Page 1 of 1

LINCOIN 2

Posted: 11 Jan 2018, 21:00
by Tom
HI chaps need help usb on my Lincoln is slightly off went in to the menu the number it is showing is 818 dose any one no a different number that will bring it in line thanks

Re: LINCOIN 2

Posted: 11 Jan 2018, 22:29
by Mudslinger
I think you will need a Frequency counter to set it correctly Tom as each radio will need to be set on a different number to be on frequency.

Its a bit like the old radios where you have the adjustment in one position on one, and a slightly different position for another radio. Down to tolerances in components etc.

The engineering menu isn't really meant for use by normal users, only radio techs etc.

Re: LINCOIN 2

Posted: 11 Jan 2018, 23:45
by astradyne
Not the same radio, but I set my old Alinco 135 up using the menu and my ICOM 706 which I knew was bang on frequency. I adjusted the setting value on the 135 until I got a constant feedback tone on the 706. I set up USB and LSB this way and it was spot on after that.

Re: LINCOIN 2

Posted: 12 Jan 2018, 04:34
by Tom
Thanks chaps will let you no when its right my mate said its to moving down .but how far that's the rouble .

Re: LINCOIN 2

Posted: 12 Jan 2018, 11:08
by Admiral
Maybe yours is spot on and your mates is off?

Re: LINCOIN 2

Posted: 12 Jan 2018, 12:38
by astradyne
Admiral wrote:
12 Jan 2018, 11:08
Maybe yours is spot on and your mates is off?
This.

If your mate's using a top notch HF set then maybe your Lincoln is off. If he's using a CRT 3900 then don't take his word for it.

Best thing to do before whipping the lids off is to get several reports off different people. Remember to allow your radio plenty of time to warm up and settle on frequency first.

LINCOIN 2

Posted: 14 Jan 2018, 10:19
by Tom
Hi chaps after getting this president Lincoln 2 it was way off on usb could not tune in anything .Went in the menu as shown on YouTube to re tune the number showing was 818 ended up turning it up to 860 its all most at 12 o'clock now and receiving ok .should I have had to turn it that far to get it in or as something been turned in side before I got it and is there any photos of the pc board showing the tuning points thanks chaps {bnghd}