Starting on ssb

This is the place to discuss any general CB radio related topics. Getting started, installations, operation etc.
Post Reply
User avatar
Guzzy
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 4969
Joined: 24 Feb 2005, 02:33
Call Sign: 26TM002
Location: Kent
Contact:

Post by Guzzy » 20 Mar 2006, 18:46

It refers to you not keying up continuously, or more to the point only using the rated power of the supply for no more than half the time.

When you listen on a 4W CB you only draw a small load on the power supply (mille Amps perhaps), but when you key up, you could be drawing 3 Amps.

Power supplies are rated as Nominal Output Current, Intermittent (or 50% duty cycle) Output Current and Peak Output Current.
  • The supply can provide it's Nominal output current (Amps) all day long.

    The supply can provide its Intermittent output current (Amps) for no more than 50% of its operating time.

    The supply can provide the Peak output current (Amps) for only brief bursts.
Hope this helps a little (sorry if it's not clear. A teacher, I am not! :-) )
If you see a spam (or abusive) post, don't 'reply' to it, don't 'quote' it, don't start a new thread discussing it.
Report it using the Image ('Report this post') button, inside the actual spam post.

troutboy
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 430
Joined: 07 Jan 2006, 16:43
Call Sign: 163TM001
Location: Wales, UK

Post by troutboy » 21 Mar 2006, 10:01

The one i saw at maplins was 7 amp continuos, 10 amp 50% and 12 amp surge.
"May your tuning finger stay eager and your squelch well open"

James "troutboy" 163-TM-001

User avatar
Guzzy
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 4969
Joined: 24 Feb 2005, 02:33
Call Sign: 26TM002
Location: Kent
Contact:

Post by Guzzy » 21 Mar 2006, 10:13

That sounds like it would do the job.

Unless you were tempted to add extra devices onto it.

The reason I mention this is that some people add on Linear Amplifiers and other such equipment, and then wonder why their power supply caught fire. :lol:
If you see a spam (or abusive) post, don't 'reply' to it, don't 'quote' it, don't start a new thread discussing it.
Report it using the Image ('Report this post') button, inside the actual spam post.

troutboy
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 430
Joined: 07 Jan 2006, 16:43
Call Sign: 163TM001
Location: Wales, UK

Post by troutboy » 21 Mar 2006, 12:20

At the moment i am using a 3amp continuos, 5amp 50% and 7amp surge. I expect even a 5amp continuos, 7amp 50% and 9 amp surge would do the job. Because i won't be adding any other stuff
"May your tuning finger stay eager and your squelch well open"

James "troutboy" 163-TM-001

User avatar
Guzzy
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 4969
Joined: 24 Feb 2005, 02:33
Call Sign: 26TM002
Location: Kent
Contact:

Post by Guzzy » 21 Mar 2006, 13:01

You never know what you might like to add in the future. It's wise to keep your options open, if you know what I mean. ;-)
If you see a spam (or abusive) post, don't 'reply' to it, don't 'quote' it, don't start a new thread discussing it.
Report it using the Image ('Report this post') button, inside the actual spam post.

troutboy
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 430
Joined: 07 Jan 2006, 16:43
Call Sign: 163TM001
Location: Wales, UK

Post by troutboy » 21 Mar 2006, 14:30

yeah i kow what you mean. By the way the radio has arrived and i'm chuffed. RF gain makes all the difference brings those signals in i couldn't get on the old radio.
"May your tuning finger stay eager and your squelch well open"

James "troutboy" 163-TM-001

troutboy
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 430
Joined: 07 Jan 2006, 16:43
Call Sign: 163TM001
Location: Wales, UK

Post by troutboy » 21 Mar 2006, 14:55

By the way you don't think the frequency counter draws much juice do you ?
"May your tuning finger stay eager and your squelch well open"

James "troutboy" 163-TM-001

User avatar
Guzzy
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 4969
Joined: 24 Feb 2005, 02:33
Call Sign: 26TM002
Location: Kent
Contact:

Post by Guzzy » 21 Mar 2006, 15:49

I doubt it. :-)
If you see a spam (or abusive) post, don't 'reply' to it, don't 'quote' it, don't start a new thread discussing it.
Report it using the Image ('Report this post') button, inside the actual spam post.

troutboy
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 430
Joined: 07 Jan 2006, 16:43
Call Sign: 163TM001
Location: Wales, UK

Post by troutboy » 21 Mar 2006, 17:49

What do you think the absolute minimum PSU i can run my new radio on full power and frequency counter is then.

5 amp continuous ?
"May your tuning finger stay eager and your squelch well open"

James "troutboy" 163-TM-001

User avatar
Guzzy
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 4969
Joined: 24 Feb 2005, 02:33
Call Sign: 26TM002
Location: Kent
Contact:

Post by Guzzy » 21 Mar 2006, 18:41

Have a look at the instruction manual that came with the radio. Somewhere inside it will tell you what the maximum load is when the radio is transmitting at full power. Make sure your PSU can cope with that for 50% duty cycle.
If you see a spam (or abusive) post, don't 'reply' to it, don't 'quote' it, don't start a new thread discussing it.
Report it using the Image ('Report this post') button, inside the actual spam post.

troutboy
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 430
Joined: 07 Jan 2006, 16:43
Call Sign: 163TM001
Location: Wales, UK

Post by troutboy » 22 Mar 2006, 08:45

Instruction manual ? :?
"May your tuning finger stay eager and your squelch well open"

James "troutboy" 163-TM-001

User avatar
Guzzy
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 4969
Joined: 24 Feb 2005, 02:33
Call Sign: 26TM002
Location: Kent
Contact:

Post by Guzzy » 22 Mar 2006, 10:44

Time to hit google I think! :lol:
If you see a spam (or abusive) post, don't 'reply' to it, don't 'quote' it, don't start a new thread discussing it.
Report it using the Image ('Report this post') button, inside the actual spam post.

troutboy
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 430
Joined: 07 Jan 2006, 16:43
Call Sign: 163TM001
Location: Wales, UK

Post by troutboy » 22 Mar 2006, 10:48

Already tried and can't find no manual
"May your tuning finger stay eager and your squelch well open"

James "troutboy" 163-TM-001

rattledrat
Regular
Regular
Posts: 63
Joined: 09 Dec 2005, 20:50
Location: Bucharest

Post by rattledrat » 22 Mar 2006, 11:36

troutboy wrote:Instruction manual ? :?


Never buy a rig with out its manuals or even box. Think about it.

troutboy
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 430
Joined: 07 Jan 2006, 16:43
Call Sign: 163TM001
Location: Wales, UK

Post by troutboy » 22 Mar 2006, 11:39

It's got a box, just no manual.
"May your tuning finger stay eager and your squelch well open"

James "troutboy" 163-TM-001

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests