Post by ch25 » 02 May 2018, 16:25

No fuse box inside? I would take + lead from there.
6666 and cigar socket can be dangerous.
You can't have too many antennas...

User avatar
Mudslinger
Legend
Legend
Posts: 6752
Joined: 28 Jul 2010, 07:11
Location: Oxfordshire

Re: Cigar socket to run rig??

Post by Mudslinger » 02 May 2018, 16:33

Metradio wrote:
02 May 2018, 15:59
12v 120wwatt max =10amp max..
Would suggest you look at the size of the wire connecting the fuse box to the Cigar socket, I bet it is woefully thin !

Mike
That is assuming that the radio is 100% efficient. It is likely to be around 50% efficient at best, especially if it has Mosfet outputs.

My KL-203p is meant to draw 10A max, but it is more like 16A
Mudslinger - Simon
26TM274
26CT612

There is no such thing as a Fidelity 1000 which is too good to scrap.

User avatar
The Collector
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 4880
Joined: 23 Jan 2010, 19:26
Location: Bristol-ish

Re: Cigar socket to run rig??

Post by The Collector » 04 May 2018, 11:38

As above, run extra +/- cables from fuse box points or directly from the battery. You can drill a small hole and use a grommet to pass them through unless the car's under warranty or you just can't physically get a drill in. Ensure there's a rated fuse in-line regardless.

G8YMW
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 449
Joined: 18 May 2011, 22:17

Re: Cigar socket to run rig??

Post by G8YMW » 05 May 2018, 17:25

On my motor, there is ducting from the heater unit to the passenger side vent.
A grommet where it enters the cabin and has a rubber nipple.
That's where I'm diving in.
Another problem using the ciggie lighter (caused by the mileage and lack of gauge of the wire) is voltage sag under load.
This will cause FM-ing of the audio on ssb (distortion)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests