anytone at555 and midland 8001 xt

The place to talk about specific radios, equipment and accessories. Do you prefer the latest generation of rigs and antennas or do you like the classics? Discuss it here!
mrpsychopath
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 265
Joined: 21 Jul 2017, 21:51
Call Sign: 108tm1313
Location: ayrshire scotland

anytone at555 and midland 8001 xt

Post by mrpsychopath » 23 Jul 2017, 13:51

Hi all, just recently getting back into radio. But my purchases have not been my best over the years. I bought an anytone at5555 a while back, and have just used it to a couple of times. Cant get on with it at all too many silly things to do, not like older radios. Maybe just needs reprogramed. The other day i bought a. Midland 8001xt without reading reveiws, then went and looked up more about it, oh dear . Should just have bought another albrecht ae485 like my last long term radio. At least i could work it. Can the midland be modded for uk 2u/81 channels without losong the export stuff. Cany the anytone be made simpler or more user friendly with the muppet bands programed in. Or should i just sell them and go back to what i know or go old school with an old modded radio. Thanks for looking
Kill em all and let god sort them out.

User avatar
Admiral
Legend
Legend
Posts: 10000
Joined: 08 Mar 2011, 21:20
Call Sign: 26TM157
Location: MK-UK

Re: anytone at555 and midland 8001 xt

Post by Admiral » 24 Jul 2017, 09:05

The 5555 is one of the most flexible 11m radios for frequencies, you can program it exactly how you want it in blocks of up to 60 channels, yes, it can be programmed for a block of 40 on the muppet band. If you do a search on this site you will find some files that have been uploaded for the 5555, I uploaded a few years ago and I know others have.
Winner of the 2017 IBTL 'Summer Sizzler' competition

User avatar
astradyne
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7312
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 09:28
Location: Dunny On The Wolds
Contact:

Re: anytone at555 and midland 8001 xt

Post by astradyne » 24 Jul 2017, 21:56

The Midland 8001 XT can be modified to work on the UK 27/81 channels. There are two ways. One is by adding a 3.75Khz dropper onto the echo switch (it's unused in the stock radio so free for the mod). The second is by giving the coarse tune +8V while in FM/AM mode. For whatever their reason Midland decided it would be a good idea to disconnect the 8V supply from the coarse tune when switching from SSB modes.
Never, ever, ever....bloody anything ever!

Far too many radio's to list here. But I do own a legal one...

mrpsychopath
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 265
Joined: 21 Jul 2017, 21:51
Call Sign: 108tm1313
Location: ayrshire scotland

Re: anytone at555 and midland 8001 xt

Post by mrpsychopath » 25 Jul 2017, 04:59

Good that sounds like I at least have options, i like the look of the midland, the anytone is to much faffing about for my liking, if it was programed to suit what i want i might give it a try. Thanks
Kill em all and let god sort them out.

User avatar
Admiral
Legend
Legend
Posts: 10000
Joined: 08 Mar 2011, 21:20
Call Sign: 26TM157
Location: MK-UK

Re: anytone at555 and midland 8001 xt

Post by Admiral » 25 Jul 2017, 06:56

mrpsychopath wrote:the anytone is to much faffing about for my liking, if it was programed to suit what i want i might give it a try.
That's precisely why there is a program lead and software, so you can tailor it exactly to your needs.
Winner of the 2017 IBTL 'Summer Sizzler' competition

mrpsychopath
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 265
Joined: 21 Jul 2017, 21:51
Call Sign: 108tm1313
Location: ayrshire scotland

Re: anytone at555 and midland 8001 xt

Post by mrpsychopath » 25 Jul 2017, 13:39

Need to get one then, these new radios are to complicated lol.
Kill em all and let god sort them out.

mrpsychopath
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 265
Joined: 21 Jul 2017, 21:51
Call Sign: 108tm1313
Location: ayrshire scotland

Re: anytone at555 and midland 8001 xt

Post by mrpsychopath » 26 Jul 2017, 18:47

Ordered a programming lead, now need to download software and new dat file for export frequencys and ukfm, and i just bought a crt ss9900. Are they any good or will i need to reprog it too.
Kill em all and let god sort them out.

mrpsychopath
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 265
Joined: 21 Jul 2017, 21:51
Call Sign: 108tm1313
Location: ayrshire scotland

Re: anytone at555 and midland 8001 xt

Post by mrpsychopath » 30 Jul 2017, 09:23

First shot at programing seems to have went well found out radio was a v4, now with v6 software. Got the muppets done on band a, and the rest sorted out. Even heard some skip coming in. Had the midland powered up on test. Course tune is working on am and fm to tunes into uk as well doesnt sound as tinny as the anytone on receive. Not been on air yet to have a proper test just listened in through a mag mount sitting on floor.
Antron waiting on a mounting pole and clamps. Then it will go up outside. Wheres best for program lead for the crt9900, typical the radios dont use the same lead , i could have set frequency on it as well.
Kill em all and let god sort them out.

SgtBilko302
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 100
Joined: 25 Sep 2013, 19:35
Call Sign: 108ct302
Location: Prestonpans. East Lothian.

Re: anytone at555 and midland 8001 xt

Post by SgtBilko302 » 30 Jul 2017, 14:18

You don't really need a lead and software for the 9900.
In power off status press menu + band together to open radio, turn push ( vfo ) to select CB Band and you get 25.615 to 30.105.
Paul.

mrpsychopath
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 265
Joined: 21 Jul 2017, 21:51
Call Sign: 108tm1313
Location: ayrshire scotland

Re: anytone at555 and midland 8001 xt

Post by mrpsychopath » 30 Jul 2017, 14:48

Hi Paul,thats how the radio is at the moment, but its got hi cut and bleeps pre programmed in, I am going to pre set the radio to base band setting and add muppets, just setting it the way i want not the way it was sent out.
Kill em all and let god sort them out.

User avatar
kilimax
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 2667
Joined: 05 May 2014, 09:18
Call Sign: GM0BRJ
Location: Same Country as Buick Mackane

Re: anytone at555 and midland 8001 xt

Post by kilimax » 30 Jul 2017, 18:27

mrpsychopath wrote:Hi Paul,thats how the radio is at the moment, but its got hi cut and bleeps pre programmed in, I am going to pre set the radio to base band setting and add muppets, just setting it the way i want not the way it was sent out.
Knights will sell you one for £14.95 and there's a few others on ebay
Kilimax - Drew
Amateur Callsign GM0BRJ
Tango Mike Callsign 108TM144

I've changed radios that many times, I've forgotten what I have :think:

jkb
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 173
Joined: 29 Jan 2011, 16:14

Re: anytone at555 and midland 8001 xt

Post by jkb » 30 Jul 2017, 19:41

Both junk. Sell them and get a Yaesu ft 450 or something like that?!

mrpsychopath
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 265
Joined: 21 Jul 2017, 21:51
Call Sign: 108tm1313
Location: ayrshire scotland

Re: anytone at555 and midland 8001 xt

Post by mrpsychopath » 31 Jul 2017, 04:32

jkb wrote:Both junk. Sell them and get a Yaesu ft 450 or something like that?!
Couldnt take that in works van. ;)
Kill em all and let god sort them out.

User avatar
Farty
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 3606
Joined: 20 Oct 2008, 14:40
Location: IO92ND

Re: anytone at555 and midland 8001 xt

Post by Farty » 31 Jul 2017, 07:07

You could, they're not very big.
In Before The Lock Champion of Total Magnificenceness May 2016

User avatar
Admiral
Legend
Legend
Posts: 10000
Joined: 08 Mar 2011, 21:20
Call Sign: 26TM157
Location: MK-UK

Re: anytone at555 and midland 8001 xt

Post by Admiral » 31 Jul 2017, 09:13

jkb wrote:Both junk. Sell them and get a Yaesu ft 450 or something like that?!
450 is junk, get an Icom IC-7851.
Winner of the 2017 IBTL 'Summer Sizzler' competition

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests