Home made CB/11M base Antenna - Suggestions & Advice

This is the place to discuss any general CB radio related topics. Getting started, installations, operation etc.
JLow75
Regular
Regular

Home made CB/11M base Antenna - Suggestions & Advice

Post by JLow75 »

Hi All,

I am going to build a vertical polarised base station antenna for CB/11M as it's time for a new project & I have access to all kinds of free/inexpensive stuff :D , plastic tubing/poles/wire/metalwork/electrical consumables etc etc. Also at my base location I have tried various antennas (some expensive!) without much success for various reasons - so I am now refusing to spend any more money on this hobby, and doing some research I believe I can make an antenna that will perform just as well as most manufactured antennas.

I am a time served technician with over 21 years experience in all aspects of electrical & electronics wiring & build , so there will be no problem with me building anything to a good standard - however it's my antenna theory knowledge that lets me down! - I would like some advice on which type of antenna is most likely to give me the best results for my location

I have researched some home brew antennas & I think the main choices are:

1/4 wave Dipole
Groundplane antenna
Bazooka
J-Pole
inverted V

My location & use details:

I basically live in a heavily built-up area (although it is quite high up on a hill)
The antenna can be mounted anywhere from ground level upto around 20-25 foot in the air (I do have some access restrictions)
no trees - just a gable wall of my house & a flat roof
I get a LOT of noise on 27Mhz in this location, so I want a type of antenna/location that may reduce this if possible.
size isn't too much of an issue, within reason (as long as I can get it in a suitable location on the house)
No DX use - more interested in local stations, up to 20 miles away