Alton Towers

Scanning radio frequencies in the West Midlands
ATR
New User
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: 05 Jun 2012, 16:30

Alton Towers

Post by ATR » 05 Jun 2012, 16:35

Hi all

Does anybody have any frequencies for Alton Towers?

Thanks

User avatar
liamcarbin
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 711
Joined: 14 Jul 2010, 10:07
Location: Stoke-on-Trent

Re: Alton Towers

Post by liamcarbin » 06 Jun 2012, 13:20

ATR wrote:Hi all

Does anybody have any frequencies for Alton Towers?

Thanks
Just done a search on the WTR and found these

Alton Towers Resort Operations Ltd
TX: 166.675 MHz
RX: 171.475 MHz
TX: 166.625 MHz
RX: 171.425 MHz

H B Leisure Limited
TX: 453.7 MHz
RX: 460.2 MHz

Alton Towers Resort Operations Ltd
TX: 165.1625 MHz
RX: 169.9625 MHz

TX: 169.3375 MHz
RX: 169.3375 MHz

TX: 166.7625 MHz
RX: 171.5625 MHz

TX: 167.0375 MHz
RX: 171.8375 MHz

TX: 165.1875 MHz
RX: 169.9875 MHz

TX: 165.2125 MHz
RX: 170.0125 MHz

and - http://spectruminfo.ofcom.org.uk/spectr ... %20licence
Liam Carbin
Stoke-on-Trent


Uniden Bearcat 3500xlt
Realistic Pro-70 Hyperscan
Moonraker Skyscan Mobile Antenna
R820T Dongle ADSB Receiver
TYT-MD380

ATR
New User
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: 05 Jun 2012, 16:30

Re: Alton Towers

Post by ATR » 06 Jun 2012, 14:12

Thanks very much! :)

User avatar
liamcarbin
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 711
Joined: 14 Jul 2010, 10:07
Location: Stoke-on-Trent

Re: Alton Towers

Post by liamcarbin » 06 Jun 2012, 14:56

ATR wrote:Thanks very much! :)
Welcome
Liam Carbin
Stoke-on-Trent


Uniden Bearcat 3500xlt
Realistic Pro-70 Hyperscan
Moonraker Skyscan Mobile Antenna
R820T Dongle ADSB Receiver
TYT-MD380

User avatar
Gemini4
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 890
Joined: 02 Jan 2010, 21:26
Location: Derbyshire

Re: Alton Towers

Post by Gemini4 » 24 Jun 2012, 11:24

getting total silence from any alton tower frequency just lately..anyone else picking them up or have they turned the power down. :(

radtech
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 266
Joined: 09 May 2010, 20:22
Call Sign: Rich
Location: Notts.

Re: Alton Towers

Post by radtech » 24 Jun 2012, 21:00

No other entries in the WTR database.
Rich

User avatar
benw18
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 363
Joined: 19 May 2011, 14:20

Re: Alton Towers

Post by benw18 » 24 Jun 2012, 22:20

They had put a tender out to replace the (very) old analogue system... That was a little while ago though. They won't have 'turned the power down', more likely changed frequencies or moved over to digital.

User avatar
Gemini4
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 890
Joined: 02 Jan 2010, 21:26
Location: Derbyshire

Re: Alton Towers

Post by Gemini4 » 25 Jun 2012, 22:09

they must have gone digital..aint heard nothing on any of the frequencies since a few months ago now..damn!!! another one bites the dust :(

radio_ryan
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1205
Joined: 29 Dec 2009, 16:12
Location: North East Derbyshire

Re: Alton Towers

Post by radio_ryan » 26 Jun 2012, 09:04

but why would a place like Alton Towers go Digital, it not like the information you would hear from a fun park would be that risky.

the new system must have set them back a few penny's over just getting new fm radio's.

User avatar
Gemini4
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 890
Joined: 02 Jan 2010, 21:26
Location: Derbyshire

Re: Alton Towers

Post by Gemini4 » 26 Jun 2012, 11:56

have you heard anything lately ryan :?:
i've been sat here with the frequencies on for ages to see if i can catch something..but not a peep.
does seem a bit odd that they would go digital..but they may have been patching everything through the security channel and want the need to block this.

User avatar
benw18
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 363
Joined: 19 May 2011, 14:20

Re: Alton Towers

Post by benw18 » 27 Jun 2012, 23:18

Its not always becuase of security that people move to digital. If they were looking at replacing their system (which they were), part of the spec will be to 'future proof' the system. Not only that, but added standard functionality makes digital a no-brainer for a new system- PTT I.D, text, man down, telemetry, GPS, 2 timeslots per repeater, remote monitor, talk groups, all call, intelligent audio... etc

The advantage list for digital is endless compared to analogue. You will also find the majority of dealers are now not even spec'ing analogue systems unless asked to (or needed to). The price of digital kit is comparable to that of analogue, for arguements sake a GP380 is still list price £475 + VAT. So would you rather have a digital radio for the same price with so many more features, or, an analogue radio with less than a 1/5 of the features?

Of course, one of the main selling points for many systems is security, with encryption activated, digital cannot be scanned.

User avatar
Gemini4
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 890
Joined: 02 Jan 2010, 21:26
Location: Derbyshire

Re: Alton Towers

Post by Gemini4 » 28 Jun 2012, 16:36

they just started coming through again today :D ..funny how long the silence was :?:

User avatar
Gemini4
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 890
Joined: 02 Jan 2010, 21:26
Location: Derbyshire

Re: Alton Towers

Post by Gemini4 » 29 Jun 2012, 10:58

167.0400 is the frequency they're using...but not picking em up on any other.

User avatar
benw18
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 363
Joined: 19 May 2011, 14:20

Re: Alton Towers

Post by benw18 » 29 Jun 2012, 14:20

I will do some digging for you Gemini... Several companies tendered for the job, so it might be a slowwww migration to a new system. They might just haven't of moved yet but are in the process of changing infrastructure and they have parked everyone on a single channel for the time being.

User avatar
Gemini4
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 890
Joined: 02 Jan 2010, 21:26
Location: Derbyshire

Re: Alton Towers

Post by Gemini4 » 29 Jun 2012, 14:57

cheers mate much appreciated..i noticed that the power was low in some conversations..but has you rightly say it does seem they have stuck everyone on the same channel.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest