Anyone know the current Northern Ireland St John Ambulance & British Red Cross Frequencies

Scanning radio frequencies for Northern Ireland
Medic1
Regular
Regular

Anyone know the current Northern Ireland St John Ambulance & British Red Cross Frequencies

Post by Medic1 »

Hi there,

Anyone in Northern Irelnd know what the current St John Ambulance & British Red Cross frequencies are.

I am quite new to this so any help would be appreciated.

There is a lot of different frequencies floating around the net for St John & Red Cross which to my knowledge are UK general frequencies, but I was just wondering if anyone knew the specific frequencies used here in Northern Ireland. They are on VHF.

I have a motorola GP380 (VHF) and am getting a bit confused (maybe someone could help me out).

When I am programming the radio frequencies I understand that there is an option for CTCSS codes.

My couple of questions are, how do I find what the CTCSS is for a particular frequency (mostly I come across just the TX & RX and a bandwith - 12.5 for example beside the TX & RX)

If I do not put the CTCSS codes in (as they are not easy to find or advertised at times) can I still listen to transmissions on that particular frequency?

Sorry for all the questions, just trying to get my head around the CTCSS thing!!

Any advice appreciated, thanks. :D
Last edited by Medic1 on 21 Mar 2016, 19:24, edited 1 time in total.
paulears
Top Poster
Top Poster
Call Sign: G4RMT

Re: Anyone know the current Northern Ireland St John Ambulance & British Red Cross Frequencies

Post by paulears »

CTCSS can be ignored for receive only - as it's purpose is to STOP you hearing things not meant for you, rather than hearing everything! For other people to hear you when you transmit, you need to send the right tone, or they cannot hear you.
Medic1
Regular
Regular

Re: Anyone know the current Northern Ireland St John Ambulance & British Red Cross Frequencies

Post by Medic1 »