Digital Modes with an MultiMode 2 ????

The place to talk about specific radios, equipment and accessories. Do you prefer the latest generation of rigs and antennas or do you like the classics? Discuss it here!
Post Reply
User avatar
Phoenix
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 603
Joined: 27 Apr 2008, 09:08

Digital Modes with an MultiMode 2 ????

Post by Phoenix » 13 Dec 2017, 06:28

I have been told its not possible to do digital modes with a Cybernet boarded radio ...something to do with the way the recieve/transmitter circuit works.I would like to hear from anyone who has done digital comms with a Cybernet chassis thankyou
26TM114

User avatar
MrWeetabix
Admin
Admin
Posts: 14111
Joined: 26 Aug 2008, 13:34
Call Sign: 26TM175
Location: Tynemouth

Re: Digital Modes with an MultiMode 2 ????

Post by MrWeetabix » 13 Dec 2017, 09:04

Digital radio or digimodes?

Digimodes is easy enough, you just need an interface that connects to the mic input and a feed from the speaker-out.
26TM175. OP: Craig. QTH: Tynemouth. Also 163TM175 when mobile in Wales 8)

PO Box: 62 Town: Albrighton City: Wolverhampton Zip: WV7 3WR

TM1 is now on Facebook http://tinyurl.com/TM1onFB || New Tango Mike QSL cards https://tinyurl.com/TM1-NewQSL

User avatar
Phoenix
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 603
Joined: 27 Apr 2008, 09:08

Re: Digital Modes with an MultiMode 2 ????

Post by Phoenix » 13 Dec 2017, 10:58

No sorry it is Digital Modes Rtty Packet ...im trying to latch on to someone with personal experience using this type of radio as i need guidance on what interface and the connections to make...cheers for your replie
26TM114

User avatar
MrWeetabix
Admin
Admin
Posts: 14111
Joined: 26 Aug 2008, 13:34
Call Sign: 26TM175
Location: Tynemouth

Re: Digital Modes with an MultiMode 2 ????

Post by MrWeetabix » 14 Dec 2017, 08:54

I made one years ago, but I used manual switching and fed raw audio into the mic input from the PC sound card. I knocked up a switch to TX the radio and then fed the audio-out from the radio direct into the line-in of the PC Sound card..... a bit rough and ready, probably prone to feeding too much into the radio and popping something, but worked short-term. Certainly good enough to get started and mess about. Just to RX you wouldn't even need a TNC, just feed the audio from your speaker out direct into your line in, or even your mic input, albeit on a very low volume setting. K7AGE even demonstrates on his webpage that decoding is possible by just putting your PC Microphone next to the speaker of the radio. You could (in theory) TX the same way, by keying the mic next to your PC speaker, but wouldn't be ideal. Check him out on Youtube

I use a Sigalink USB now. The beauty of this is that it has a cat5 interface on the back, so using a cat5 patch cable, you can make your own break-out cables, following the pin out guide from Signalink and a mic-wiring diagram for the radio you're using. I had cables made for an old Midband AM/FM set I had and even my Fidelity 2001. I had hoped to run a node on one of the bands, but I got side-tracked and never bothered.

Image
26TM175. OP: Craig. QTH: Tynemouth. Also 163TM175 when mobile in Wales 8)

PO Box: 62 Town: Albrighton City: Wolverhampton Zip: WV7 3WR

TM1 is now on Facebook http://tinyurl.com/TM1onFB || New Tango Mike QSL cards https://tinyurl.com/TM1-NewQSL

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: fbarraza28 and 5 guests