Problem with antron 99

The place to talk about specific radios, equipment and accessories. Do you prefer the latest generation of rigs and antennas or do you like the classics? Discuss it here!
MrPaul009
Regular
Regular
Posts: 48
Joined: 01 Mar 2018, 07:26
Call Sign: Fb009
Location: Southam/Warwickshire

Problem with antron 99

Post by MrPaul009 » 02 Mar 2018, 14:50

Hi all, not long had a new antron 99 just got round to putting it up and there is a problem with it.i have new coax mini8,swr is 2.5 on uk40 and on the mid block channel 1 it does not move.chanel 40 mid block it's 1.5 iv tired moveing the tuning rings to the top and its still 2.0 on UK 40.took the air choke off to see if that's the problem and its still the same.any ideas guys
Regards, Paul

User avatar
ROTEL240
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 384
Joined: 01 Dec 2012, 20:10

Re: Problem with antron 99

Post by ROTEL240 » 02 Mar 2018, 16:30

I had the same problem with a brand new one out the box ,it was a faulty bottom section so i exchanged it...For a Sirio GPE 27
Last edited by ROTEL240 on 02 Mar 2018, 18:57, edited 1 time in total.

MrPaul009
Regular
Regular
Posts: 48
Joined: 01 Mar 2018, 07:26
Call Sign: Fb009
Location: Southam/Warwickshire

Re: Problem with antron 99

Post by MrPaul009 » 02 Mar 2018, 17:29

Hi there,if I shake the bottom section there's something moving around in there near the tuning rings.iv contacted he seller by phone just waiting for them to get back to me.it was bloody freezing putting it up in the snow,back and forth checking the swr with the rings right to the top still no joy.
Regards

User avatar
ROTEL240
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 384
Joined: 01 Dec 2012, 20:10

Re: Problem with antron 99

Post by ROTEL240 » 02 Mar 2018, 18:12

The rattle inside the a99 is normal and its no fun up and down the ladders to try to get a flat swr hope you get it sorted..

User avatar
Mudslinger
Legend
Legend
Posts: 6752
Joined: 28 Jul 2010, 07:11
Location: Oxfordshire

Re: Problem with antron 99

Post by Mudslinger » 02 Mar 2018, 18:22

The rings should be roughly in the middle unless the top has been cut.
Mudslinger - Simon
26TM274
26CT612

There is no such thing as a Fidelity 1000 which is too good to scrap.

MrPaul009
Regular
Regular
Posts: 48
Joined: 01 Mar 2018, 07:26
Call Sign: Fb009
Location: Southam/Warwickshire

Re: Problem with antron 99

Post by MrPaul009 » 02 Mar 2018, 19:26

Hi,no fun at all in the snow.if I hold the bottom and shake it I can feel something moving behind the tuning rings.just got to send it back and get a replacement.il be bloody glad when it's sorted.
Regards

User avatar
andrew013
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1822
Joined: 17 Aug 2010, 12:41
Call Sign: 26AT013
Location: gateshead tyne and wear

Re: Problem with antron 99

Post by andrew013 » 02 Mar 2018, 19:32

MrPaul009 wrote:
02 Mar 2018, 19:26
Hi,no fun at all in the snow.if I hold the bottom and shake it I can feel something moving behind the tuning rings.just got to send it back and get a replacement.il be bloody glad when it's sorted.
Regards
as aready said the rattle is normal if you bought it new read the instructions on how to test it , thats if you have a multi meter of course
and aslo when you do the swr check it from the ariel end as you may get a false reading fron the radio end so get someone to help you , also try isolating the pole from the ariel with tape i wouldnt be sending the ariel back just yet if its 1.1 on mids its working fine
Last edited by andrew013 on 02 Mar 2018, 19:37, edited 1 time in total.
on air,tyne&wear,northumberland,durham,holy island,eu120+eu124 and anywhere from gateshead/north wales
scrap uk 40 give cbers L/M/Hcalling on 27.355/555 usb qsy 27.015 lsb/410 usb cb radio is for life not just for profits
i do cb radio not 11mtres,countrys worked 2015 with imax 2000 72

MrPaul009
Regular
Regular
Posts: 48
Joined: 01 Mar 2018, 07:26
Call Sign: Fb009
Location: Southam/Warwickshire

Re: Problem with antron 99

Post by MrPaul009 » 02 Mar 2018, 19:34

Hi yes I have a multi meter,IV packed it up now ready to be sent back.
Regards

User avatar
Mudslinger
Legend
Legend
Posts: 6752
Joined: 28 Jul 2010, 07:11
Location: Oxfordshire

Re: Problem with antron 99

Post by Mudslinger » 02 Mar 2018, 19:35

They don't work all that well even when working properly.
Mudslinger - Simon
26TM274
26CT612

There is no such thing as a Fidelity 1000 which is too good to scrap.

MrPaul009
Regular
Regular
Posts: 48
Joined: 01 Mar 2018, 07:26
Call Sign: Fb009
Location: Southam/Warwickshire

Re: Problem with antron 99

Post by MrPaul009 » 02 Mar 2018, 19:50

Hi the one I had before never needed isolating from the pole,it was only five feet off the ground.yes it does not move on channel one mid block.but when I move the rings the swr goes 1.8 when I go back on channel 40 uk block the swr is still high that's with the rings to the top.
Cheers

User avatar
The Collector
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 4882
Joined: 23 Jan 2010, 19:26
Location: Bristol-ish

Re: Problem with antron 99

Post by The Collector » 02 Mar 2018, 20:56

I appreciate you've already taken it down, but perhaps it might pay to test it before you send it back. As it's not on a pole, you could then rule out that interfering. Leave any choke/balun thingy off and just use a half-decent SWR meter (some cheapo ones can be inaccurate).

Stand it up safely vertical to test it but make sure it's not standing in a puddle or snow with all this bad weather.

If you're still having a bad swr problem, see if you can borrow someone elses. In-built swr meters are useful but not always great to rely on, so if using one then try an external one instead.

If all that's done and it's still can't be tuned then probably best to get it sent back mate.

Note: if anyone knows how to test the aerial easily with a multi-meter and explain it well then that'd be useful to add too (I wouldn't have a bloody clue!) :)

MrPaul009
Regular
Regular
Posts: 48
Joined: 01 Mar 2018, 07:26
Call Sign: Fb009
Location: Southam/Warwickshire

Re: Problem with antron 99

Post by MrPaul009 » 02 Mar 2018, 21:54

Hi there,iv tested it with the radio in built swr meter and I have tested it with a external swr meter.both are showing the same.what I don't get is that on channel 1 on the mid block it does not move.then when I test it on channel 40 on the UK 40 it's over 3.when I move the rings up to the top it's 1.8 on the mid block and 2.5 on UK 40.i have checked the coax on my t2lt antenna and the swr is fine.also tried it with the pole touching the ground and above the ground.the antenna swr is best from 26.500 to 26.965 I cannot get a good swr above these frequency's
Regards

User avatar
andrew013
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1822
Joined: 17 Aug 2010, 12:41
Call Sign: 26AT013
Location: gateshead tyne and wear

Re: Problem with antron 99

Post by andrew013 » 02 Mar 2018, 22:48

Note: if anyone knows how to test the aerial easily with a multi-meter and explain it well then that'd be useful to add too (I wouldn't have a bloody clue!) :)
in the instructions before you put it all togther it says check to make sure the short is there on the bottom section (or something like that its been close on what 25 /30 yrs since i read the instructions )
edit here is what it says i dug out the instruction sheet and i was right its dated march 1988 too

important checking the bottom section of the a99 from the center pin of the so 239 to the top , your meter should read open , schecking from the centre pin of the so239 to the outer thread or alluminum ferrule your meter should read shorted
on air,tyne&wear,northumberland,durham,holy island,eu120+eu124 and anywhere from gateshead/north wales
scrap uk 40 give cbers L/M/Hcalling on 27.355/555 usb qsy 27.015 lsb/410 usb cb radio is for life not just for profits
i do cb radio not 11mtres,countrys worked 2015 with imax 2000 72

User avatar
ROTEL240
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 384
Joined: 01 Dec 2012, 20:10

Re: Problem with antron 99

Post by ROTEL240 » 03 Mar 2018, 09:01

The pole it's mounted on shouldn't make any difference and trying to check the Swr at the antenna end is a new one on me, my antenna is 30ft up on the pole and wouldn't want to climb up to check it and how do you check a mag mount at the antenna end. The t2lt is probably as good as the a 99,you know how to use a swr meter and know what you are dong so I still think the a99 is faulty.

User avatar
andrew013
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1822
Joined: 17 Aug 2010, 12:41
Call Sign: 26AT013
Location: gateshead tyne and wear

Re: Problem with antron 99

Post by andrew013 » 03 Mar 2018, 09:47

ROTEL240 wrote:
03 Mar 2018, 09:01
how do you check a mag mount at the antenna end.
dead easy chop the coax an inch from the antenna , :roll:
on air,tyne&wear,northumberland,durham,holy island,eu120+eu124 and anywhere from gateshead/north wales
scrap uk 40 give cbers L/M/Hcalling on 27.355/555 usb qsy 27.015 lsb/410 usb cb radio is for life not just for profits
i do cb radio not 11mtres,countrys worked 2015 with imax 2000 72

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests