cobra

This is the place to discuss any general CB radio related topics. Getting started, installations, operation etc.
User avatar
astradyne
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7113
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 09:28
Location: Dunny On The Wolds
Contact:

Re: cobra

Post by astradyne » 08 Feb 2018, 22:58

Mudslinger wrote:
08 Feb 2018, 21:45
It seems that some Richards do the zeros and some don't. Probably depends a lot on where it was originally sold.
The very early Richard's were just Superstar 360 FM's with a sticker saying "Richard" stuck over the lettering beneath the channel display. I guess those versions will have gone down to the zeros without any problems.
Never, ever, ever....bloody anything ever!

Far too many radio's to list here. But I do own a legal one...

Tom
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 307
Joined: 03 Mar 2010, 16:32
Call Sign: BPO6O
Location: Gloucester

Re: cobra

Post by Tom » 09 Feb 2018, 04:06

cobra looked like a cobra but the serial was held on with two screws I decided to pot rivet it on like it should be you gest it behind the plate was a super star serial number .But having said that it works great found board number inside PC--593 .

Tom
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 307
Joined: 03 Mar 2010, 16:32
Call Sign: BPO6O
Location: Gloucester

Re: cobra

Post by Tom » 09 Feb 2018, 07:34

How do I edit my messages on here please cant fined it thanks

Tom
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 307
Joined: 03 Mar 2010, 16:32
Call Sign: BPO6O
Location: Gloucester

Re: cobra

Post by Tom » 09 Feb 2018, 11:37

Tom wrote:
09 Feb 2018, 04:06
cobra looked like a cobra but the serial was held on with two screws I decided to pot rivet it on like it should be you gest it behind the plate was a super star serial number .But having said that it works great found board number inside PC--88oab .

User avatar
cb4ever104
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 4396
Joined: 28 Jul 2011, 21:26
Location: Alicante , España

Re: cobra

Post by cb4ever104 » 10 Feb 2018, 07:07

That's a bit fly , screwing the plate on. Only done to bump the price of the radio up.
30TM060
Paul aka "Sammy". (108) PY60 Old Paisley DX Group (RIP Rab Markie)
Ex GM0 , now EA5 .
Handle "Fortune Hunter" back in "the day"
Radios ....? Anything that says "TAIWAN R.O.C" on the back.

User avatar
astradyne
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7113
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 09:28
Location: Dunny On The Wolds
Contact:

Re: cobra

Post by astradyne » 10 Feb 2018, 09:31

Tom wrote:
09 Feb 2018, 07:34
How do I edit my messages on here please cant fined it thanks
Top right Tom. Look for the edit function (the pencil thingy). Click on that and you'll be able to edit the text of your desired post.
Never, ever, ever....bloody anything ever!

Far too many radio's to list here. But I do own a legal one...

User avatar
astradyne
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7113
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 09:28
Location: Dunny On The Wolds
Contact:

Re: cobra

Post by astradyne » 10 Feb 2018, 09:37

cb4ever104 wrote:
10 Feb 2018, 07:07
That's a bit fly , screwing the plate on. Only done to bump the price of the radio up.
And they couldn't even be bothered trying to make it look authentic!

The bonus for Tom is the radio was a 120 channel unit when it left the factory, with the tuning for each individual band already catered for. I'm assuming the 10M crystals have been replaced to give the radio three bands on 11M?
Never, ever, ever....bloody anything ever!

Far too many radio's to list here. But I do own a legal one...

Tom
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 307
Joined: 03 Mar 2010, 16:32
Call Sign: BPO6O
Location: Gloucester

Re: cobra

Post by Tom » 11 Feb 2018, 04:51

Thanks for the reply yes its got 6 bands now dose work well will be looking for a 3900 front it has 6 bands should be able to swap the cobra one for one .

Tom
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 307
Joined: 03 Mar 2010, 16:32
Call Sign: BPO6O
Location: Gloucester

Re: cobra

Post by Tom » 21 Feb 2018, 08:24

hi have a super star been Epromed for uk 40 but frequency but its off 19 should be 277812--but it is 27782 looked at the board cant see anything to re set it help thanks

MARKASTERIX
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 248
Joined: 10 Sep 2008, 22:30

Re: cobra

Post by MARKASTERIX » 21 Feb 2018, 12:55

Tom wrote:
21 Feb 2018, 08:24
hi have a super star been Epromed for uk 40 but frequency but its off 19 should be 277812--but it is 27782 looked at the board cant see anything to re set it help thanks
This one may have a small preset attached to the UK switch and the coarse clarifier to drop the frequency.

Tom
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 307
Joined: 03 Mar 2010, 16:32
Call Sign: BPO6O
Location: Gloucester

Re: cobra

Post by Tom » 21 Feb 2018, 16:11

Thanks did try that no luck thanks for reply the uk 40 is on the 6 band switch

User avatar
astradyne
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7113
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 09:28
Location: Dunny On The Wolds
Contact:

Re: cobra

Post by astradyne » 21 Feb 2018, 23:50

Are all other bands on frequency? If not you can adjust the TX frequency present or the FM tuning coil.
Never, ever, ever....bloody anything ever!

Far too many radio's to list here. But I do own a legal one...

Tom
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 307
Joined: 03 Mar 2010, 16:32
Call Sign: BPO6O
Location: Gloucester

Re: cobra

Post by Tom » 22 Feb 2018, 03:44

all other bands on frequency spot on just uk 40 off

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests