Moonraker Tornado Stinger Vs Sirio Performer 5000?

The place to talk about specific radios, equipment and accessories. Do you prefer the latest generation of rigs and antennas or do you like the classics? Discuss it here!
Gimpymoo
Regular
Regular
Call Sign: Gimpy

Moonraker Tornado Stinger Vs Sirio Performer 5000?

Post by Gimpymoo »

Hello all.

A total noob here, so learning as I go at the moment.

I currently have a mobile rig consisting of a CRT ONE N and a Moonraker Tornado Stinger 1.55m antenna.

My question is, with everything being equal, 2 mobile rigs communicating with each other with line of sight, would a Sirio 5000 2m offer any benefits over the Stinger assuming running at 4w. Is talk of the dark arts permitted here?

Thanks.
The Collector
Legend
Legend

Re: Moonraker Tornado Stinger Vs Sirio Performer 5000?

Post by The Collector »

They're 3 times as much for a reason :)

Would like one myself but will have to stick with my 49 pence CB-Line Sirio MIL copy thing for now.
Admiral
Legend
Legend
Call Sign: 26TM157

Post by Admiral »

No disrespect intended, but in my humble opinion the Stinger antennas are crap, great for the 4x4 gang that want a mile max while churning up the mud at the weekend, but for general use they are rubbish.
Winner of the 2017 IBTL 'Summer Sizzler' competition
Mudslinger
Legend
Legend

Post by Mudslinger »

I agree, springers are not all that great performance wise. The one I had I couldn't even get a decent SWR on.

A good cheaper antenna is the original modulator.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/THE-MODULATOR ... SwstxVCrUC
Mudslinger - Simon
26TM274
26CT612

There is no such thing as a Fidelity 1000 which is too good to scrap.
andrew013
Top Poster
Top Poster
Call Sign: 26AT013

Post by andrew013 »

i dont often get very technical on here and i do hate stingers/springers types and i love sirio antennas (apart from that gain master) but both the stinger and 5000 are of the same design
coil at the bottom with a whip on top per say