SUPERSTAR 3900 DIRLAND BLACK bands???

The place to talk about specific radios, equipment and accessories. Do you prefer the latest generation of rigs and antennas or do you like the classics? Discuss it here!
User avatar
Avenger
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 302
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 17:09
Call Sign: 163TM122
Location: South wales

Re: SUPERSTAR 3900 DIRLAND BLACK bands???

Postby Avenger » 13 Sep 2017, 19:53

My 3900 black has got an extra switch inside fitted to a bracket that when flicked stops all the other bands working and makes it 40ch mid only. A bit odd as it looks factory fitted.
163TM122 - ROB

User avatar
Admiral
Legend
Legend
Posts: 9588
Joined: 08 Mar 2011, 21:20
Call Sign: 26TM157
Location: MK-UK

Re: SUPERSTAR 3900 DIRLAND BLACK bands???

Postby Admiral » 13 Sep 2017, 20:01

Avenger wrote:My 3900 black has got an extra switch inside fitted to a bracket that when flicked stops all the other bands working and makes it 40ch mid only. A bit odd as it looks factory fitted.


They were done like that so that they could be legally imported and VAT paid on them, then converted back to an export radio easily, same way modern ones need a diode lifting, or a wire cutting, or a blob of solder adding etc.
Winner of the 2017 IBTL 'Summer Sizzler' competition

User avatar
Mudslinger
Legend
Legend
Posts: 6364
Joined: 28 Jul 2010, 07:11
Location: Oxfordshire

Re: SUPERSTAR 3900 DIRLAND BLACK bands???

Postby Mudslinger » 13 Sep 2017, 21:24

Admiral is correct, they are factory.

Strangely though not all of them had the switch. I think it depends where they were originally sold.
Mudslinger - Simon
26TM274
26CT612

There is no such thing as a Fidelity 1000 which is too good to scrap.

User avatar
astradyne
Legend
Legend
Posts: 6355
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 09:28
Location: Dunny On The Wolds
Contact:

Re: SUPERSTAR 3900 DIRLAND BLACK bands???

Postby astradyne » 13 Sep 2017, 21:44

Admiral wrote:
Avenger wrote:My 3900 black has got an extra switch inside fitted to a bracket that when flicked stops all the other bands working and makes it 40ch mid only. A bit odd as it looks factory fitted.


They were done like that so that they could be legally imported and VAT paid on them, then converted back to an export radio easily, same way modern ones need a diode lifting, or a wire cutting, or a blob of solder adding etc.


And, of course, the later CRT 3900's had the pull out SWR CAL knob to open it up from 40 channel CEPT to export mode. Good idea as you didn't have to break the seals and invalidate the shop warranty after you got it home to find it was mid band only. Looked daft though with the control sticking out.
Never, ever, ever....bloody anything ever!

Far too many radio's to list here. But I do own a legal one...


Return to “CB & 11m Multi-Mode Radio Equipment Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests