Alinco DR135 Software

The place to talk about specific radios, equipment and accessories. Do you prefer the latest generation of rigs and antennas or do you like the classics? Discuss it here!
User avatar
RadioPixie
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1951
Joined: 08 May 2011, 17:53
Call Sign: 26TM552
Location: Peoples Republic of Cornwall

Alinco DR135 Software

Post by RadioPixie » 06 Jun 2014, 21:14

Hi

I have downloaded the software for the Alinco DR135DX and it's a .rar program.

Would software would you recommend to open it up? Does seem to be anything on my computer (Windows 7) to do the job.

Advice appreciated :)
73 from Dave the Pixie - G7OPC - 26CT052 - CB & Ham Radioaficionado

User avatar
RadioPixie
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1951
Joined: 08 May 2011, 17:53
Call Sign: 26TM552
Location: Peoples Republic of Cornwall

Re: Alinco DR135 Software

Post by RadioPixie » 06 Jun 2014, 21:27

Ok guys got it sussed. Just downloaded WinZip and the DR135 software is running.

I got the rig today as new in the box. The channel selector would go up but not down. The up/dn buttons on the mic are OK. So it had to be something simple. There was a bad PCB connection on the encoder switch. Added a wire link from switch to and she now works fine :D Just a QC issue.

Over all it seems to work well :thumbup:

Edit: UK channels programmed into band F. All went smoothly :D As other people have reported with the CRE 8900 the 1.25 kHz UK offset changes to 1.20 kHz. Not to worry as 0.05 kHz (50 Hz) on FM makes NO difference!!
73 from Dave the Pixie - G7OPC - 26CT052 - CB & Ham Radioaficionado

User avatar
cjay
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1775
Joined: 06 Jun 2013, 21:21
Call Sign: cjay
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: Alinco DR135 Software

Post by cjay » 07 Jun 2014, 06:53

RadioPixie wrote:Ok guys got it sussed. Just downloaded WinZip and the DR135 software is running.

I got the rig today as new in the box. The channel selector would go up but not down. The up/dn buttons on the mic are OK. So it had to be something simple. There was a bad PCB connection on the encoder switch. Added a wire link from switch to and she now works fine :D Just a QC issue.

Over all it seems to work well :thumbup:

Edit: UK channels programmed into band F. All went smoothly :D As other people have reported with the CRE 8900 the 1.25 kHz UK offset changes to 1.20 kHz. Not to worry as 0.05 kHz (50 Hz) on FM makes NO difference!!
I can highly recommend 7Zip over Winzip but you've got past that hurdle now anyway.

User avatar
RadioPixie
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1951
Joined: 08 May 2011, 17:53
Call Sign: 26TM552
Location: Peoples Republic of Cornwall

Re: Alinco DR135 Software

Post by RadioPixie » 07 Jun 2014, 11:38

Cheers for the info cjay. I'll try that next time :)
73 from Dave the Pixie - G7OPC - 26CT052 - CB & Ham Radioaficionado

richf
Regular
Regular
Posts: 42
Joined: 05 Jul 2009, 13:45
Call Sign: 163TM008
Location: Cwmbran

Re: Alinco DR135 Software

Post by richf » 25 Jun 2014, 20:03

RadioPixie wrote:Hi

I have downloaded the software for the Alinco DR135DX and it's a .rar program.

Would software would you recommend to open it up? Does seem to be anything on my computer (Windows 7) to do the job.

Advice appreciated :)
Hi RadioPixie, I have just got my self a DR135 and programming cable. Can you give me a link to where you got the software.
Many thanks,
Richf

163TM008

richf
Regular
Regular
Posts: 42
Joined: 05 Jul 2009, 13:45
Call Sign: 163TM008
Location: Cwmbran

Re: Alinco DR135 Software

Post by richf » 26 Jun 2014, 20:23

Hi

Managed to find the download - have used 7Z to unpack it, all I have to do is program it. When the pc is connected to the radio does it display the frequencies within the software?

Many thanks for any info,

Richf

rogerbeep
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 123
Joined: 18 Nov 2013, 00:24
Call Sign: 20TM896

Re: Alinco DR135 Software

Post by rogerbeep » 04 Jul 2014, 11:08

Does anyone know if the programming cable is a normal USB COM port emulator - like the ones being used for other Chinese radios nowadays?
If the datacable I have for my Baofengs will work I don't bother buying another one.
TRX:
Icom 706 mk II / Icom 735 - Alinco DR-135DX - President Grant mk II / Jackson mk I - CRT SS9900 / One - Anytone AT300M
QYT KT-8900 - Icom F4SR / 28H - Baofeng UV-5R / 888S

RX:
Uniden UBC 780 XLT - Icom R5 / PCR-100 - RTL2832U/R820T + Ham It Up v1.2 - NESDR SMArt

User avatar
RadioPixie
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1951
Joined: 08 May 2011, 17:53
Call Sign: 26TM552
Location: Peoples Republic of Cornwall

Re: Alinco DR135 Software

Post by RadioPixie » 04 Jul 2014, 14:30

To richf: yes the software reads as well as writes. Best make .dat files as you go along when modifying the program, not just for the frequency but the menu functions, ie roger bleep, mic gain settings etc.

To rogerbleep: I'm no computer expert, just plod along with it and work it out as I'm going along. As far as I'm aware the driver is Prolific, and the lead looks like it may have electronics in the USB plug side judging by the size of it.
73 from Dave the Pixie - G7OPC - 26CT052 - CB & Ham Radioaficionado

rogerbeep
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 123
Joined: 18 Nov 2013, 00:24
Call Sign: 20TM896

Re: Alinco DR135 Software

Post by rogerbeep » 04 Jul 2014, 22:58

Thanks for the clarification RadioPixie, then I have the correct cable.
I will have to take a look at the software later on then.

Thanks again
TRX:
Icom 706 mk II / Icom 735 - Alinco DR-135DX - President Grant mk II / Jackson mk I - CRT SS9900 / One - Anytone AT300M
QYT KT-8900 - Icom F4SR / 28H - Baofeng UV-5R / 888S

RX:
Uniden UBC 780 XLT - Icom R5 / PCR-100 - RTL2832U/R820T + Ham It Up v1.2 - NESDR SMArt

User avatar
SandpiperNC
Regular
Regular
Posts: 31
Joined: 30 Nov 2014, 19:08
Call Sign: Sandpiper
Location: Cannock
Contact:

Re: Alinco DR135 Software

Post by SandpiperNC » 02 Dec 2014, 17:46

Out of interest ... where do you download this software from?
Andrew (Sandpiper / 26-TM-720 / M6*) - Cannock, UK

User avatar
delboyonline
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1077
Joined: 04 Oct 2007, 20:40

Re: Alinco DR135 Software

Post by delboyonline » 04 Dec 2014, 21:35

I've been using the cre8900 software:

http://www.radioaficion.com/hamfiles/vi ... 0-software

User avatar
SandpiperNC
Regular
Regular
Posts: 31
Joined: 30 Nov 2014, 19:08
Call Sign: Sandpiper
Location: Cannock
Contact:

Re: Alinco DR135 Software

Post by SandpiperNC » 05 Dec 2014, 13:18

Cool. Thanks for that. Will download and have a look.
Andrew (Sandpiper / 26-TM-720 / M6*) - Cannock, UK

mickymcd
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 306
Joined: 28 Apr 2010, 16:15
Location: Teesside

Re: Alinco DR135 Software

Post by mickymcd » 05 Dec 2014, 18:55

wheres cheapest for a programming lead ? thx :thumbup:

User avatar
SandpiperNC
Regular
Regular
Posts: 31
Joined: 30 Nov 2014, 19:08
Call Sign: Sandpiper
Location: Cannock
Contact:

Re: Alinco DR135 Software

Post by SandpiperNC » 08 Dec 2014, 11:35

Cheapest I had seen was Knights when bought with the radio (£19.95). Normally £24.95. I dare say there may be others cheaper elsewhere as did not look on flea bay et al.

http://www.kcb.co.uk/shop2/contents/en-uk/p1654.html
Andrew (Sandpiper / 26-TM-720 / M6*) - Cannock, UK

Triple3
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 106
Joined: 10 Jun 2014, 11:39

Re: Alinco DR135 Software

Post by Triple3 » 08 Dec 2014, 12:50

The Anytone cable would be cheaper to buy but involves removing the case to plug it in.
I ordered the Alinco cable when I purchased the DR135 (without software) as I didn't want to dive inside the rig.
I'm using Microsoft XP so I had to download the driver from the Prolific website (or from the Nevada website).
The Alinco or Cre8900 software can be downloaded easily enough.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests