Problem with antron 99

The place to talk about specific radios, equipment and accessories. Do you prefer the latest generation of rigs and antennas or do you like the classics? Discuss it here!
User avatar
andrew013
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1810
Joined: 17 Aug 2010, 12:41
Call Sign: 26AT013
Location: gateshead tyne and wear

Re: Problem with antron 99

Post by andrew013 » 03 Mar 2018, 09:57

ROTEL240 wrote: ↑
03 Mar 2018, 09:01
trying to check the Swr at the antenna end is a new one on me,
well you need to learn more on how to run a set up then
and just so you know testing at the antenna end or AS CLOSE IT AS POSSIBLE will give a more accurate reading of the swr once you have done that you can then check it at the radio end and see if it has alterd not that it will but it might do so on the meter due to length of coax or run of coax
have you not heard of cut an inch of your coax your swr will drop myth , there are some good books out there that teach you facts not fiction from your next door good buddy who got the info from a friend of a breaker in dip sh1teland from around the corner bar
on air,tyne&wear,northumberland,durham,holy island,eu120+eu124 and anywhere from gateshead/north wales
scrap uk 40 give cbers L/M/Hcalling on 27.355/555 usb qsy 27.015 lsb/410 usb cb radio is for life not just for profits
i do cb radio not 11mtres,countrys worked 2015 with imax 2000 72

User avatar
ROTEL240
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 381
Joined: 01 Dec 2012, 20:10

Re: Problem with antron 99

Post by ROTEL240 » 03 Mar 2018, 11:16

andrew013 wrote: ↑
03 Mar 2018, 09:47
ROTEL240 wrote: ↑
03 Mar 2018, 09:01
how do you check a mag mount at the antenna end.
dead easy chop the coax an inch from the antenna , :roll:
Brilliant I will buy I Β£40 trimag and chop the coax offπŸ™ˆπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. In 30 + years of swring in antennas I have never connected at the antenna end and no issues. πŸ˜€

User avatar
andrew013
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1810
Joined: 17 Aug 2010, 12:41
Call Sign: 26AT013
Location: gateshead tyne and wear

Re: Problem with antron 99

Post by andrew013 » 03 Mar 2018, 11:56

ROTEL240 wrote: ↑
03 Mar 2018, 11:16
andrew013 wrote: ↑
03 Mar 2018, 09:47
ROTEL240 wrote: ↑
03 Mar 2018, 09:01
how do you check a mag mount at the antenna end.
dead easy chop the coax an inch from the antenna , :roll:
Brilliant I will buy I Β£40 trimag and chop the coax offπŸ™ˆπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. In 30 + years of swring in antennas I have never connected at the antenna end and no issues. πŸ˜€
whoop de whooo get yourself a blue peter badge
on air,tyne&wear,northumberland,durham,holy island,eu120+eu124 and anywhere from gateshead/north wales
scrap uk 40 give cbers L/M/Hcalling on 27.355/555 usb qsy 27.015 lsb/410 usb cb radio is for life not just for profits
i do cb radio not 11mtres,countrys worked 2015 with imax 2000 72

User avatar
ROTEL240
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 381
Joined: 01 Dec 2012, 20:10

Re: Problem with antron 99

Post by ROTEL240 » 03 Mar 2018, 12:26

andrew013 wrote: ↑
03 Mar 2018, 11:56
ROTEL240 wrote: ↑
03 Mar 2018, 11:16
andrew013 wrote: ↑
03 Mar 2018, 09:47

dead easy chop the coax an inch from the antenna , :roll:
Brilliant I will buy I Β£40 trimag and chop the coax offπŸ™ˆπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. In 30 + years of swring in antennas I have never connected at the antenna end and no issues. πŸ˜€
whoop de whooo get yourself a blue peter badge
Thanks for the Blue peter badge, and you can have one if you can tell me how to SWR my antenna in 30ft up the pole {bnghd} :D

MrPaul009
Regular
Regular
Posts: 48
Joined: 01 Mar 2018, 07:26
Call Sign: Fb009
Location: Southam/Warwickshire

Re: Problem with antron 99

Post by MrPaul009 » 03 Mar 2018, 12:51

Hi again to all,just been out just to fine tune the t2lt now it's 1.5 channel 1 mid block, channel 40 uk fm it's 1.3.so the antron is going back for a replacement.thanks for the help guys,but I had a gut feeling there was something wrong when I tested it.still bloody cold here couldn't feel my hands messing around.
Regards

User avatar
ROTEL240
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 381
Joined: 01 Dec 2012, 20:10

Re: Problem with antron 99

Post by ROTEL240 » 03 Mar 2018, 12:58

Nice one,my faulty one was doing my head in and after a time you know something is not right after checking the coax and plugs,let us know how your new one performs mate .

User avatar
andrew013
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1810
Joined: 17 Aug 2010, 12:41
Call Sign: 26AT013
Location: gateshead tyne and wear

Re: Problem with antron 99

Post by andrew013 » 03 Mar 2018, 13:20

ROTEL240 wrote: ↑
03 Mar 2018, 12:26
andrew013 wrote: ↑
03 Mar 2018, 11:56
ROTEL240 wrote: ↑
03 Mar 2018, 11:16


Brilliant I will buy I Β£40 trimag and chop the coax offπŸ™ˆπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. In 30 + years of swring in antennas I have never connected at the antenna end and no issues. πŸ˜€
whoop de whooo get yourself a blue peter badge
Thanks for the Blue peter badge, and you can have one if you can tell me how to SWR my antenna in 30ft up the pole {bnghd} :D

no thanks thats your problem not mine you figure it out , i did , tho i did need 2 other people to give me a hand theres a tip for you by the way
on air,tyne&wear,northumberland,durham,holy island,eu120+eu124 and anywhere from gateshead/north wales
scrap uk 40 give cbers L/M/Hcalling on 27.355/555 usb qsy 27.015 lsb/410 usb cb radio is for life not just for profits
i do cb radio not 11mtres,countrys worked 2015 with imax 2000 72

User avatar
Mudslinger
Legend
Legend
Posts: 6744
Joined: 28 Jul 2010, 07:11
Location: Oxfordshire

Re: Problem with antron 99

Post by Mudslinger » 03 Mar 2018, 13:29

You need a cordless SWR meter.
Mudslinger - Simon
26TM274
26CT612

There is no such thing as a Fidelity 1000 which is too good to scrap.

User avatar
ch25
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 377
Joined: 03 Dec 2016, 11:07
Call Sign: n0call
Location: Poland

Re: Problem with antron 99

Post by ch25 » 03 Mar 2018, 13:44

Mudslinger wrote: ↑
03 Mar 2018, 13:29
You need a cordless SWR meter.
Not really. He needs measurement cable length 180 degrees or it's multiplication. Even 75 Ohm :) It will be transparent for measurement device.
Chris
You can't have too many antennas...

User avatar
ROTEL240
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 381
Joined: 01 Dec 2012, 20:10

Re: Problem with antron 99

Post by ROTEL240 » 03 Mar 2018, 14:46

ch25 wrote: ↑
03 Mar 2018, 13:44
Mudslinger wrote: ↑
03 Mar 2018, 13:29
You need a cordless SWR meter.
Not really. He needs measurement cable length 180 degrees or it's multiplication. Even 75 Ohm :) It will be transparent for measurement device.
Chris
Bang on just what I was thinking,swr at the the radio never had any issues so no need to complicate things. Now let me climb up this pole to check my swr which is lower than a rattlesnakes knackers at the radio endπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

MrPaul009
Regular
Regular
Posts: 48
Joined: 01 Mar 2018, 07:26
Call Sign: Fb009
Location: Southam/Warwickshire

Re: Problem with antron 99

Post by MrPaul009 » 03 Mar 2018, 15:54

Come on Calm down guys! I only started the thread off asking about a problem with a new antron.didnt want anyone to get into arguments over it.

User avatar
astradyne
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7253
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 09:28
Location: Dunny On The Wolds
Contact:

Re: Problem with antron 99

Post by astradyne » 03 Mar 2018, 16:58

Things really have been getting out of hand here guys. There's never any need for personal abuse aimed at other forum users no matter what the circumstances.

A couple of posts containing abusive language have been removed and the thread locked to avoid things escalating.

Keep it civil chaps! :D
Never, ever, ever....bloody anything ever!

Far too many radio's to list here. But I do own a legal one...

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests